Fiat24 Card Review: Why It Closed and What to Use Instead
Fiat24 was a Swiss-based crypto card programme built around NFTs, designed for people who cannot get an ordinary bank card or who want to spend stablecoins directly. I scored it 3.3 out of 10 — one of the lowest marks I give — because the programme is no longer issuing new cards, the public site sits in maintenance mode, and the Trustpilot record shows a 2.2 from 8 reviews, all of them one star. If you are reading this trying to decide whether to apply, stop: you cannot. If you are an existing holder wondering what to do with your remaining balance, this page walks you through exactly what the terms say, step by step.

The conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
The Verdict: 3.3/10 — Closed to New Applicants
Fiat24’s card programme is no longer issuing new cards. The official site is in maintenance mode with no new applications accepted, and the card product page still displays “Coming soon in December 2024” — a status message that was never updated. For anyone reading this hoping to sign up, the answer is straightforward: this is not an option.
That said, the score is not a condemnation of what Fiat24 tried to build. The concept was genuinely interesting — an NFT-linked card account with tiered limits based on how few digits your account NFT has, self-custody via wallet connection, and a “Direct Pay” feature that spends matching currencies to avoid FX fees. The problem is that none of it matters if the programme is closed and you cannot get a card.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0/10 | Site in maintenance mode, no new applications; card page says “Coming soon in December 2024” |
| Cost | 5/10 | Official fees not disclosed; unofficial: issuance, monthly, ATM and top-up free, but 1–1.75% per crypto deposit plus gas; refund fees 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF |
| Top-up options | 5/10 | Official not disclosed; unofficial: USDC, USDT, ETH on Arbitrum, fiat EUR, CHF, USD, RMB |
| Reliability and complaints | 2/10 | Issuer SR Saphirstein AG under FINMA supervision, but site in maintenance mode; Trustpilot 2.2 from 8 reviews, all 1-star, support silence, stuck funds |
| Everyday use | 6/10 | Virtual Mastercard, no PIN, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay; unofficial: ATM withdrawals unlimited, but cryptocards.so says Apple Pay and Google Pay not available |
| Total | 3.3/10 | Programme closed to new applicants; existing users should withdraw balances |
Who this suits: Almost nobody seeking a new card. For existing holders, the situation is different — the terms give you a clear path to withdraw your balance to your own bank account.
Who this does not suit: Anyone looking for a reliable everyday spending card in 2026. The maintenance mode, the 2.2 Trustpilot score, and the absence of clear official fee disclosure add up to a poor proposition even if applications reopened.
What Happened to the Programme
The short version: Fiat24 launched, promised cards “coming soon in December 2024,” and the promise was never kept on the public site. The card documentation still carries that December 2024 message as of late 2026 — two years later. Meanwhile, the main website sits in maintenance mode, accepting no new applications, with no public date for when or if that will change.
Here is the timeline as the official materials show it:
- December 2024 — The card product page announces “Coming soon in December 2024.” This text has remained unchanged since.
- 5 June 2026 — Documentation states that new clients from this date receive a USD 30,000 monthly limit. This conflicts with the USD 100,000 per 30 days mentioned elsewhere on the same page.
- 15 May 2026 — A refund processing fee takes effect: 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF per refund (7 CNH), deducted from the refund amount and capped at the refund amount.
- Current status — Site in maintenance mode; no new applications accepted; no public timeline for reopening; limit-upgrade requests not accepted.
Some of the contradictions are worth flagging. The official user documentation describes the card as live and ready to activate in seconds in the dApp, while the products page still says “Coming soon in December 2024.” The June 2026 documentation on monthly limits (USD 30,000) conflicts with a higher figure (USD 100,000 per 30 days) stated elsewhere on the same page. These discrepancies suggest the documentation was not systematically updated after the programme wound down.
There are also forced-exit rules for sanctions, PEP status, fraud and recall situations — meaning the operator can close your account under certain conditions regardless of what you did or did not do.
