Nexo Card Review — Free To Issue, But Watch The Cashback Gate

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have come here because ordinary bank cards are awkward for you — a card application refused, a country

you cannot easily open an account in, a salary paid into crypto rather than a bank — the Nexo card is worth

understanding properly. It is a real card, issued by a regulated EU institution, that spends from a crypto

balance. That is genuinely useful. But it is not a bank account, it does not behave like one everywhere, and

the conditions that make it attractive are narrower than the marketing suggests. This page walks through who

issues it, what it costs, how you fund it, what happens when you pay with it, and where it goes wrong, so you

can decide whether it fits your situation before you spend an afternoon in identity checks.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.3 out of 10

My score for the Nexo card is 6.3 / 10. Not a bad card — a competent one with sharp edges. The free

issuance, the absence of any monthly or annual fee, and the simplicity of spending a crypto balance directly

are real advantages. What holds it back is the cashback design: to earn cashback you must hold more than

$5,000 in digital assets and buy in Credit Mode, which means borrowing rather than spending your own money.

And to get the plastic card at all you need the Gold tier, which itself requires a large balance and a

proportion of it held in NEXO tokens. Plenty of people will read “Nexo card review” expecting a free everyday

card and discover instead that the free part is the bit anyone gets, and the useful part is tiered.

Who it suits: Europeans who already hold large crypto balances and want cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin,

who are comfortable with a custodial platform, and who will mostly pay in EEA or UK currencies where the FX

fee is small. Who it does not suit: anyone who wants a metal card, a US user, anyone in a country the

unofficial list says is restricted, anyone who needs a card in the first hour after signing up, and anyone who

treats the platform’s reputation for security as a substitute for their own custody.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Selected European countries, EEA and UK per the card’s own wording; an unofficial list names 30 countries with Bulgaria, Estonia and the US excluded, and the card publishes no official list
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly or annual fee, issuance free, FX 0.2% on weekdays in EEA/UK, 2% elsewhere; an unofficial source puts the crypto swap at 0.75% on top; ATM 2% above the allowance; plastic needs Gold and $5,000
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends straight from the Nexo account, 100+ assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode, but the networks are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer named as DiPocket UAB under the Bank of Lithuania; Trustpilot 4.4 but complaints about withdrawal delays and closed accounts, a raid in Bulgaria, the MiCA partner transition, confusion over plastic ordering; no unofficial cardholder insurance
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs — the strongest area, though the physical card is gated behind Gold and $5,000

Add those up and you get 6.3. The everyday-use score is the highest, and it should be: this is a card that

works at a till, in an app and at a cash machine. The two fives are eligibility and reliability, which is

where a crypto card in Europe is currently most exposed to things outside its own control.

Who will they give you the card to

The card’s own wording is that it is available to residents and citizens of “selected European countries,

including the EEA and the United Kingdom”. Two things follow. First, it is both residence and citizenship, not

one or the other — so a citizen of an eligible country living elsewhere may still be refused. Second, “selected”

is doing real work in that sentence: there is no country list on the page, and the excluded places are only

described as “certain jurisdictions” where the card is “not available”.

If you want the concrete list, the only version I can find is unofficial, from a third-party card directory in

August 2026, which reports availability in 30 countries — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech

Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein,

Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

and the United Kingdom — and restrictions in Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States. Treat that as a map, not

a promise: the card operator has not confirmed it, and it can change without notice.

Identity Verification requires a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European

country. Proof of address and the minimum age are not stated on the card page — one place where I have to

tell you the card simply does not say, rather than guess. There is one verification level described and no

published tiers, processing times or rejection reasons, which means you cannot tell in advance how long the

check will take or what would trip it.

One piece of news belongs here because it bears directly on eligibility. Cointelegraph reported a

2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and anti-money-laundering

violations, with no official Nexo statement about Russians being found. That is news reporting, not a finding of

guilt and not an official company statement — but if your reason for wanting this card is that ordinary banks

have made your nationality difficult, this is the kind of event worth knowing about. It is also why the

restricted-country list above is not the whole story: eligibility can change with enforcement, not only with

policy.

How to get it

Getting the card is a two-stage thing, and the stages are not equally quick.

