Bitpanda card, reviewed from the everyday-user side
The Bitpanda card is a Visa debit card tied to a Bitpanda brokerage account. You pick a “main” asset — a cryptocurrency, a precious metal, or euro — and the card spends from it. When you pay, Bitpanda sells the asset for euros in the background and the merchant is debited in euros, even if the shop is in London or Tokyo. There is no separate top-up step: the card is just a window onto the assets already in your Bitpanda account.

This review walks through who Bitpanda will actually issue the card to, what it costs to run day to day, how the funding model works, and where users have run into trouble. If you read it all the way through, you should know whether the card fits your situation, and what to check in the app before you order.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Bitpanda gives the card a 6.5 out of 10 in this review, and the score comes from how narrow the eligibility is rather than from anything wrong with the card itself. If you live in the euro area, hold crypto or metals on Bitpanda already, and want a straightforward way to spend those holdings in shops and online, the card does what it says on the tin: physical Visa, contactless, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access, and a euro-denominated bill at the till. For everyone else, the gate is closed before you start.
The headline numbers — official data, presented unchanged:
| Criterion | Mark | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Euro-area residence and a verified Bitpanda account; users verified through “Bankident” cannot order |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Opening, monthly fee and first delivery are free; reissue €5.90; FX fee €0 but a Visa mark-up applies; ATM 2% with a €2 minimum; conversion spread is not published |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | A chosen main asset from crypto, metals or euros, auto-converted to euros on spending; Crypto Indices are excluded |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under MFSA supervision (reg. C 91879); no card-specific complaints found; whole-platform Trustpilot 4.1/5 from 15,896 reviews |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Physical Visa; Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; ATM daily limit €500 |
The card is built for euro-area residents who want to spend crypto or metals in euros at the till. Outside that picture, the eligibility rules and the absence of a virtual card make it hard to recommend as a general-purpose travel card or a first crypto card. The “is it worth it” question really comes down to whether you already keep assets on Bitpanda and live in the euro area; if both are true, the card is a useful extension of the account. If either is false, look at the alternatives at the end of this page.
Who will they give you the card to
Bitpanda only issues the card to people who tick two boxes at the same time: they have a verified Bitpanda account, and they live in a euro-area country. The rule is tied to residence, not citizenship — a French citizen living in London is not eligible, but a Brazilian citizen living in Lisbon is, provided their Bitpanda account is verified.
The second clause catches a lot of people out: if you verified your Bitpanda account through Austria’s “Bankident” system, you cannot order the card at all. Bankident is convenient for opening a brokerage account quickly, but it doesn’t carry enough information for Bitpanda to issue a payment card against it. You’d need to re-verify with documents.
Two countries are explicitly excluded even though they’re in the euro area: Cyprus and Liechtenstein. The exclusion comes from a Bitpanda support article rather than the card page itself, and the reason isn’t stated.
There’s no published list of documents you’ll be asked for at the card step, and there’s no mention of a minimum age on the card page. The card is a payment product, so an adult threshold applies, but Bitpanda doesn’t repeat it on the card’s terms. Tiered KYC levels and the time the verification takes are also not stated on the card pages — that’s something to confirm in the app before ordering.
If any of this doesn’t match your situation — non-euro residence, Bankident verification, residency in Cyprus or Liechtenstein, or an unverified account — the order button simply won’t work, and the card is not the product for you. Move to the alternatives section.
How to get it
The card is ordered inside the Bitpanda app, not on the website. Once you’ve confirmed eligibility (verified account, euro-area residence, not verified through Bankident), the order is a few taps and the card ships within 3 to 7 working days depending on destination. The first delivery is free.
You can only have one active card at a time. It’s a physical Visa debit card in euros only — there is no virtual card option mentioned on the card page. The card is valid for 5 years from issue, and a replacement is sent automatically when it expires, so you don’t have to re-order every five years. If you lose it, damage it, or it gets stolen, the fee is €9.90 according to the FAQ, though the fee table on the same page lists reissue at €5.90; the two figures aren’t reconciled on the public pages. A second physical card, if you want a household member on the same account, costs €10. Delivery addresses outside the user’s country of euro-area residence aren’t addressed on the card page.
