WantToPay is a Telegram-only virtual card for paying foreign services from a crypto or ruble balance — here is what it costs and where it falls short
WantToPay is a virtual payment card that lives inside a Telegram Mini App. You load it with rubles or with crypto (USDT, USDC, TON, BTC, ETH or BNB), and you spend that balance wherever a card is accepted online or, on the higher tiers, through Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. There is no physical card and no cash withdrawal. The product is run by WTP Technology Limited, a company registered in Hong Kong, and the card-issuing bank is not named on the public pages. I went through the official site, the comparison table, the KYC flow, the support channels and what users are actually saying on Trustpilot. This review walks through what I found, what is confirmed, and what is not.

Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.5 out of 10
A 4.5 sits in a very specific band: not bad enough to dismiss, but not solid enough to recommend without caveats. WantToPay does one thing reasonably well — issuing a virtual card quickly inside Telegram, denominated in US dollars, and accepted by foreign services that are awkward to pay from a Russian bank card. The four tiers (Prepaid, Easy, Smart, Pro) are clearly laid out, the KYC partner (Sumsub) is a known vendor, and there is a published comparison table. The product also has meaningful gaps: the country list and residency rules are not disclosed, the monthly $6 service fee on three of the four tiers quietly erodes small balances, the crypto top-up fee is 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart, the Trustpilot page has been pulled for guideline violations, and several users report cards that stopped working with funds still on them. The card suits a narrow audience — Telegram users paying recurring foreign subscriptions from a stablecoin balance — and it does not suit anyone who needs a physical card, ATM access, a real bank behind it, or transparent rules about who can and cannot sign up.

Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Countries and residency are not stated on the site; the only public rule is “18+, new users” tied to a 30% promo on Easy |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | A $6 monthly fee on Easy, Smart and Pro, plus 9% (Easy) and 7% (Smart) to top up with crypto |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Rubles by phone number or bank card, plus BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON — but the networks for each coin are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | WTP Technology Limited (Hong Kong), no named issuer, Trustpilot score hidden after a guideline breach with 274 reviews, recurring complaints about cards that stop working |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay only on Smart and Pro; no physical card and no ATM |
Who will they give you the card
The short answer is: the public pages do not say. WantToPay’s home page, terms index and comparison table do not list supported countries, residency requirements, or excluded jurisdictions. The only public eligibility rule I could find is a 30% promo for new users who complete verification within seven days of registration, and the standard “18+” age requirement. Everything else — whether you need to be a Russian resident, whether a foreign passport works on its own, whether US persons are accepted — is “not stated” on the card’s own pages.
What I can confirm from the KYC flow is that Sumsub, the third-party verification provider, accepts a passport, a foreign passport, a driver’s licence, or an ID card (both sides for the latter two). The flow is one document plus a selfie, with a possible blink or head turn. There is no separate proof-of-address step in the official description, which is unusual for a card product and which I will come back to under “What can go wrong.” The company says processing usually takes a few minutes, and that failures are most often down to photo quality. It tells users to contact support after several failed attempts; specific rejection reasons are not published.
The lack of a public country list is the single most important thing to check before you sign up. In practice this means the real eligibility criteria may only become visible at the verification step, when Sumsub’s automated checks either accept or reject your documents. If your country of issue or your citizenship falls into a category the issuer does not accept — and the third-party reporting says sellers are barred from a list of countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey — you may only find out after you have already uploaded your ID.
For Russian readers specifically, WantToPay is clearly built around the Russian market: tariffs are quoted in rubles, the support bot uses Russian, and the ruble top-up is by phone-number transfer (SBP) or Russian bank card. The card’s base currency is USD, so each ruble top-up is converted at the app’s own rate, which the company does not publish in advance.
How to get it
WantToPay is not a phone-app product. There is no iOS or Google Play app to download, and no ratings for one. The product is a Telegram Mini App that you open from the official bot, plus a website. Everything — registration, KYC, card issuance, top-up, support — runs through that Mini App or the @WantToPaySupportBot.
The signup path I would expect looks like this:
- Open the WantToPay Mini App in Telegram.
- Register with an email address and confirm your phone number.