The virtual card activates in the app once you have passed Identity Verification. To activate it, the

account needs at least $50 in it — the card’s own stated minimum.

The physical card is ordered in the app: Card tab, then Order Nexo Card, at no additional cost. Standard

delivery is up to four weeks, it may be delivered to your local Post Office rather than your home, and it must

be activated in the app once it arrives. The card page does not state which countries it ships to, and it does

not state the cost of a replacement card.

That gap between the two is worth pausing on, because there has been public confusion about it. Reporting from

14 October 2026 noted conflicting statements about whether physical cards can be ordered at all after Nexo’s

move to a MiCA-compliant structure. If the physical card is the reason you are reading this, verify it in the

app before you commit funds to a tier — do not take my word or a news summary for it.

The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, named on the card page; the Bank of Lithuania authorises that entity.

Mastercard’s trademark appears on the page, though the network is not stated explicitly. Network identification

of Mastercard comes from the same third-party directory as the country list, so it is unofficial. The card

currency is not stated — the ATM allowances are quoted in both EUR and GBP, which suggests the choice is yours

at activation rather than fixed.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the honest part. The Nexo card has no monthly fee, no annual fee and no inactivity fee. Issuance is

free. On that basis it beats most premium cards in the category. The costs arrive elsewhere, and the table

below is the full set the card publishes.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What it says
Issuance Free — virtual and physical, no additional cost to order the plastic
Monthly or annual fee None
Inactivity fee None
Activation minimum At least $50 in the account for the virtual card
Plastic requirement Gold tier and a balance above $5,000 in digital assets
Foreign-transaction fee, weekday 0.2% in EEA/UK/CH, 2% in the rest of the world
Foreign-transaction fee, weekend 0.7% in EEA/UK/CH, 2.5% in the rest of the world
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM fee Free monthly allowance by tier; above it 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal
ATM allowance, Base EUR 200 / GBP 180 per month
ATM allowance, Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360 per month
ATM allowance, Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900 per month
ATM allowance, Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 per month
Daily and monthly spend limits Not stated; clients with $100,000 in assets get higher limits

Three numbers are missing that you will want. The crypto conversion fee is not stated — the card spends

stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx in Debit Mode, but does not publish what it

charges for turning them into fiat. An unofficial third-party source puts the Debit Mode crypto-to-fiat swap

at 0.75% and notes it can stack with the FX fee. If you pay in a currency the card does not natively hold, you

could therefore be paying two percentages rather than one; treat 0.75% as a warning, not a fact.

Daily and monthly spend limits are also not published. The card only says that clients with $100,000 in assets

receive higher limits. Third-party numbers circulate — EUR 10,000 per purchase, per day, EUR 60,000 per month,

and ATM limits of EUR 600 per transaction, EUR 2,000 per day, EUR 10,000 per month — though remember these are third-party directory estimates, not confirmed by the card operator, and subject to account- or region-specific limits. Treat

them as an order of magnitude, not a ceiling you can rely on.

Now three everyday payments, priced against the published numbers.

A EUR 50 purchase in an eurozone country, paying from a euro stablecoin. This is the card’s best case. You are not crossing a currency border, so no foreign-transaction fee applies. If the conversion fee on your asset is the unofficial 0.75%, that is the percentage that matters, and it is the one I cannot confirm. Nothing monthly,

nothing annual.

A £25 subscription paid on a Sunday from a euro-denominated balance. Weekend, EEA/UK, so 0.7% — £0.175.

That is small in absolute terms, but add it up across many weekend payments and it becomes a cost you did not plan. The weekend rate is more than three times the weekday rate, and the card does not let

you opt out of it.

A $60 purchase in the United States from a euro balance, on a weekday. Two percentages land on you: 2% is

the rest-of-world FX rate, not the 0.2% EEA/UK rate, because you are outside those jurisdictions. If the

the 0.75% swap applies on top, you are at a higher cost before anything else. Nexo is a European card and it

prices like one.

One further cost that is easy to miss: loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio, and

Tiers give higher free ATM allowances and higher Credit-Mode cashback. Members of the loyalty program are said

to earn “up to 13%” on idle funds, but the rate per tier is not stated. Holding tokens to keep a tier can cost

you exposure to one token’s price; nobody is telling you the tier rate here either.