Activation happens in the app once the card arrives. You can block and unblock the card yourself at any time, and you can add it to Apple Pay and Google Pay through the standard tokenisation process.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline cost story is friendly: no account-opening fee, no monthly fee, no fee on the first card, and no fee on the first delivery. The day-to-day numbers, taken from the card’s public fee table:

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Account opening | Free |
| Monthly fee | Free |
| First card delivery | Free |
| Card reissue (fee table) | €5.90 |
| Card reissue for loss, theft or damage (FAQ) | €9.90 |
| Additional physical card | €10 |
| Non-EUR foreign exchange fee | €0 (Visa mark-up applies) |
| ATM fee | 2% with a €2 minimum, whichever is higher |
| Daily spend limit | €10,000 |
| Weekly spend limit | €70,000 |
| Monthly spend limit | €280,000 |
| Daily ATM limit | €500 |
| Minimum card payment | €1 |
| Cashback on qualifying crypto spend | 1% (fixed, see daily-use section) |
The two figures that bite in real life are the FX mark-up and the ATM fee. The card charges €0 in foreign-exchange fees on top of what Visa charges, but the wording is “VISA mark-up fees apply”, which means the rate you see in the app already includes Visa’s spread. For a euro-area cardholder spending in pounds or dollars, the all-in cost depends on how wide that Visa mark-up is on the day. Bitpanda doesn’t publish a percentage, and there’s no mid-market rate guarantee.
The ATM fee is straightforward: 2% of the withdrawal, with a €2 minimum that kicks in for any small cash withdrawal. Local banks may add their own ATM fee on top, and Bitpanda doesn’t waive that. A “free ATM allowance” is mentioned in the Bitpanda VIP scheme (unlimited free withdrawals for top-tier holders, as of July 2025 when the VIP scheme changed), but the card page itself doesn’t show a free allowance.
Three everyday payments and which fees apply
A coffee in Berlin. You tap to pay in euros, the merchant is in the euro area, no currency conversion is involved. The platform’s trading fee for selling whatever asset you chose as the “main” is debited from your Bitpanda account on every card payment — that’s the only fee here, and the rate isn’t published on the card page (you see it when you sell the asset in the app). The cashback is 1% in the same crypto asset you spent (see below), so on a €4 coffee that’s about 4 cents back, less than the trading fee you just paid. It’s a wash at small amounts, useful only at scale.
A hotel in Tokyo. You pay in yen, the card settles in euros, the FX fee Bitpanda charges is €0, but Visa’s mark-up is in the rate. On a ¥30,000 stay (roughly €180 at mid-market), the all-in cost depends on what Visa adds. Cashback is paid only on qualifying crypto transactions, and “non-euro payments” aren’t excluded by the cashback terms — but you need to check the current Product Terms because the cashback rules have shifted (the meta “up to 2%” tag on the page is contradicted by the 1% fixed figure in the terms; trust the terms).
A €100 ATM withdrawal abroad. Bitpanda takes 2% or €2, whichever is higher — that’s €2. The local ATM operator may charge its own fee on top. Free ATM withdrawals exist for top-tier VIP holders; the card page itself doesn’t carry a free allowance.
Top up: how funding works
There is no top-up button on the card. The card is a spending interface, not a balance; the money is the asset sitting in your Bitpanda account, and the card draws on it at payment.

You pick a “main” asset when you set the card up — it can be any of the cryptocurrencies Bitpanda lists, any of the precious metals, or euros. You can also set a “fallback” asset for when your main one runs low. At the till, Bitpanda sells just enough of the main asset to cover the payment, converts it to euros, and the merchant gets paid in euros. If your main asset is a metal and you want to spend in euros, the metal is sold for euros at the spot rate Bitpanda is showing at that moment, and the trading fee for that sale is debited from your account. Crypto Indices are not supported as a main asset, so if you hold a Bitpanda Crypto Index you cannot spend it directly with the card.