- Complete Sumsub KYC: one identity document (passport, foreign passport, driver’s licence, or ID card with both sides), plus a selfie. Processing is described as “usually a few minutes.”
- Choose a tier: Prepaid (fixed denomination), Easy, Smart or Pro.
- Top up the card and start spending.
The card you receive is virtual only. It carries no named network in the official comparison table, and the primary currency is USD. Online payments are protected by 3D Secure, which means an extra confirmation step at checkout. There is no physical card, so there is no delivery, no shipping address, and no question of a card being lost in the post. The “delivery” of the product is, in effect, the message you see in the Mini App once Sumsub approves you.
A practical point: if you want Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay, you need Smart or Pro. Easy and Prepaid are card-details-only. This matters if you plan to pay in stores or in apps that prefer tokenised wallet payments.
Fees: what it really costs
Cost is the weakest score in this review, and a large part of that is the monthly fee plus the crypto top-up percentage, which together can eat a meaningful slice of a small balance. I have put the headline numbers in the table below; the prose that follows walks through what they mean for three common purchases.

| Fee or limit | Prepaid | Easy | Smart | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Fixed denomination, $10–$200 | 990 RUB (about $10) | 1,590 RUB | 3,490 RUB (about $35) |
| Monthly service | $0 | $6 | $6 | $6 |
| Crypto top-up fee | Not supported (fixed denomination only) | 9% | 7% | Not stated in the comparison table |
| Successful transaction fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.50–$1.00 (+0.2% for contactless) | $0.50 + 1% of payment amount |
| Failed transaction fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.40–$1.00 | $1.00 |
| Daily purchase limit | Up to $20,000 | Up to $50,000 | Not stated | — |
| Single-transaction limit | $10,000 | $20,000 | $25,000 | — |
| Monthly cap | — | — | — | $50,000 |
| Card validity | 24 months | 24 months | 36–60 months | 36–60 months |
| ATM withdrawal | No | No | No | No |
A few things to notice in that table. First, the monthly service fee of $6 applies to Easy, Smart and Pro; only Prepaid avoids it. A third-party source describes a “Plus” subscription of 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days that the same product asks for, and that is most likely the same $6 line in different clothing — one subscription reportedly covers all of a user’s cards. Either way, if you load $60 once and forget the card for a month, a tenth of your balance is gone before you spend anything.
Second, the per-transaction fee on Pro is $0.50 plus 1% of the payment amount. On a $10 subscription that is $0.60 of pure fees. On Easy, by contrast, a successful payment costs $0.25–$0.50 with no percentage, which makes Easy the better pick for small recurring payments and Pro the worse one.
Third, the FX situation is genuinely unclear. The card’s base currency is USD, and the comparison table does not show a separate currency-conversion commission. WantToPay says ruble top-ups are converted at “the app rate” and the fee is not stated; paying in currencies other than USD is also “not stated” on the official pages. In practice this means the rate and any FX margin are baked into whatever number the app shows you at the moment of top-up, and you do not get a separate line for it.
Three everyday scenarios
- A $10 monthly VPN subscription on Easy. You top up with crypto (9% fee on Easy), so the $10 you intend to spend costs you roughly $10.90 in crypto sent. The successful transaction then takes $0.25–$0.50. The $6 monthly fee is the biggest single cost and dwarfs the transaction fee. The card is still working out cheaper than the subscription itself, but only because the $6 is spread across whatever else you also pay in the month.
- A $200 annual software licence on Smart. Top-up with crypto at 7% costs you about $214 in crypto. The transaction fee is $0.50–$1.00, plus 0.2% if you tap to pay. One large payment means the monthly fee is not the problem; the 7% top-up percentage is, and so is the question of whether the card will still be valid in 12 months (Smart is valid 36–60 months, which covers it).
- A $50 in-app game purchase on Easy. The 9% top-up fee alone is $4.50, the transaction fee is up to $0.50, and the $6 monthly fee is waiting at the end of the month. For very small payments the fixed costs dominate, and the card is genuinely expensive to use.
If you only need to make a handful of small payments, Prepaid (fixed $10–$200 denominations, no monthly fee, no crypto top-up) is the most predictable option. If you plan to keep the card active for months and pay regularly, the $6 monthly fee is the number to focus on.
