Rizon is a non-custodial Visa card that spends from your own wallet — the catch is in the fine print

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Rizon sells itself as a way to spend stablecoins from a wallet you actually own. A Visa Platinum card — virtual, physical, and soon metal — sits in the Apple Pay and Google Pay wallets of people whose bank cards never quite worked out. The pitch is straightforward: keep your own keys, load the card from your own balance, pay anywhere Visa is taken. After going through what the card says, what the help center says, and what the unofficial reviews say, the picture is more mixed. Some pieces are genuinely good — nine networks, no deposit fee, no spending limit on the standard plan. Others are vague, contradictory, or simply missing from the company’s own pages.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Rizon works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Rizon earns 6.7 out of 10 in this review. The score reflects a product that does several things well and leaves a few important questions unanswered.

Criterion Mark Why it scored this way
Who can get it 6/10 44 passport countries plus a separate 122+ residence-country claim; US and several Latin American and Asian markets are explicitly covered
Cost 6/10 Maintenance and USD spending are free; non-USD spend is 1.7% plus $0.10, ATM is $1 plus 0.65%, and the card price itself is “Check app for the price”
Top-up options 9/10 Free on-chain deposits across Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche, and BSC — unofficial reports say USDC and USDT
Reliability and complaints 5/10 Card issuance by Signify Holdings and Nimbus LLC (Rain); Trustpilot has only about 8 reviews, mostly one star, and third-party reports flag a fee charged before KYC finishes and manual review stretching past 24 hours
Everyday use 9/10 Virtual and physical Visa Platinum, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals up to $250 per transaction

The card suits people in the United States, Latin America, or parts of Asia who hold a supported passport and want to keep custody of their stablecoins while spending them. It suits less well anyone who needs clear, published pricing upfront, anyone who travels heavily in non-USD currencies without wanting the Emerald subscription, and anyone who relies on a responsive support team to fix things when they go wrong.

Who will they give you the card

The card’s marketing page says Rizon is “intended for people who live in and are domiciled in” the United States or LATAM countries, and may be restricted elsewhere — but the same page also claims 122+ countries are supported. That is a contradiction worth knowing about, because the two statements imply different things.

The help center gives the more specific answer: availability is based on citizenship (passport), not residence. Forty-four nationalities are listed. The full list runs from Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bangladesh, Belize, Brazil, the Cayman Islands, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Singapore, Suriname, Thailand, the Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, the UAE, the United States, Uruguay, and Zambia. Russia and Belarus are not on the list.

The gap between “44 nationalities” and “122+ countries of residence” is the first thing a prospective applicant should pin down before signing up. If you are a citizen of one of the 44 listed countries and live in a third country, you may still be eligible on the citizenship basis. If you are a citizen of a country not on the list, the residence claim is unlikely to help you. Holders of Latin American or Asian passports are the most clearly covered group.

How to get it

Rizon does not publish its KYC requirements on the card page itself. What the help center says is that identity verification is required, and that the outcome of that verification falls into one of two buckets in the app: “KYC Declined” — which is final and cannot be overridden by Rizon because the decision comes from the KYC/AML provider — or “Verification Incomplete” — which means a typo, an unclear document photo, or a blurry selfie, and which the user can retry. The processing time is not stated on the official pages.

Unofficial reports (spendnode.io, October 2026) describe a passport-and-selfie flow that testers have completed quickly, while other sources (cryptocards.so) describe manual KYC that stretched past 24–48 hours. Applicants should prepare for potential manual delays.

Three card types are advertised: a virtual card, a physical card, and a metal card marked “coming soon.” All three are Visa Platinum. The card currency itself is not stated on the official pages, though the platform offers USD and EUR accounts.

Physical cards are delivered globally per the card page, with an average delivery time of three days. The help center narrows this: physical cards are available in 49 countries and territories, including the US, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Brazil, Mexico, South Africa, and the UAE, with the US restricted to 31 states. The delivery cost and the replacement cost are not stated — the card page simply says “Check app for the price,” which is not a number an applicant can budget against before installing the app.