The Bitpanda account underneath the card is funded through the normal Bitpanda deposits: bank transfer, the payment methods Bitpanda lists in your region, or by sending crypto from an external wallet. Minimum card payment is €1, so anything below that is rejected. There is no separate card top-up fee on the card page, but the usual Bitpanda deposit and trading fees apply, and the platform’s trading fee for selling the asset is debited on every card payment. Refunds go back to the euro wallet in the account, regardless of which asset you spent.
If you ever want to stop using the card permanently, you contact customer support to deactivate it; the steps aren’t documented on the card page. The funds don’t leave the Bitpanda account — they stay as assets or euros and can be sold or withdrawn through normal Bitpanda payouts. While a “Proof of funds” review is open, all payouts (including card spending) are disabled, which is the platform’s compliance control rather than something specific to the card.
Paying with it every day
The card behaves like a normal Visa debit card at the till: contactless, chip-and-PIN, and online payments go through Visa Secure (3-D Secure). It can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay; the support article spells out Google Pay, while the card page mentions Apple Pay. Whether every merchant you use will accept it depends on the merchant’s own policies — the card doesn’t have a published blocked-merchant list, but the TPML Cardholder Agreement reserves the right to refuse certain merchant categories (the full list is in section 5.12 of that agreement, which isn’t reproduced on the card page).
Cashback is the one feature that needs careful reading. The body of the card page says 1% on crypto spending. A summary tag elsewhere on the same page says “up to 2%”. The current Product Terms (version 2.0.0, dated 1 April 2025) fix cashback at 1% of qualifying transactions, paid into the EToken wallet in the asset you spent. Transactions where the payment asset is not an EToken — including fiat, stocks/ETPs, metals, and stablecoins — are excluded from cashback, which is why the “up to 2%” claim doesn’t survive the small print. On a €100 spend paid from a cryptocurrency, expect 1 unit of that cryptocurrency back, not €1.
Disputes and refunds are handled by the issuer (Transact Payments Malta Limited), not by Bitpanda. The Product Terms say refunds and chargebacks are credited to the euro wallet, net of fees. An older version of the card-account terms (which names Contis/Solaris rather than TPML and is now out of date) recommends contacting the merchant first, then reporting unauthorised or incorrect payments within 13 months, with a decision within 10 business days. The current TPML cardholder agreement wasn’t read for this review, so check the live document before relying on those timings.
The Bitpanda app is the control surface. The card can be blocked and unblocked instantly, you can see the transactions, and the customer support form is in the app. Ratings for the Android app are around 3.6 out of 5 from roughly 55 thousand ratings on Google Play, per AppBrain (an unofficial number that may be out of date). That kind of average is typical for a brokerage app — not great, not failing — and the recurring complaints in reviews are slow support during compliance reviews and German-language replies to English messages.
What can go wrong
The card’s weak spots aren’t dramatic — there is no card-specific complaint pattern in Trustpilot — but a few things are worth knowing before you order.
The first is the eligibility gate. If you don’t meet the euro-area residence rule, or you verified through Bankident, the card simply isn’t available. Bitpanda will not issue it to you, and there’s no upgrade path. If your situation is borderline (recently moved, dual residence), confirm in the app before relying on the card for anything time-sensitive.
The second is the conversion spread. The card says the FX fee is €0, but Bitpanda also says “VISA mark-up fees apply”. The Visa mark-up is the rate the network charges for cross-currency conversion, and it isn’t published as a percentage on the card page. On non-euro spending, the all-in cost is the trading fee Bitpanda takes to sell the asset, plus whatever Visa adds in the rate. For someone spending pounds or dollars regularly, the total can be 1% to 3% above mid-market, depending on the day and the currency. Bitpanda does not show the spread it charges on asset-to-euro conversion on the card page, so the only way to check is to look at the rate shown in the app at the moment of payment.
