A dollar-denominated Visa that runs on stablecoins, with free issuance for the virtual card and a single 5 USD fee for the physical one

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Meru is a Visa card whose balance lives in US dollars and is funded with stablecoins. The virtual card is free, the physical card costs 5 USD to issue, and there is no monthly maintenance fee. The trade-off is a thin public footprint: the issuing bank is not named, the country list is hidden behind a footnote, and user feedback is limited to a handful of Trustpilot reviews and an App Store rating of 4.7 out of 5. This review walks through who the card suits, what it really costs, how the top-up flow works, and where the rough edges are.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Meru works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Meru earns 7.3 out of 10. It is a practical option for someone who holds USDC or USDT and wants to spend those stablecoins through a Visa card without first converting them to bank money. The card is a USD account, the fee schedule is straightforward, and the top-up network coverage is wide (USDC and USDT across ten chains, including Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, Tron, BSC and Ethereum). Against that, Meru does not publish a country list, does not name the issuing bank, and has very little public feedback — five reviews on Trustpilot scoring around 3.0, with complaints about support and account access. The score breaks down as follows.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Meru payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 8 / 10 Account openable “from anywhere in the world” per the page, but the footnote is unexplained and there is no country list
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual card free, physical 5 USD, no maintenance; payments in USD outside the US carry 1%, in other currencies 1.2%; crypto top-up 1% + 1 USD; ATM free up to 250 USD per withdrawal
Top-up options 10 / 10 USDC and USDT on ten networks, plus bank and local rails (ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, PSE, PIX, MoneyGram)
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operator R3MIT Solutions Inc. (Florida, MSB in FinCEN); the issuing bank is not named; Trustpilot shows ~3.0 from five reviews with complaints about support and being locked out; App Store 4.7 from 1.7K ratings
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa; ATM withdrawals free from Meru’s side up to 250 USD; Apple Pay and Google Pay not addressed
Total 7.3 / 10

The card fits a specific reader: someone who already holds stablecoins, wants to keep them in dollar form until the moment of payment, and is comfortable with a less-established brand. It is a weaker fit for someone who needs consumer protections, a named bank behind the card, or wallet-token support (Apple Pay or Google Pay), because none of those is confirmed.

Who will they give you the card

Meru does not publish a country list. The sign-up page says the account can be opened “from anywhere in the world”, but a footnote marks that claim without spelling it out, so the practical reading is that most countries are accepted but a short exclusions list exists somewhere. The card is “issued in the USA” and denominated in US dollars. Citizenship is not treated separately from residence in the public material.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Meru starts with a transfer to the right network

The identity check (KYC) is a single step: a photo of a valid national ID — passport, DNI or cédula — and a face check if the system asks for it. The user must be an adult. There is no statement on proof of address, no tiered verification and no published list of rejection reasons. That is a thinner KYC than a bank or a major e-money issuer would publish, and it means the limits and the underlying controls live in the back office rather than in the terms.

For a reader anywhere with a national ID, the practical question is whether the page accepts them in practice. The current state is that the public material says yes, with a footnote that the reader cannot inspect. If you are in a jurisdiction where card issuance is restricted, the first sign is usually a hard error during ID upload, not a pre-checklist — so have a backup plan.

How to get it

The flow is: download the Meru app, create an account, complete the one-step ID check, order a card. The virtual card is free; the physical Visa card costs 5 USD to issue, plus shipping “depending on the destination country” — the page does not give a number, so the app will. The card is described as an international Visa, issued in the USA, settled in USD. There is no mention of a metal version.

What is not stated: the countries the physical card is shipped to, the delivery time, and the cost of a replacement card. If those matter for you — for example, if you are ordering a card to a country with a slow or unreliable postal service — that is a question to put to support before paying the 5 USD.

The app is available on iOS (iOS 15.5 and above) with a 4.7 out of 5 rating from 1.7K ratings. The Google Play listing exists but the rating was not confirmed for this review.

What it really costs

The headline costs are simple: virtual card free, physical card 5 USD, no monthly maintenance. The conversion and FX fees are the ones that bite at the till.