Top up: how the card gets money

This is the part people expect to be a wallet address, and it is not. The Nexo card does not have a

separate balance. It spends directly from your Nexo account, and over 100 digital assets are supported;

in Debit Mode the account uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets. Cashback can arrive as NEXO tokens or

Bitcoin. Networks are described as not applicable or not stated — there is no published list of chains, which

matters a great deal if you were planning to send a deposit.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

What is not stated is just as important: deposit fees, minimum top-up amounts, the fiat top-up options and

their fees. Withdrawal terms are not stated either. So the honest summary is that the card’s mechanics are

simple and unusually transparent — your account balance is the balance — and its funding costs are the least

documented part of the offer. You will have to find the current figures in the app or help centre yourself.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card scores highest, 8 out of 10, and it deserves the praise. Both Apple Pay and Google Pay

are supported, so in practice most of your spending will not need the plastic at all. The app is iOS

(iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Vision) with a 4.2 out of 5 App Store rating from “2K” ratings as read on

20 October 2026; the interface is in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. I did not read

the Google Play listing, so treat that rating as unverified.

Cashback is where you need to read carefully, because the headline number is not the whole mechanism. Cashback

applies only to purchases in Credit Mode, the account must hold more than $5,000 in digital assets, and it

is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin with the payout currency changeable. By loyalty tier:

Tier Cashback in NEXO Cashback in Bitcoin
Platinum 2% 0.5%
Gold 1% 0.3%
Silver 0.7% 0.2%
Base 0.5% 0.1%

Two consequences you should weigh before chasing it. Credit Mode means borrowing, so the cashback is not

free money — you are paying interest on the balance to earn it. And the rates “may change and vary by region”,

so a rate you read today is not a rate you can bank on. Reviewers have also noted a grace period when your

balance falls below the $5,000 threshold, which suggests the requirement bites in the middle of a month rather

than being assessed cleanly.

Also not stated: which merchant categories are blocked (gambling is blocked by many issuers in this category,

but Nexo does not publish a list) and what the dispute process looks like when a payment goes wrong. If you

rely on chargebacks in any part of your spending, that silence is worth raising with support before you need

it.

What can go wrong

Start with the reviews, because they are the most honest part of the picture. Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of

4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews, read 20 October 2026. The recurring themes in recent reviews are more

instructive than the average: high fees on small transactions and frustration with the $5,000 minimum balance;

delayed withdrawals and accounts locked or closed; deposits slow to appear; support described as unhelpful on

technical problems by some reviewers and praised for speed by others; objections to third-party custody via

what reviewers call an “Earn Provider”; and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access. A four-point-four

with those complaints attached reads like a platform with a functioning majority and a genuinely bad tail.

Then the structural risks. Nexo is custodial: the platform holds your credentials, and control of crypto belongs

to whoever holds the private key. Custodial platforms have a real record — Mt. Gox at about US$350 million

reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network at

US$625 million in 2022. On the card page Nexo describes its custody as “industrial-grade” and offers an instant

card freeze, security spending controls and biometric locks, but two-factor authentication is not stated,

and an unofficial source reports no cardholder insurance and that custody-security providers do not include

cardholder insurance either.

The regulatory picture is the part that moves fastest. Nexo said on 3 June 2026 on social media that it had set

up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged — a company post, not a regulator

record. MiCA’s transitional period ended on 1 July 2026. Independent checks of the ESMA interim register in

August and September 2026 found no entity named Nexo among authorised crypto-asset service providers; EEA

custody and trading reportedly run through partners Tangany (custody) and DLT Finance (trading), and a Bulgarian

FSC application filed around February 2026 was still pending per a third-party report. None of that stops the

card working — the card issuer, DiPocket UAB, is a separate authorised institution. But if the thing you want

a crypto card for is durability, note that this card’s continuity depends on a shifting regulatory

perimeter, not just on a bank’s balance sheet.

Two limits of your own making to keep in mind as well. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent

on an unsupported network or to the wrong address can be lost or need manual support recovery with no

guarantee — and since Nexo does not publish its supported networks, you cannot check before sending. And a

declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, up to seven days (a typical period for holds), which matters if you

live on a card balance.