Fees

The headline numbers from the official fees page are mostly clear. The card price and the Emerald subscription are not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Rizon payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What it costs
Virtual / physical / additional / replacement card “Check app for the price” — not stated
Account maintenance Free
Deposit Free, no limit
Card spend in USD Free
Card spend in non-USD 1.7% + $0.10 (Emerald 1.02%, per the page — verify)
Trading fee 1.7% (Emerald 0.85%)
ATM withdrawal $1 + 0.65% of the amount (help center); up to 3 withdrawals per 24 hours, max $250 per withdrawal
Deposit / card spend / send limits No limit (official fees page)
Rizon Emerald subscription From $5.59/month — halves FX, trading, and transaction fees

Two non-trivial everyday examples show how the numbers combine. Buying coffee in USD with a Standard plan costs nothing in fees beyond what the merchant charges. Buying the same coffee in euros on a trip costs 1.7% plus $0.10 on the standard plan — so a €4.50 coffee becomes about 0.077€ in card fees, which is small in absolute terms but compounds over a holiday. Withdrawing $200 from an ATM in a foreign country costs $1 plus 0.65%, or $2.30, which is reasonable for the category but not free.

A second table is worth keeping in mind, because unofficial third-party sources report different numbers. Spendnode.io (October 2026) lists a Standard virtual card at $10 one-time, Gold and Emerald virtual cards as free, a Standard physical card at $49.99, a Gold physical at $24.99, and an Emerald physical as included. The same source lists monthly plans as Standard free, Gold $3.99/month, and Emerald $6.99/month, with a three-month minimum. None of those numbers match the official fees page, which says Emerald starts at $5.59/month and card prices require checking the app. The official figure wins, but the gap is wide enough that a careful reader should confirm in the app before committing.

The Emerald subscription is the main lever the user has to push these numbers down. For $5.59/month it halves the non-USD conversion, trading, and transaction fees. If a user spends several hundred dollars a month abroad, the subscription can pay for itself; if spending is mostly domestic in USD, the subscription is pure cost.

Top up

The official fees page is direct: on-chain deposits are free, and there is no deposit limit. The networks listed are Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche, and BSC — described in the help center as “Solana and EVM-compatible.” That covers the major cheap-and-fast networks a stablecoin user is likely to be holding funds on.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Rizon starts with a transfer to the right network

What the official pages do not say is which coins are accepted, what the minimum is, and who pays the network fee. The fee page’s line “deposit money multiple ways” promises more than the same page delivers. Unofficial sources (spendnode.io, October 2026) fill in some of the blanks: USDC and USDT on Polygon, Optimism, or Arbitrum, plus a US bank transfer and a credit card option. The official help center lists more chains than the unofficial site lists coins, so the safest reading is that the network list is reliable and the coin list needs confirmation in the app.

The withdrawal side is more clearly priced. On-chain withdrawal costs the network fee plus 0.1%. International send costs the same — network fee plus 0.1%. Sending to another Rizon user is free. What happens to the balance on account closure is not stated.

Three things to check before sending a top-up. First, confirm the network. The standard warning in this category is that a wrong-network deposit can be lost or stuck in slow manual recovery, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Second, confirm the accepted tokens on that network. The official pages do not list them. Third, keep a small amount of the native gas token (ETH for EVM chains, SOL for Solana) in the sending wallet, because some networks require it to move tokens at all.

Paying with it every day

The Standard plan ships a virtual and a physical Visa Platinum. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the virtual card. ATM withdrawals are enabled on the physical card worldwide, subject to the limits described above. Blocked merchants are not listed on the official pages, so it is not possible to know in advance whether, for example, a specific gambling site or a cryptocurrency exchange that declines prepaid cards will work.

The headline reward is 2.5% cashback on eligible purchases — online, in stores, and at ATMs — redeemable from a cashback balance. There is also a “RizPoints” system tied to spending. The payout currency for the cashback is not stated on the official pages. Unofficial sources disagree: one places the rate at 1% capped at the plan fee on Gold, another at 2.5% from a Medium review. The card page itself says 2.5%, so that is the number to plan around, with the caveat that the smaller sources might be looking at older versions of the terms.

The iOS and Android apps are linked from the card page. Unofficial store-data (coincodecap.com, date unknown) puts Google Play at about 4.3 stars from around 3,500 ratings, and the App Store at 4.0 from 144 ratings. App store ratings are not the same as Trustpilot reviews, but they do indicate that a real user base exists.

One practical point the official pages do not cover is what happens if a transaction goes wrong. The help center has articles on limits and on cards, but no article titled around disputes or chargebacks that this review could find. The absence of a published dispute process is a real gap for a card that may be used abroad, where declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds for several days.