How to top it up
Top-up options depend on the tier. On Easy and Smart you have two paths: rubles, or crypto. Prepaid is its own thing — you buy a fixed-denomination card and there is no further top-up. Pro’s top-up options are not described in the comparison table I read, which is itself something to be aware of.
The ruble path is built for Russia. You can fund Easy or Smart with an instant transfer by phone number (SBP-style) or from a Russian bank card. Bank cards cannot receive payments into the card — that direction is closed — and the conversion from RUB to the card’s USD balance happens at the rate the app shows you, with no separate fee line. The minimum deposit is $10 on every tier. Funds are usually credited at once, with a published upper bound of 180 minutes.
The crypto path lists six coins on the official home page: BTC, USDT, USDC and TON, with ETH and BNB also supported per the comparison table. The notable omission is the network: WantToPay does not publish which chain each coin should arrive on. In practice the app generates a fresh crypto payment address for every top-up via the payment processor Cryptomus, and you have to send to that exact address on the exact network it shows you. The company warns that a crypto transfer to a previously used address “cannot be returned,” which is a standard irreversible-blockchain warning dressed in operational language. Who pays the on-chain network fee (the gas or bandwidth) is not stated.
Two further points worth knowing before you send anything. First, the minimum is $10, so sending $5 of USDT to test the flow is not an option. Second, the fees I described in the previous section — 9% on Easy, 7% on Smart — are deducted from the amount you send, not added on top. If you want $100 on the card, you need to send about $110 on Easy or about $107.50 on Smart.
There is also a feature called “Internal balance” that you may run into. If a top-up fails because of a technical problem on the card provider’s side, or if support moves your funds manually, the money lands on this internal balance rather than on a card. From there you can push it back to any of your Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro cards for free, with a $2 minimum and a $500 daily cap. You cannot top up the internal balance from a card yourself — it is a safety net, not a wallet.
Paying with it every day
The everyday experience is shaped by three limits. First, there is no physical card, so anything that requires a tap or a swipe in a real shop only works if your tier supports a mobile wallet. Smart and Pro support Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; Easy and Prepaid do not. Second, there is no ATM access, so you cannot get cash. Third, there is no app in the App Store or on Google Play, so your phone’s interaction with the card is through the Telegram Mini App and through whichever wallet you have added the card to.
For online payments, the card behaves like a normal Visa-or-Mastercard-number-plus-expiry-plus-CVC, with 3D Secure turned on. That means checkout usually ends with a one-time code or a biometric confirmation, depending on your bank. The base currency is USD, so if the merchant charges you in EUR or another currency, the conversion happens through the card network at whatever rate the network and the issuer apply; WantToPay does not publish a separate FX margin in the comparison table.
Cashback is “not stated” on the official pages. There is no published rewards programme, no points table, and no sign-up bonus beyond the 30% promo on the Easy issuance fee for new users who verify within seven days of registration.
Blocked merchants are not described in the public tariff either. A third-party source (a sponsored article from September 2026) reports that the card declines purchases at crypto exchanges, casinos, adult sites, mining services, e-wallets, government bodies, gambling and donations; that Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, Epic Games Store and PlayStation Store top-ups are not payable on any tariff; and that Apple Pay is in practice only available on Smart. These are unofficial and not confirmed by WantToPay, but they are consistent with how a card tied to a Hong Kong programme manager and an unnamed issuer would typically be configured, and they are worth taking seriously.
Two practical consequences. If you intend to use the card for an online subscription in a “high-risk” merchant category — anything that touches crypto, betting or adult content — expect a decline and a refusal code, and do not expect the customer-service bot to override it. If you intend to use the card in mobile games, the third-party reporting suggests that several of the most common storefronts are not payable at all.
What can go wrong
Three things, in order of severity.
The first is the company behind the card. WantToPay is operated by WTP Technology Limited, a company incorporated in Hong Kong (incorporation number 76394774, per the official site). The card-issuing bank is not named on the public pages. A third-party source says cards are issued under US and Singapore BIN ranges, which would imply a US or Singapore issuer acting as programme sponsor; neither is named. This matters because if the card programme is suspended — as Visa did with FTX in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in Europe in 2018 — you would be dealing with a Hong Kong company for the recovery of your balance, in a legal jurisdiction that may be unfamiliar. WantToPay says it has been operating since 2022, but I could not find a dated news page on the official site to confirm continuity, and the company did not respond to my request for comment on the issuer question.