If You Already Have the Card
If you are an existing Fiat24 holder, the official terms give you a clear, if narrow, path to get your money out. Here is what the documentation says:
Getting your money out:
- To withdraw to your own bank account (EUR/CHF), you must first make a small deposit from that bank account (IBAN) to link it — up to 10 accounts per currency.
- Minimum payout is 100 EUR or 100 CHF.
- Payouts are booked the same business day, or after 15:00 CET / weekends, the next business day.
- A successful payout is free; a returned payout costs 10 EUR or 10 CHF.
- To close your account: bring all balances to zero, go to id.fiat24.com, then Profile → Close Account. This is final; no second account is allowed. KYC data is kept per Swiss AML law.
Card limits by NFT account-number length:
- Standard (5–8 digits): 10,000 EUR/day, 20,000 EUR/month
- Premium (4 digits): 100,000 EUR/day, 200,000 EUR/month
- Ultimate (3 digits): 500,000 EUR/day, 1,000,000 EUR/month
Note: limit-upgrade requests are no longer accepted as of the current maintenance-mode status. Tier upgrades (buying a Premium NFT in the dApp, priced in Ether or Fiat24 token) were completed within 1 business day.
Currencies and refunds:
- Balances are held in EUR, USD, CHF or RMB.
- “Direct Pay” per currency spends the matching balance first, avoiding FX fees.
- Default Card Currency covers shortfalls (the whole amount is converted; no split payments).
- Refunds in USD/EUR/CHF/RMB return to the same-currency balance; other currencies convert to the default currency.
- Refunds usually arrive within 7 days; cross-border, up to 30 days. The refund fee (1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF, or 7 CNH) applies from 15 May 2026.
Support channels: Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot (“General inquiries”), status page at status.fiat24.com, and social channels (X/LinkedIn/Medium/Telegram). No email address or phone number is listed on the site. Languages and operating hours are not stated.
Security and access:
- The account is an NFT in your wallet; sign-in is via wallet connection (Arbitrum network). If your private key is stolen, move funds quickly — blockchain transfers are irreversible.
- Card security: 3-D Secure one-time password by email, automatic block for unusual activity, and you can lock/unblock the card in the dApp (each action locks changes for 24 hours).
- The operator is SR Saphirstein AG, a Swiss fintech licensed under Art. 1b Banking Act, supervised by FINMA. Deposit insurance is not stated.
What Can Go Wrong
The risk picture for Fiat24 has three layers: the programme’s current state, third-party reports of user experience, and the underlying crypto risks that exist regardless of provider.
The programme is closed and silent. The site is in maintenance mode with no new applications. This is the most immediate risk: if you hold funds or a balance, you have no guarantee of timely support or resolution if something goes wrong. The Trustpilot pattern (2.2/5 from 8 reviews, all 1-star, earliest April 2024, latest May 2026) includes reports of unresponsive support across email, Telegram and Discord (bot loops), held card pre-authorisations or funds not released, SEPA transfers arriving weeks late plus about 50 EUR in fees after re-routing, and scammers posing as support in community channels.
Unofficial reports raise concerns about the top-up path. Per cryptocards.so (2026, unofficial): monthly fee, issuance, ATM, FX, top-up and declined transactions are listed as free; but crypto deposits carry 1–1.75% fees plus gas. User reports also mention a EUR 50 fee on a SEPA transfer routed as TARGET2 — the same figure appears in Trustpilot reviews. Note the contradiction: cryptocards.so says Apple Pay and Google Pay are not available, while official documentation says they are supported.
Crypto transfers are irreversible. Blockchain deposits sent to the wrong network or address can be lost with no built-in recovery. A stablecoin provider can freeze funds tied to sanctions or illicit activity — they are not censorship-proof. If your private key is compromised, there is no customer service that can reverse a blockchain transaction.
KYC and account-opening limits. The KYC process requires biometric ID or passport, age over 18, GPS location capture, TIN collection, and one account per person. Some emerging countries are limited to CHF 1,000 per 30 days. If your domicile, risk profile or background does not match the business focus, or you register twice, your application can be rejected.