What can go wrong

The official page is silent on incidents, and the company’s “news” surface carries nothing dated about licences, issuer changes, or fines in 2025 or 2026. The card issuer, per the card page, is Signify Holdings Inc. and its subsidiary Nimbus LLC (Rain). Some Medium posts and aggregators name Third National as the issuing bank, but that claim is unverified and the official issuer line should be treated as more reliable.

A Trustpilot profile for Rizon does exist, but the name collides with an unrelated IRC network, and the eight or so reviews are mostly one star — too small a sample to be statistically meaningful, and contaminated by the name clash. Complaint themes that recur in third-party aggregators (cryptocards.so, Reddit threads not opened in this review) are worth knowing about:

The same aggregator notes that Rizon acknowledged the onboarding flaw and planned a country-selection step. None of these complaints are dated in the materials reviewed, and the underlying threads were not opened directly, so they should be read as “themes that have surfaced,” not as confirmed cases.

On the security side, Rizon describes itself as non-custodial: the user keeps full control and is responsible for the recovery phrase. The app offers biometric login and “smart fraud protection,” and physical cards can be locked and unlocked from the app. Two-factor authentication and insurance are not mentioned. Support is via a help center (intercom.help/rizon) and a contact email whose address is obfuscated on the page. There is no phone line, no live chat, and no published hours.

The metal card is still listed as “coming soon,” with no release date.

What to take instead

Three alternatives cover the main reasons someone might be looking at Rizon and wondering if there is a better fit.

MetaMask Card (7.1/10). Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with proof of residency required; other regions join a waitlist. Citizenship rules are not stated. US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed per the FAQ at the time of writing. The card is a Mastercard, virtual first (issued instantly), with a Metal version that can be pre-ordered in app after the virtual card is approved. One card per user. The virtual card is free; the Metal is $199 a year. The fee language is “minimal fee for each transaction” with the amount in a linked table, no MetaMask fees on top, and no foreign transaction fee beyond the Mastercard rate. The card spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, and Solana, with named tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, and USDT. Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit. Cashback is paid in mUSD into a Money Account: 1% on Virtual, 3% on Metal headline but limited to the first $10,000 spent and then 1%. MetaMask Card suits someone who already lives inside the MetaMask wallet and wants the same self-custody story Rizon tells, but on a different network footprint and with a published pricing structure.

KAST (6.1/10). Residence-based access is shown at KYC, and the country list is not published in full, though a “Restricted Locations” list is referenced. Citizenship and ID matter: someone living in a supported country but holding an ID from a restricted region can still be ineligible, while a dual citizen with an ID from a supported country may pass. KAST offers virtual and physical cards — Visa Platinum (Standard), Visa Infinite metal (Premium), and Visa Infinite gold plated (Private) — up to ten per user, with branded designs including Pengu, Solana, and Bitcoin. The account balance is in USD; stablecoin deposits convert 1:1 with a 0% spread. Annual membership is $0 (Standard), $1,000 (Premium), and $10,000 (Private), billed annually with no monthly option. Non-USD FX is 0.5%–1.75% depending on residence, transaction country, and programme; non-USD transactions under $25 carry a $0.10 fee; declined transactions cost $0.50. Cashback in USD: 1.5% (Standard, first $2,000/month), 2% (Premium, first $10,000/month), 3% (Private, first $40,000/month). KAST is the choice for someone who wants clear programme tiers and is willing to pay for them, and who is happy with a fully custodial account.

Zeal (6.1/10). Spends are accepted in 150+ countries; the card programme is live in the EU, the UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia, and Thailand. The card is a Visa, virtual first and addable to Apple Pay, with accounts in EUR, USD, and GBP. The physical card is not available according to the published information, and the fee schedule is not listed on the website or App Store. Zeal charges no extra FX fee on top of the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees (for example, ATM) may still apply. The card spends from balances in a Safe on Gnosis Chain and Celo, with the exact coins for Zeal not stated. Cashback is up to 4%, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, and GNO must be held in the card Safe to qualify. The app also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances. Zeal fits a user who wants a self-custody card with stablecoin balances across multiple fiat currencies and is comfortable with the Gnosis ecosystem.