The second is user feedback. WantToPay’s Trustpilot page (read on 2026-10-20) does not display a TrustScore, with the platform citing a guideline violation and the removal of fake reviews. There are 274 reviews in total, 152 of them in the last twelve months. The visible distribution is 85% five-star and 13% one-star. The homepage itself claims a 4.6 rating, which is higher than the 4.5 implied by the visible star distribution. The themes I pulled from recent reviews are: praise for fast virtual card issuing and responsive support on the positive side; cards that stopped working, top-ups that took between ten minutes and almost an hour, refusals to refund the 990 RUB issue fee, and refunds that took several months on the negative side. The company is reported to have replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews, which is a low engagement rate for a financial product.
The third is the security and recovery story, which is thin. The official pages mention 3D Secure for online payments and the fact that Sumsub does not store document copies, which is good. The pages do not mention an in-app freeze, 2FA, spending controls, insurance on the balance, or a custody model — that is, whether your crypto sits with WantToPay or with a partner, and on what terms. Cryptocurrency transfers are irreversible and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery; if the custody model is custodial and the custodian fails, you are an unsecured creditor. None of this is unique to WantToPay, but the lack of disclosure is.
A final, smaller risk worth flagging: the card expires and is deleted together with any remaining balance. If you let a Smart card lapse after 36–60 months and forget to move the funds back to the internal balance, the money is gone. The internal balance, by contrast, is the one place the company explicitly says your money can sit indefinitely, and from which you can return it to a card for free.
What to take instead
The alternatives below are drawn from the same review universe. None of them is a perfect substitute, and each trades WantToPay’s flaws for its own.
Bitrefill (6.8 / 10)
Bitrefill’s card is a virtual and physical Visa denominated in euros, with crypto converted at deposit. The card is described as free through the app, and there is 2% cashback — 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase, with no published cap. The downsides are a 1.99% fee on SEPA pay-ins, plus spreads on conversion and on cash withdrawals at ATMs, and the fact that the inactivity fee kicks in after 12 months of no spending or cash-out. Country eligibility is described in the terms as “subject to eligibility criteria” with further requirements set and verified by partners, so the country list is not published either. Bitrefill suits users who want cashback and are happy to fund in euros.
UPay (6.1 / 10)
UPay offers both virtual and physical cards, personal and business, with payments converted to USD, EUR, AED and others. The company claims support in 180+ countries, with a note that residents of certain countries are not served and the list can change. KYC is strict: the partner only accepts ID documents issued by the same country as the user. Funding is by BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, with networks not specified. The cost numbers and FX margins are not published on the card page. UPay is the broadest in geographic reach of the three, but the least transparent on price.
Kemy (6.0 / 10)
Kemy offers unlimited virtual cards (Visa on the mockups) and a single physical Mastercard with contactless, in 190+ countries “with a few restrictions”. Pricing is steep: virtual cards cost $15 to issue, valid three years, with a $2 monthly fee; the physical card costs $250 with DHL Express included, also valid three years, with a $10 monthly fee. The transaction fee is 3.5% plus $1; the failed-transaction fee is $0.80; the top-up fee is $1.50 under $100 or 1.25% from $100. The published main-account deposit fee is 8% in one section and 5% in another, a conflict I would not ignore. Cashback is not mentioned. Kemy suits users who want a physical card and are willing to pay for it; it does not suit users who want to keep costs down.
| Card | Score | Form factor | Base currency | Monthly fee | Cashback | Notable trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WantToPay | 4.5 | Virtual only | USD | $6 on three of four tiers | None | No public country list, crypto top-up 7–9% |
| Bitrefill | 6.8 | Virtual and physical Visa | EUR | Not stated; inactivity fee after 12 months | 2% (1% deposit + 1% spend) | 1.99% SEPA fee, conversion spread |
| UPay | 6.1 | Virtual and physical | USD, EUR, AED, others | Not stated | Not stated | KYC accepts only in-country IDs, no published cost |
| Kemy | 6.0 | Virtual and physical | Not stated | $2 virtual, $10 physical | None | $250 physical card, 3.5% + $1 transaction fee |
Who I would recommend it to
WantToPay is a reasonable choice for a narrow reader: someone who is already inside Telegram, who wants to pay a handful of foreign subscriptions or services that do not accept Russian bank cards, who is comfortable holding USDT or USDC and is willing to pay a 7% or 9% top-up fee to convert that stablecoin balance into a US-dollar card payment. For that reader, the product does what it says, and the friction of issuing a card in a Telegram Mini App is genuinely lower than going through a bank’s compliance team.