One thing I cannot assess for you: whether Nexo’s operating entity and its licences are properly registered.

The card page simply does not state it.

What to take instead

If the Nexo card’s shape is right but the specifics are not, the category has three comparable options. Here is

how they line up — with the same care about which numbers are official.

Nexo Xplace ether.fi Exa
My score 6.3 / 10 7.7 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.2 / 10
Network Mastercard, unofficial Visa Visa Visa
Eligibility EEA/UK and “selected” European countries; unofficial list of 30 Country list not stated Named jurisdiction list, residence-based; 31 US states 45 countries and 31 US states; 18 countries ineligible
Stated fees No monthly or annual fee; FX 0.2%/2% weekday, 0.7%/2.5% weekend Basic free, Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y FX by tier: Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none; EUR purchases 0% Not stated; marketed as free
Cashback Credit Mode only, above $5,000; up to 2% by tier Credit mode by tier, 0.5% to 2%, paid in USDC ETHFI, 3% within monthly ladders by tier None stated
What stands out No ongoing fee; spends 100+ assets Higher score, clearer tier ladder, Solana deposits Higher cashback headline Widest country coverage

Xplace scores highest of the four at 7.7. It is a Visa card with a virtual card available instantly and a

physical one on Silver, with Gold and Platinum described as coming soon and a 7–14 business day delivery. Its

annual fees are the obvious trade against Nexo’s — $99 to $999 a year — but its cashback ladder is clearer and

it pays in USDC to your wallet at settlement. Deposits are on the Solana network and include BTC (cbBTC),

ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks, which is a genuinely different funding model: one chain

rather than an undisclosed many. Its eligibility rules are the weak point, as no country list is stated and it

says only that services are not available in all jurisdictions, alongside Visa acceptance in 160+ countries.

ether.fi scores 6.7 and is the one to look at if cashback is your priority: 3% within monthly ladders —

up to $2,000 a month then 1% to $3,000 then 0.5% on Core, higher caps on Luxe and Pinnacle — paid in ETHFI

and locked for seven days. The trade-offs are eligibility precision (a long named jurisdiction list, and the

plain warning that if your jurisdiction is not listed you cannot apply) and self-custody: deposits go to your

own Safe. ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar, and ATM, cash advances, peer-to-peer

and gambling categories are excluded from cashback. First virtual card costs $10 in some regional-pricing

countries; monthly and physical card fees are not stated.

Exa scores 6.2, just behind Nexo. It has the widest reach — 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil,

Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, plus 31 US states, with 18 ineligible countries

including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia, and spending blocked in

Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence, and Russian residents

cannot be issued a card. Fees are not stated beyond being marketed as free, and no cashback is offered; what

you get instead is Visa Signature benefits and protocol credit against collateral in a self-custody app.

The pattern worth noticing: Xplace and ether.fi charge you either an annual fee or a higher FX fee and pay

more cashback; Nexo and Exa charge less and pay less. Nexo’s distinctive position is the absence of any

standing fee combined with a cashback that only switches on above $5,000. If you hold a large balance and

already spend in euros or pounds, that is a good deal. If you do not, you are paying the same fees as Exa for

less reach and less clarity.

Who I would recommend it to

Three groups, in order of how comfortably I would say yes.

**You hold a large crypto balance in euro or pound stablecoins, you are in the EEA or UK, and you want a

clean everyday card with cashback on top.** This is the intended reader and the audience note behind my

scores. The card does exactly this without a standing fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay cover most of your

spending, and the FX fee is small where you live.

You cannot get an ordinary card, and you have accepted what that means. Nexo is custodial and subject to

the same enforcement swings that make it useful in the first place. That is a real trade, not a free win, and

you should go in knowing you are choosing convenience and access over control of your own keys.

You are comparing providers and want a second opinion. Read the alternatives above. Xplace scores higher

if you will pay an annual fee; ether.fi if cashback and self-custody matter more to you than a simple fee

structure.