A short comparison, since the differences matter:

Card Best for Main trade-off
Rizon Self-custody on major networks, no deposit fee Card price and Emerald fee only visible in-app
MetaMask Card MetaMask-native users, 1%–3% mUSD cashback $199/year for Metal; US/UK sign-ups intermittently closed
KAST Clear tiered programmes with strong cashback at top tier $1,000–$10,000 annual membership for Premium and Private
Zeal Multi-currency self-custody on Gnosis No published fee schedule; GNO required for cashback

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Rizon to a user who holds a supported passport (the 44 listed nationalities) and who already keeps stablecoins in their own wallet on one of the supported networks — Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche, or BSC. For that person, the no-deposit-fee model, the self-custody story, and the multi-network top-up are a strong fit. The 2.5% cashback is competitive for the category, and the free USD spending means domestic use is effectively free.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs to know the card price before installing the app, who travels in non-USD currencies frequently without wanting the $5.59/month Emerald subscription, who relies on phone or live-chat support (neither exists), or who has had bad experiences with manual KYC delays. I would also hesitate to recommend it without reservation to anyone whose primary concern is a published dispute process, because the help center’s coverage of that topic is thin.

The middle of the road — the people who might go either way — should look at the KYC friction first. The official materials say verification is required but do not commit to a timeline. The unofficial reports are split between “two minutes” and “more than 48 hours.” Anyone who has a specific date or trip in mind should plan for the slower end, and only fund the wallet with what they are comfortable having in limbo if a review does stretch.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Rizon card?

The Rizon card is a Visa Platinum (virtual, physical, and soon metal) that spends from a non-custodial stablecoin balance held in the user’s own wallet. The card sits in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and it is issued by Signify Holdings Inc. and its subsidiary Nimbus LLC (Rain) per the card’s own pages.

How does the Rizon card work?

You keep your crypto in your own wallet and connect it to the card. When you pay, the platform converts the stablecoin to fiat and routes the payment through Visa. On-chain deposits are free across seven networks, and card spending in USD carries no fee on the standard plan.

Is Rizon a bank?

No. Rizon Technologies, UAB markets the product. The card itself is issued by Signify Holdings Inc. and Nimbus LLC (Rain), which are licensed to issue Visa cards. The platform is a programme manager and software layer on top of that issuing arrangement, not a bank.

Who owns Rizon?

The product is made available by Rizon Technologies, UAB. The card programme is run by Signify Holdings Inc. and Nimbus LLC (Rain), which act as the issuer. Rizon Technologies, UAB does not publicly disclose its ownership structure.

Is the Rizon card available in my country?

It depends on your citizenship more than where you live. The help center lists 44 supported nationalities — including the US, Japan, Singapore, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and others — while the card page claims 122+ countries of residence. Russia and Belarus are not on the nationality list. Confirm in the app for your specific case.

Does the Rizon card require KYC?

Yes. The help center says KYC is required and that the app can show “KYC Declined” (final, cannot be overridden by Rizon) or “Verification Incomplete” (retryable). The official page does not list the documents required or a processing-time commitment, so plan for the verification to take longer than the unofficial “two minutes” some testers have reported.

How do I top up the Rizon card?

Send a supported stablecoin to the deposit address Rizon gives you, on one of the seven supported networks: Arbitrum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Avalanche, or BSC. On-chain deposits are free. Unofficial reports name USDC and USDT as the accepted coins, with US bank transfer and credit card also available. The official page does not list accepted coins, so confirm in the app.

Can I add the Rizon card to Apple Wallet?

Yes, the virtual card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card is tokenised in the device’s Secure Element, and you can lock and unlock the physical card from the app at any time.

Is the Rizon card safe?

The platform is non-custodial, so the user keeps the recovery phrase and full control of the funds. The app offers biometric login, smart fraud protection, and instant card freeze. The published material does not mention two-factor authentication, insurance, or a formal dispute process, so the safety net is thinner than at a fully regulated bank-issued card.

Is the Rizon card worth it?

It depends on which costs you can offset. For a user who already lives in USDC or USDT on one of the supported networks, pays mostly in USD, and holds a supported passport, the free deposit and free USD spending make the card competitive. The card price, the Emerald subscription at $5.59/month, and the 1.7% plus $0.10 non-USD conversion fee all eat into the value once you start using the card abroad or want the cheaper FX that the Emerald tier provides.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team