Fee or limit Value
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card issuance 5 USD
Shipping By destination (amount not stated)
Monthly maintenance None
Conversion: US purchase in USD 0%
Conversion: non-US purchase in USD 1%
Conversion: non-US purchase in other currencies 1.2%
ATM withdrawal (Meru fee) 0 USD, up to 250 USD per transaction, 3 per day
Daily purchase limit 10,000 USD
ATM transaction limit 250 USD, 3 per day

Three everyday payments show how the fees apply.

Coffee in New York, paid in USD: the merchant charges in dollars, the card settles in dollars, the conversion fee is 0%. You pay only the coffee.

Dinner in Berlin, paid in EUR: the merchant sends the amount in euros, Visa converts it to dollars at its rate, and Meru adds 1.2% on top of the network conversion. On a 50 EUR bill that is roughly 0.60 EUR in fees, on top of any spread Visa itself applies.

Hotel in Tokyo, paid in JPY: same path as Berlin — local currency to dollars at the network rate, then 1.2%. The hotel may also add a foreign-card surcharge, which is the merchant’s choice and not Meru’s.

The ATM row is worth reading carefully. Meru’s own fee is 0 USD, but the ATM operator (the bank that owns the machine) can charge its own fee, and the network conversion can apply. Withdrawals are also gated behind an in-app switch: under “Cards” you must enable ATM withdrawals, then you can take up to 250 USD per transaction, three times a day. The 10,000 USD daily purchase limit is per day, not per transaction, so it is not a ceiling on a single payment.

What is not stated anywhere on the public fees page: inactivity fees, refund fees, PIN change fees, balance enquiry fees. The page links to a fee schedule that does not show amounts. Treat “no maintenance fee” as a true monthly cost claim, not as a guarantee that no edge-case fee exists.

How to top it up

Top-up is where Meru is strongest. The card accepts USDC and USDT on ten networks — Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, Tron, BSC and Ethereum — and the on-chain fees vary by chain.

Top-up method Fee
Crypto (USDC/USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad) 1% + 1 USD
Crypto (USDT on Tron) 1% + 5 USDT
Crypto (USDC on BSC) 1% + 3 USDC
Crypto (USDC on Ethereum) 1% + 10 USDC
Crypto from exchanges 1% + 1 USDC
ACH (Global / Mexico / Colombia) 2 USD (Spain 3 USD)
Wire (Global) 15 USD (Spain 25 USD)
SEPA (Global / Colombia) 2 USD (Spain 3 USD)
SPEI 2 USD
PSE 0.30% + 0.3 USD
Credit card via Stripe 5.40% + 1 USD
MoneyGram 0.5 USD
PIX 0

A few things to know before you transfer. The fee you will pay is shown in the app just before you confirm, so the table above is a guide, not a substitute for that screen. The minimum top-up amount is not stated. And because crypto transfers are irreversible, sending on the wrong network — for example, USDT on Tron to an address that expects Polygon — can mean the funds are lost or need manual support intervention with no guarantee of recovery. The chain you choose has to match the chain shown in the app, and you need to keep a little of the native gas token in the sending wallet (ETH for Ethereum and most EVM chains, TRX for Tron, plus a small amount of the network’s resource) for the transaction to go through.

For dollar-cost-averaging savers, the cheap path is PIX if you are in Brazil, PSE if you are in Colombia, and on-chain USDC on a low-fee chain otherwise. The card’s balance is held in USD, so any non-USD stablecoin transfer has to be the matching asset; the app does not auto-convert.

Withdrawing money from Meru to a bank or wallet is the mirror of the deposit: ACH and SEPA cost 0.75% + 1.5 USD, wire 0.75% + 25 USD, Swift 0.4% + 15 USD, USDC/USDT on Polygon or Stellar 1% + 1 USD, USDT on Tron 1.5% + 5 USDC, PIX 0, MoneyGram 0.5 USD. To close the account, the steps in the terms are: withdraw the balance, notify Meru, uninstall the app.