The third is the Proof-of-funds lock. When Bitpanda asks for source-of-funds documentation, every payout — including card payments — is disabled until the review is resolved. Reviews take time, and during that period the card is effectively a piece of plastic. This isn’t unique to Bitpanda, and it isn’t a complaint so much as a compliance reality, but it does mean that a routine source-of-funds request can interrupt your spending.
The fourth is support. Trustpilot reviews of the wider Bitpanda platform (4.1/5 from around 15,896 reviews, 73% five-star, 17% one-star, read on 2026-10-20) show recurring themes: blocked withdrawals, account restrictions during KYC reviews, slow support, German-language responses to English messages, and a 2026 promotion (a 5% deposit cashback) that some users say was paid only in part. None of these complaints is specifically about the card, but the card sits on top of the platform, so platform-level friction shows up here too.
The fifth is the regulatory picture. The card is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under a Visa Europe licence, regulated by the Malta Financial Services Authority (registration C 91879). Bitpanda Payments GmbH provides payment services under that programme, and the contract is with Bitpanda GmbH in Vienna. The platform is custodial — Bitpanda holds the assets, not you — so a platform-level failure is a counterparty risk you take on by holding balances on Bitpanda. An older version of the card-account terms named a different issuer (UAB Finansines paslaugos Contis, under a Bank of Lithuania licence) and said funds were held in a segregated safeguarding account not covered by Lithuanian deposit insurance, with liability capped at €50 absent gross negligence. That wording is from a previous issuer arrangement and doesn’t apply to the current TPML programme, but it shows how the legal plumbing can change. Read the current TPML Cardholder Agreement before relying on any specific safeguard.
If you want a card from an issuer that holds funds in a clearer regulatory wrapper, or one that lets you keep your own keys, see the alternatives.
What to take instead
Three other cards are worth comparing if Bitpanda’s card doesn’t fit. The numbers and rules below come from each card’s own public pages and terms as cited; double-check before you order.
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Cost to issue | Spending | Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitpanda | 6.5 / 10 | Euro-area residents with a verified Bitpanda account; Bankident-verified users excluded | Free first card; €5.90 reissue; €10 extra physical | Euro card; FX €0 + Visa mark-up; ATM 2% / €2 min | 1% on qualifying crypto spend |
| RedotPay | 6.9 / 10 | Long restricted list by citizenship; physical-card residence list (47 places, dated 28 Aug 2026) | Virtual $10; physical $100 (non-refundable) | USD or HKD card; 1% transaction fee, 1.20% non-default currency | $5 welcome reward (30 days, spending only); no card cashback rate published |
| Wirex | 6.7 / 10 | “130+ countries” but physical/virtual availability depends on region; Singapore: no cash withdrawals | Free in UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU, “Other”; metal card order fee £45 | Visa or Mastercard (not fixed per region); no FX fee in marketing | Cryptoback in WXT: 0.5% Standard, 3% Premium, up to 8% Elite (metal) |
| COCA | 6.4 / 10 | UK, EEA, Asia, South America, Middle East, Africa; check in app | Not stated on public pages | Physical and virtual Visa | Up to 8% in stablecoins on card spend; up to 50% on subscriptions; higher tiers require $COCA holdings |
RedotPay is the most internationally available of the three, but it carries a $100 physical-card application fee and a $10 virtual-card fee (the $5 welcome reward doesn’t offset these). Its restricted-country list is long, and it runs on a USD or HKD card, not a multi-currency euro card. Wirex has the strongest cashback in the comparison, paid in its own WXT token, and supports both Visa and Mastercard depending on region; the metal card costs £45 to order. COCA is the lightest on disclosed fees — the terms just say fees are shown at point of use — and its stablecoin cashback is competitive, but the lack of published fees makes it harder to plan around.