It is not a reasonable choice for someone who needs a physical card, who needs to withdraw cash, who needs to pay at a wide range of merchants including crypto exchanges and gaming stores, who needs a clear answer about whether their country is supported before they upload their passport, or who is planning to leave a meaningful balance on the card for months. The $6 monthly fee, the 9% crypto top-up on Easy, the unnamed issuer, the Hong Kong company, the Trustpilot issues and the recurring reports of cards that stop working all push the same direction: small, in-and-out balances, not a primary spending card.
If your use case is “I have $100 in USDT and I want to pay for one year of a foreign service,” Prepaid — the fixed-denomination, no-monthly-fee tier — is the cleanest way to do that with WantToPay. If your use case is “I want a primary payment card with a wallet, an app and a real bank behind it,” look at one of the alternatives above or at a mainstream neobank. The card WantToPay sells is a niche tool, and treating it as anything else is how people end up writing one-star reviews.
Frequently asked questions
What is WantToPay card?
WantToPay is a virtual payment card issued inside a Telegram Mini App by WTP Technology Limited, a Hong Kong company. It is denominated in US dollars and can be loaded with rubles (by phone-number transfer or Russian bank card) or with crypto (BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, or TON). There is no physical card and no ATM access.
How does WantToPay card work?
You complete Sumsub KYC inside the Telegram Mini App, choose a tier, top up the card, and then use the card details to pay online or, on Smart and Pro, through Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. Each payment is a debit against a pre-loaded balance; the card cannot overdraw.
Is WantToPay a bank?
No. WantToPay is a programme run by WTP Technology Limited, a company registered in Hong Kong. The card-issuing bank is not named on the official pages, and third-party reporting says the BIN ranges are in the US and Singapore.
Who owns WantToPay?
WantToPay is operated by WTP Technology Limited (Hong Kong, incorporation number 76394774). The card-issuing bank, programme sponsor and any investors behind the company are not disclosed on the public pages.
Is WantToPay card available in my country?
The official site does not publish a country list. WantToPay only states that the product is for users aged 18 and over. A third-party source says the tariff terms bar sellers from a list of countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey “among others,” but this is not confirmed by WantToPay and the only real way to find out is to start KYC.
How do I get a WantToPay card?
Open the WantToPay Mini App in Telegram, register an email and phone number, complete Sumsub KYC with one ID document and a selfie, choose a tier, and top up. Processing is described as taking a few minutes, and the card details are delivered in-app.
Does WantToPay require KYC?
Yes. Verification is handled by Sumsub and needs one identity document (passport, foreign passport, driver’s licence, or ID card with both sides) plus a selfie. A separate proof of address is not listed in the official KYC steps.
How do I top up WantToPay with crypto?
On Easy or Smart, open the top-up screen, pick the coin (BTC, USDT, USDC, TON, ETH or BNB), and send to the fresh payment address the app generates via Cryptomus. The minimum is $10, the fee is 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart, and funds are usually credited at once, with an upper bound of 180 minutes.
How do I withdraw money from WantToPay?
You cannot withdraw cash from an ATM. The card is not intended for receiving payments from outside services. If a card expires, the balance is deleted with the card. Funds can be moved to the internal balance (which can then be returned to another card) only by support, after a technical failure or at the user’s request.
Is WantToPay safe?
WantToPay uses 3D Secure for online payments and does not store KYC documents (Sumsub handles them). The product does not disclose its custody model, whether customer funds are safeguarded, whether there is 2FA, in-app freeze, insurance or spending controls. The Trustpilot page has been pulled for guideline violations, and recurring user complaints are about cards that stop working with funds still on them. Treat it as a small-balance tool, not as a place to park money.
Virtual cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