Paying with it every day

The card works at any merchant that takes Visa, online or in person. The blocked categories on virtual cards are specific: betting platforms, adult sites and dating apps, virtual wallets, streaming and video game platforms (the block is enforced by geolocation, so it varies by where you are). Named merchants that are restricted include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli. Those limits come from the issuing bank and from the merchants themselves — they are policy choices, not laws.

What is not stated: whether the physical card is restricted in the same way as the virtual card, and whether Apple Pay or Google Pay work. The card page does not mention either wallet, so the safe assumption is that tokenisation into a phone wallet is not supported at this time. If you rely on paying with a phone at the till, that is a gap.

There is no cashback programme published. The page refers to “discounts and special promotions at selected merchants” without naming any of them or explaining how to find them. Treat that as a marketing line, not an income stream, until specific offers appear in the app.

Disputes go through in-app chat or to [email protected] within 30 calendar days of the transaction, and are reviewed for up to 15 business days. There is a 30 USD fee per disputed transaction, deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds, and a successful dispute is not guaranteed. Chargebacks are not explicitly addressed in the terms, which is itself a signal: the issuer treats disputes on a case-by-case basis.

The app itself scores well: 4.7 out of 5 on the App Store from 1.7K ratings. The Google Play rating was not read for this review.

What can go wrong

The official incident list is empty — no regulator action, no fine, no licence change was found. The risk surface lives elsewhere.

The company behind Meru is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN. The issuing bank is not named in the public material. That is a real concern for a reader who treats the bank as the ultimate counterparty: in a programme closure, the bank is the one that runs the wind-down, and “we do not know who they are” makes it harder to read the risk. The terms say the app only displays the user’s balance and that Meru “does not administer digital assets on the user’s behalf” — in other words, the wallet is custodial, but the language is careful to push the custodial role towards whoever actually holds the funds.

The user feedback is thin. Trustpilot shows 5 reviews of getmeru.app, with an overall score of 3.0, and the company has not invited reviews. The complaints cluster into patterns: a third-party transfer (one user mentions Hotmart) was not credited and then Meru stopped accepting third-party payments; a rejected withdrawal was still debited and support was unresponsive; and one user could not open the app for about a day and reached out via Instagram. Two one-star reviews accuse the company of fraud without giving detail. A separate listing for the company shows 39 reviews, with one 1-star from 20 June 2025 about being locked out for over a week and 20 support tickets closed unresolved. App Store reviews echo the same themes: slow support, an unresolved withdrawal, and difficulty closing an account. No Reddit threads were found.

The security controls in the app are the usual: freeze and unfreeze the card, set spending limits, real-time notifications, and an in-app switch to enable ATM withdrawals. The terms do not address insurance, deposit protection, or two-factor authentication specifically. The App Store description claims funds are “100% protected”, but the same description does not link to a policy or a regulator — read it as marketing language, not a guarantee.

Support is in-app chat, with an icon at the top right of the app. The help centre is in Spanish. Hours and a published email address are not given. If your Spanish is limited and the support flow is fully in Spanish, that is a practical limit worth knowing before you sign up.

A few category-level risks are worth carrying into the decision. Crypto transfers are irreversible, so a deposit to the wrong network or address can be lost. The card balance is held by an issuer you cannot name, so the funds are exposed to that issuer’s solvency. And if the programme is shut down — Visa has done this before with other crypto cards — the notice period, the cut-off for new loads, and the deadline for spending are all set by the issuer, not by you. The category-level track record on programme closures is not reassuring: WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, and FTX had its card programme wound down in November 2022.

What to take instead

If Meru’s gaps are dealbreakers for you — the unnamed bank, the lack of wallet tokenisation, the thin public feedback — three alternatives are worth comparing. None is a perfect substitute, but each fixes a specific weakness.