And three groups I would not push it towards. Do not choose Nexo because you read that cashback is up to 13% —

the 13% is on idle funds, the cashback is a different thing, it only applies in Credit Mode, it needs more

than $5,000, and you need Gold and a large balance just to hold the plastic. Do not choose it if you need

physical metal or a card in your hand within days; delivery is up to four weeks and the metal card is not

stated at all. And do not choose it as a place to keep money you cannot afford to lose, because the custody is

the provider’s, the security features it publishes do not include a stated two-factor authentication, and the

unofficial word on cardholder insurance is no.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

The Nexo card is a payment card that spends from your Nexo account balance rather than from a bank account. It

is issued by DiPocket UAB, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, and comes in virtual and physical form. Instead

of topping up a prepaid card, you hold over 100 digital assets on the platform and the card converts and spends

them at checkout, in Debit Mode from stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx.

How does the Nexo card work in practice?

You activate a virtual card in the app once your account holds at least $50, and pay with it as you would any

card — online, in store, in Apple Pay or Google Pay, or at an ATM. The merchant receives fiat; your balance

absorbs the cost. If you order the plastic from the app’s Card tab it ships free, arrives in up to four weeks,

possibly at a local Post Office, and must be activated in the app. There is no separate card balance to fund.

Is Nexo a bank?

Not on the evidence of the card page. The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, a named entity authorised by the Bank

of Lithuania, while Nexo itself is the crypto platform behind it. The card page does not state Nexo’s operating

entity, registered country, or its MiCA or VASP licences. It is more accurate to think of Nexo as a crypto

platform with a licensed card issuer behind the card, rather than as a bank you hold an account at.

Who owns Nexo and who is behind the card?

The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, named on the card page and authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. The

ownership of Nexo itself is not something the card page addresses, and neither are its licences. What is on the

record is regulatory: a company statement of 3 June 2026 about a MiCA-compliant structure under German

oversight, and August–September 2026 checks of the ESMA register that found no Nexo-named authorised CASP,

with EEA custody and trading reportedly run through partners.

Which countries can use the Nexo card?

Officially, residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”,

with no list published. An unofficial August 2026 directory names 30 countries — including the UK, most of the

eurozone, Poland, Sweden, Croatia, Argentina and Iceland — and flags Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as

restricted. Treat that as a guide only. If your country is not named anywhere, the reliable test is whether

Identity Verification completes with an ID issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country.

Does the Nexo card require KYC?

Yes — Identity Verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European

country. Beyond that the card page says almost nothing: proof of address, minimum age, verification tiers,

processing times and rejection reasons are all not stated. EU rules are why the silence has teeth, since

customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and ID documentation, plus sanctions

screening, and an institution that cannot complete it must decline the relationship.

How do I activate the virtual card?

Activate it in the Nexo app once your account holds at least $50. The card currency is chosen at that moment

and cannot be changed later on the physical-card order screen — if you pick wrong, you have to contact Nexo.

That single decision matters more than it looks, because the FX fee is 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA, UK and

Switzerland but 2% in the rest of the world.

Is the Nexo card free?

Free to issue, and with no monthly, annual or inactivity fee. Free is not the same as costless: FX is 0.2% on

weekdays and 0.7% at weekends in the EEA/UK/CH, rising to 2% and 2.5% elsewhere, ATM withdrawals cost 2%

above your tier’s monthly allowance with a 1.99 EUR/GBP minimum, and the crypto-to-fiat swap is not stated

though an unofficial source puts it at 0.75%.

Where can I use the Nexo card?

Anywhere the network is accepted — Mastercard per an unofficial source, though the card page carries the

trademark without stating the network explicitly. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and ATM

withdrawals are available with a free monthly allowance of EUR 200/GBP 180 on Base up to EUR 2,000/GBP 1,800 on

Platinum. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. Keep a buffer: a declined authorisation can hold funds

for up to seven days (a typical period for holds).

Is the Nexo card safe, and is it worth it?

Worth it if you hold a large euro or pound stablecoin balance, live in the EEA or UK, and want a no-fee card

with some cashback. Treat the custody as the provider’s, not yours: the platform holds the keys, transfers are

irreversible, two-factor authentication is not stated on the card page, and an unofficial source reports no

cardholder insurance. Nexo itself has drawn a Trustpilot 4.4 from 18,805 reviews, with recurring complaints about

withdrawal delays, closed accounts and fees on small payments.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team