What to Take Instead
Three alternatives score meaningfully higher than Fiat24. Here is how they compare on the criteria that matter.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost | Key restriction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1/10 | Mastercard virtual (free) or Metal ($199/yr) | Virtual free; Metal $199/yr | Sign-up open in 45 countries; ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending |
| RedotPay | 6.9/10 | Visa debit (Singapore terms); USD and HKD cards | Virtual $10; physical $100; Pro tier $12.90/mo | 47+ places ineligible for virtual and physical cards; extensive KYC exclusion list |
| Bybit Card | 6.0/10 | Mastercard and Visa (region-dependent) | Virtual free “until further notice”; physical varies by region | Not for EEA customers; participation “strictly prohibited” in the EEA |
MetaMask (7.1/10) is the highest-scoring option. It is a self-custody card: you connect your own wallet (Linea, Base, Monad or Solana networks), and funds stay in your wallet until the moment of payment. The virtual Mastercard is free with no annual or maintenance fee; the Metal card is $199/year. Cashback is 1% (Virtual) or 3% for the first $10,000 spent then 1% (Metal), paid in mUSD. Sign-up is open in 45 countries including Germany, France, Spain, Canada, Mexico, Argentina and Brazil; other regions join a waitlist. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed.
RedotPay (6.9/10) offers both virtual ($10 application) and physical ($100) Visa debit cards with USD or HKD options. Transaction fee is 1% for crypto conversion; default-currency transactions are waived; non-default currency is 1.20%. A $5 welcome reward is available on spending (30-day validity). The main restriction is country coverage: residents of 47 listed places (including India, Indonesia, Turkey, Singapore, Morocco, Nepal, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Belarus) are ineligible for both card types. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are not on the exclusion lists.
Bybit Card (6.0/10) draws directly from your Bybit Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn balance — no separate card balance to manage. Supported regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The card is explicitly not for European Economic Area customers. Crypto conversion fee is 0.9% (0.5% in Argentina); FX fee is 2% on top of the network rate in most regions. Cashback tiers run from 2% (Base, $5/month cap) to 10% (Infinite, $600/month cap), but only for crypto-funded transactions since October 2026.
| Feature | Fiat24 | MetaMask | RedotPay | Bybit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self-custody | Yes (NFT in wallet) | Yes (connect wallet) | No (custodial balance) | No (platform account) |
| Physical card | Not stated | Metal ($199/yr) | Yes ($100) | Yes (region-dependent) |
| ATM withdrawals | Unlimited (unofficial) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cashback/points | Not stated | 1–3% in mUSD | $5 welcome reward | 2–10% crypto-funded only |
| KYC requirement | Biometric ID/passport, GPS, TIN | Proof of residency, KYC | Full KYC + sanctions screening | Advanced Identity Verification |
Each of these alternatives carries its own restrictions and fee structures — read their current terms before committing. What matters here is that they are open, documented, and currently issuing cards.
Who I Would Recommend It To
Existing holders with a remaining balance: Follow the withdrawal path in this review — link your bank account via a small deposit, then withdraw at least 100 EUR or 100 CHF. Bring your balance to zero and close the account if you do not intend to use the card. Do this sooner rather than later; there is no published timeline for when support or refunds may change.
Anyone considering applying: Do not. The programme is not accepting new applications and has not been for some time. The public card page still shows a status message from December 2024. There is nothing to sign up for.
Anyone looking for a crypto card today: Look at MetaMask (highest score, self-custody, free virtual card in 45 countries), RedotPay (virtual and physical Visa, broad crypto support, 1% conversion fee), or Bybit Card (no separate balance, strong cashback tiers for crypto-funded spend). All three are currently issuing cards and have clearer fee structures and support channels than Fiat24’s current state.