RedotPay (6.9 / 10) is the closer cousin: a Visa debit card with USD and HKD balances, on-chain crypto deposits, and a published country list. Two official lists word the rule differently. The KYC list names places where identity verification is blocked, and the card-issuance list (dated 28 August 2026) adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey, where neither virtual nor physical cards are available. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia are on both lists; the United States is on the KYC list. The card is more expensive to issue: 10 USD for a virtual card, 100 USD for a physical card, and replacements start at 5 USD. The transaction fee is 1% on the crypto conversion, with small-payment and declined-transaction surcharges after a free monthly allowance, and a paid tier called RedotPay Pro at 12.90 USD per month. The welcome reward is 5 USD but cannot be used to pay the issuance fee. The card is the better fit if you want published country rules and a wider range of BINs; it is the worse fit if the 100 USD physical card fee is a barrier.

Bitpanda (6.5 / 10) is the European option. A verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country are required, and users verified through “Bankident” cannot order the card. The card is a physical Visa debit in euros, one active card at a time, with the first shipment free and a 5.90 EUR reissue (the FAQ quotes 9.90 EUR for lost or stolen cards). Non-euro spending has a 0% FX fee from Bitpanda’s side, but Visa’s own mark-up applies, and the crypto conversion spread is not stated — assets are auto-converted to euros on spending. The card is the better fit if you live in the euro area and want an established brand; it is the worse fit if you live outside the EEA or hold assets in dollars.

Wirex (6.7 / 10) is the multi-region option. Availability of physical and virtual cards depends on the region, and fees are published for the UK, the EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”. The home page claims service in 130+ countries, but Singapore-specific terms say cash withdrawals are not permitted in Singapore, and transactions with “Prohibited Countries” (Iran, Cuba, Syria, “and others”) are barred. Card issuance is free in the listed regions; the metal card is 45 GBP on the UK page and “only 45 EUR” for delivery elsewhere. The rewards programme is the draw: cryptoback in WXT at 0.5% on the standard tier, 3% on Premium, and up to 8% on Elite, with the usual exclusions (ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling, refunds, and a long list of merchant category codes). The card is the better fit if you want rewards and live in a supported region; it is the worse fit if Singapore is your home and you need ATM access.

Across the three alternatives, the pattern is clear: the more established the brand, the more friction there is in issuance, and the more published the country rules, the more expensive or restrictive the card. Meru’s value is in being cheap and quiet, not in being transparent.

Who I would recommend it to

Meru is the right card for a narrow reader. You hold USDC or USDT in your own wallet, you want to keep that exposure until the moment you pay, and you are comfortable with a Visa card issued by a bank you cannot name. You are an adult with a national ID — a passport, DNI or cédula — and you are happy to top up on-chain through the app. You are not relying on Apple Pay or Google Pay, and you are not expecting cashback. The fee schedule is fine if most of your spending is in dollars; if you are paying in euros or yen, the 1.2% FX fee is the real cost of the card.

It is the wrong card if you want a named bank on the back of the card, if you want published country and citizenship rules, if you need a strong dispute or chargeback process, or if you want your funds segregated under an e-money institution’s safeguarding rules. It is also the wrong card if your support language is English and the help centre is in Spanish, or if a 5 USD physical card fee is a psychological barrier but a 10 USD or 100 USD fee is not.

For a first-time crypto card user, Meru is not the place to start. The combination of an unnamed issuer, a thin public track record and a Spanish-only help centre means there is not much to lean on if something goes wrong. For an experienced stablecoin user who knows how to manage gas, who reads the in-app fee screen before confirming, and who keeps the bulk of the balance in self-custody while parking only what they will spend on the card, Meru is a sensible second card in a small wallet.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Meru card?

The Meru card is a Visa debit card whose balance is held in US dollars. The virtual card is free; the physical card costs 5 USD to issue, plus shipping. The card is funded with USDC or USDT on ten blockchain networks, with bank and local rails (ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, PSE, PIX, MoneyGram) also supported.

How does the Meru card work?

The user opens an account in the Meru app, completes a one-step identity check with a national ID and a face photo, and orders a virtual or physical card. The card balance is a USD balance, and crypto top-ups are converted at the rate shown in the app before being credited. Payments are processed by Visa, with the conversion and FX fees set by Meru on top of the network conversion.