If you want a card outside the euro area, Wirex and RedotPay are the practical choices. If you want a euro-area card and you’re willing to live with Bankident or non-euro residence, none of the three above helps — you’d need to look at non-crypto debit cards or a euro-area bank account first.
Who I would recommend it to
If you live in the euro area, have a fully verified Bitpanda account (not through Bankident), and you already hold crypto or metals on Bitpanda that you want to spend without manually selling first, the card is a sensible addition. The everyday mechanics are straightforward, the issuer is supervised, and the cashback, while only 1% in the asset you spend, is at least paid in the same asset, which keeps the tax position cleaner than a euro cashback that you’d reinvest.
If you live outside the euro area, verified through Bankident, or want a multi-currency travel card, look elsewhere — the eligibility rules and the euro-only design are deal-breakers, and no workaround is offered on the card pages. If you want to keep your own crypto keys, the Bitpanda card is custodial and won’t suit you; you’d need a self-custody-linked card from a different provider.
For occasional spending from a Bitpanda brokerage account, the platform already lets you sell assets and withdraw euros to a bank account, which avoids the FX mark-up and the trading fee on every card payment. The card only earns its place when you’re spending frequently enough that the convenience outweighs the embedded costs.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitpanda card?
The Bitpanda card is a Visa debit card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under a Visa Europe licence, regulated by the Malta Financial Services Authority. It is tied to a Bitpanda brokerage account, and it spends from a chosen “main” asset — a cryptocurrency, a precious metal, or euros — which is converted to euros at the moment of payment.
How does the Bitpanda card work?
You pick a main asset in the Bitpanda app, then use the card anywhere Visa is accepted. At payment, Bitpanda sells just enough of the main asset for euros, the merchant is debited in euros, and the trading fee for selling the asset is debited from your account. There is no separate balance to top up; the funds stay as assets on the Bitpanda platform.
Is Bitpanda a bank?
No. Bitpanda is a brokerage that offers a payment card through a licensed e-money institution (Transact Payments Malta Limited). Funds on the platform are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes in the same way a current account would be.
Who owns Bitpanda?
Bitpanda GmbH is the Vienna-based company you contract with for the card. The card itself is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited, and payment services are provided by Bitpanda Payments GmbH. The product is offered under a Visa Europe licence held by the issuer.
Is the Bitpanda card available in the United Kingdom?
It is not, on the public terms. The card is restricted to euro-area residents, and the United Kingdom is not in the euro area. UK users have other options, including Wirex (which lists the UK for card issuance) and RedotPay (subject to its own restricted-country list).
How do I get the Bitpanda card?
You order it in the Bitpanda app. You need a verified Bitpanda account and a euro-area residence; if you verified through Austria’s Bankident, you cannot order the card and would need to re-verify with documents. Delivery is 3 to 7 working days, free for the first card.
Does the Bitpanda card require KYC?
Yes. A verified Bitpanda account is a precondition, and that verification is the platform’s KYC step. The card page does not list the specific documents the card order requires, and tiered KYC levels and processing time are not stated on the card pages.
How do I top up the Bitpanda card?
There is no separate top-up. The card spends a chosen main asset from your Bitpanda account. To put more behind the card, you add funds to the Bitpanda account by bank transfer or by sending crypto from an external wallet, in the assets the card supports.
How do I add the Bitpanda card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
You add it through the standard tokenisation flow once the card is active: open the Wallet app on iOS or Google Pay on Android, follow the prompts to add a card, and verify with the code the app sends. The card page mentions Apple Pay; a support article describes the same flow for Google Pay.
Is the Bitpanda card safe?
The card is issued by a Malta-regulated e-money institution, supports 3-D Secure, and can be blocked and unblocked in the app. The underlying platform is custodial, so the funds sit with Bitpanda, not with you — that is a counterparty risk to be aware of. Refunds and chargebacks are handled by the issuer, not by Bitpanda.
App and neobank cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