What I would not do: Keep funds on a closed platform hoping for a re-opening announcement, or rely on a programme whose support channels are silent and whose Trustpilot record is 2.2 from 8 reviews. If you hold Fiat24 funds, move them out now using the steps above.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Fiat24 card?
Fiat24 was a Swiss crypto card programme that connected to your self-custody wallet via an NFT account. It offered a virtual Mastercard with tiered limits based on NFT digit count (Standard: 10,000 EUR/day; Premium: 100,000; Ultimate: 500,000). The programme launched with a “Coming soon in December 2024” promise that was never fulfilled on the public site. It is now closed to new applicants and the site is in maintenance mode.
Is Fiat24 a bank?
No. Fiat24 operates as a fintech under SR Saphirstein AG, a Swiss entity licensed under Art. 1b Banking Act and supervised by FINMA. It is not a bank and does not offer deposit insurance. KYC data is retained per Swiss AML law even after account closure. Your funds are held in a custodial structure, not protected by bank deposit guarantee schemes.
How does Fiat24 card work?
The account is an NFT in your wallet — sign-in is via wallet connection on Arbitrum. You top up through the dApp (minimum 10 EUR/CHF/USD depending on region), then the card spends from your available balance. Card transactions settle in the transaction currency; a different primary card currency covers shortfalls with no split payments. “Direct Pay” spends matching currency balances first to avoid FX fees.
How do I withdraw money from Fiat24?
Link your bank account first: make a small deposit from that account (IBAN) to Fiat24 — up to 10 accounts per currency. Minimum payout is 100 EUR or 100 CHF. Payouts are booked the same business day (or next business day after 15:00 CET). Successful payouts are free; returned payouts cost 10 EUR or 10 CHF. To close the account, bring balances to zero and use id.fiat24.com → Profile → Close Account.
Is Fiat24 card free?
Official fees are not disclosed on the card documentation page. Unofficial sources (cryptocards.so, 2026) list issuance, monthly fee, ATM, FX, top-up and declined transactions as free — but crypto deposits carry 1–1.75% fees plus network gas. A refund processing fee of 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF (7 CNH) applies from 15 May 2026. Trustpilot reviews mention about 50 EUR in fees on some SEPA transfers.
Does Fiat24 card require KYC?
Yes. Single KYC process: biometric ID or passport, age over 18, GPS location captured, TIN collected, one account per person. Applicants must not be US Persons, PEPs, or subject to OFAC/EU sanctions. Some emerging countries are limited to CHF 1,000 per 30 days. Account opening takes under one business day during CET hours if approved.
How do I add Fiat24 card to Apple Wallet?
The official documentation states Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are supported. However, cryptocards.so (unofficial, 2026) reports that Apple Pay and Google Pay are not available, contradicting the official position. Since the programme is closed to new applications and the site is in maintenance mode, mobile wallet setup may no longer function reliably for new users.
Is Fiat24 card safe?
The operator (SR Saphirstein AG) is FINMA-supervised, and the card uses 3-D Secure one-time passwords with automatic blocking for unusual activity. However, Trustpilot shows 2.2/5 from 8 reviews — all one star — with reports of unresponsive support, stuck funds, held pre-authorisations, and scammers posing as support in community channels. Crypto transfers are irreversible; a stolen private key has no recovery path. Assess carefully before relying on this.
How do I delete my Fiat24 account?
First bring all balances to zero. Then go to id.fiat24.com, log in, navigate to Profile → Close Account. Closure is final and no second account is allowed. KYC data is retained per Swiss AML law after deletion. If you have a remaining balance, withdraw it before closing — the account cannot be closed with funds still held.
Is Fiat24 card worth it?
For new applicants: no — the programme is closed and not accepting applications. For existing holders: use it to withdraw your remaining balance to your own bank, then close the account. If you want a crypto card in 2026, MetaMask (7.1/10) offers a free self-custody virtual Mastercard; RedotPay (6.9/10) provides virtual and physical Visa cards; Bybit Card (6.0/10) draws directly from your exchange balance. All three are currently issuing cards.
App and neobank cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