Is Meru a bank?

No. The operator is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN. The issuing bank is not named in the public material, which means the card is a programme of an undisclosed bank, run by a Florida MSB, with the crypto brand Meru on the front.

Who owns Meru?

The brand “Meru” and the app are run by R3MIT Solutions Inc., based in Florida. The footer of the page reads “© 2026 Meru”. The owning shareholders and the management team are not published.

Is the Meru card available in my country?

The public material says the account can be opened “from anywhere in the world”, with a footnote that is not explained. There is no published country list. The card is issued in the USA, in US dollars, and is shipped to “the destination country” without a published list. The practical check is to start the sign-up in the app and see whether the ID upload is accepted.

Can I use the Meru card in my country?

The card works at any merchant that takes Visa, in any country where Visa is accepted. The blocked categories on virtual cards (betting, adult, dating, virtual wallets, streaming, video games) are enforced by geolocation, so the practical scope varies by where you are. Named merchants that are restricted include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli.

How do I get a Meru card?

Download the Meru app from the App Store or Google Play, create an account, complete the one-step ID check with a national ID (passport, DNI or cédula) and a face photo if asked, and order a virtual or physical card. The virtual card is free; the physical card costs 5 USD plus shipping.

Does the Meru card require KYC?

Yes. The check is a photo of a valid national ID and a face check if the system asks. The user must be an adult. The terms do not list tiered verification, processing time or rejection reasons, so the practical backstop is the app’s own error messages during the ID upload step.

How do I top up the Meru card?

Open the app, choose Top Up, pick a network and asset (USDC or USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, Tron, BSC or Ethereum), and send from your wallet. The fee is shown in the app before you confirm. Bank rails (ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, PSE, PIX, MoneyGram) and credit card top-ups via Stripe are also available, with their own fees.

How do I withdraw money from Meru?

In the app, choose Withdraw and pick a rail: ACH, SEPA, wire, Swift, PIX, MoneyGram, or USDC/USDT on Polygon, Stellar or Tron (for USDT). The fees and minimums are shown before you confirm. To close the account, the steps in the terms are: withdraw the balance, notify Meru, then uninstall the app.

Is the Meru card free?

The virtual card is free and there is no monthly maintenance fee. The physical card costs 5 USD to issue, plus shipping by destination. The conversion fees (1% on non-US USD payments, 1.2% on non-USD payments) and the crypto top-up fee (1% + 1 USD on most chains) are the running costs of the card.

How do I add the Meru card to Apple Wallet?

The public material does not say. The card page does not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, so the safe assumption at the time of writing is that tokenisation into a phone wallet is not supported. If a wallet integration is published later, it will appear in the app first.

Where can I use the Meru card?

Anywhere that takes Visa. The merchant restrictions (betting, adult, dating, virtual wallets, streaming, video games, named merchants such as Binance and PayPal) apply to the virtual card. The physical card’s restrictions are not separately published.

Is the Meru card safe?

The card is a Visa issued under a programme whose bank is not named, run by a Florida MSB. The app supports freeze and unfreeze, spending limits, real-time notifications, and an in-app switch for ATM withdrawals. The terms do not address insurance, deposit protection or two-factor authentication specifically. The App Store description claims funds are “100% protected” without linking to a policy; treat that as marketing language.

How do I delete my Meru account?

Withdraw the balance through the app, contact Meru to notify them, and uninstall the app. The terms describe that as the closure flow. Refund or fee details for the remaining balance, if any, are not specified in the public material.

Is the Meru card worth it?

For a reader who already holds USDC or USDT and wants to spend stablecoins through a Visa, Meru is a low-cost option: free virtual card, 5 USD physical card, no monthly fee, ten networks for crypto top-up. The 7.3 out of 10 reflects a thin public footprint and an unnamed issuing bank. It is worth it as a second card in a small wallet; it is not the place to start if the card is your only fiat on-ramp.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team