A close look at the Kemy crypto card: what it costs, who can get it, and where it falls short
The Kemy card is a payment card tied to a crypto balance, available as unlimited virtual cards and one physical Mastercard. It accepts USDT and USDC as its main funding currencies, plus Bitcoin, Ethereum and Solana through an on/off ramp, and it works in 190+ countries. On paper the proposition is straightforward: load stablecoins, spend anywhere cards are taken. In practice, the fee structure is steep, the deposit fee on the main account is confusingly presented in two different numbers on the same pricing page, and the issuing bank is never named. This review walks through what I found in the card’s public terms, the pricing page and FAQ, and what third-party reviewers have said, so you can decide whether it fits your situation.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Kemy earns 6.0 out of 10. It is unusually generous on virtual cards (unlimited, with no monthly cap on the virtual card balance) and it works in a very wide list of countries. The reason the score sits in the middle rather than the high end is that the everyday cost of using it is heavy. The virtual card carries a $15 issuance fee, a $2 monthly fee, a 3.5% + $1 transaction fee on every payment and a $1.50 top-up fee below $100, which becomes 1.25% above that. The physical card is even more expensive: $250 to issue, $10 a month, with the same transaction and top-up structure. There is no multi-currency wallet and no cashback. The card brand itself is also presented as a fintech programme manager, not a bank, with issuing handled by unnamed banking partners.

The user Kemy is best suited to is someone who already lives outside the traditional banking system, holds stablecoins and wants the convenience of a payment card rather than a way to save on payments. If you have access to an ordinary debit card or a mainstream crypto card from a regulated electronic money institution, the math rarely works in Kemy’s favour. If you do not, and you only need a virtual card for online subscriptions, the unlimited virtual cards at $15 each (valid three years) are probably the most defensible part of the offer.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | “190+ countries”; restrictions are checked at sign-up rather than published |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | High issuance, monthly and transaction fees; 3.5% + $1 on each payment |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL and fiat via mobile money and virtual accounts |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | FinCEN-registered MSB, issuing bank not disclosed, mixed third-party reviews |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, ATM withdrawals, unlimited virtual cards |
| Total | 6.0 / 10 |
The score for “Who can get it” is high because of the 190+ country claim and because the page does not list a long blocklist. “Cost” is low because every line item is large for what the card delivers. “Top-up options” is in the middle: the main networks are not named, which is a real practical risk. “Reliability and complaints” sits at 4 because the issuing bank is not disclosed and the third-party picture is thin, not because of a specific scandal. “Everyday use” is high because the card works with the major mobile wallets, supports contactless, and offers an unlimited number of virtual cards.
Who will give you the card
Kemy states that the card is available in 190+ countries and that “a few restrictions apply”. The actual list is not published; eligibility is checked at sign-up. The terms also state that the service is operated by a US-incorporated company registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business, and that cards are issued by “our authorized banking partners” whose names are not disclosed on the public pages.
What that means for you in practice is that the broad availability claim is real, but it is not a guarantee. If you live in a heavily sanctioned jurisdiction or a country whose banks do not work with the unnamed issuer, the application will be refused later, after you have already shared documents. I would treat the country list as a starting point, not a final answer, and check with support before paying the issuance fee.
Identity checks are handled through Sumsub, with Veriff also named as a provider, and the company says the process takes two minutes on a phone. The exact documents are not specified, and there is no published tier system: Kemy does not describe KYC levels in the way many European-licensed crypto card issuers do, although it does note that limits may change with the KYC level reached. US persons are subject to US law and US courts in the terms, which is consistent with the FinCEN registration.
How to get it
Sign-up is web-based; there is no native iOS or Android app on the official site, only a web dashboard and a Telegram bot. You create an account, complete KYC through Sumsub or Veriff, and then choose between virtual and physical cards. The virtual card costs $15 and is valid for three years, with no limit on the number of cards you can hold. The physical card is a contactless Mastercard, $250 to issue, one per user, valid for three years, and ships within 5 to 15 business days depending on country. DHL Express is included in the $250 price, so there is no separate shipping fee.
The mockups on the official site show Visa branding on virtual cards and Mastercard on the physical card, but the card’s own materials describe both Visa and Mastercard as “accepted globally” for spending. The card currency itself is not stated, and amounts are presented in US dollars. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, which means MCC 7995 (gambling) and other restricted categories are not confirmed either way; you would only know by trying.
One practical detail worth noticing: the business pricing page lists a proof-of-address check at $1.80, which suggests the address check is at least sometimes required even for consumer onboarding, even though the marketing material describes a two-minute flow.
What it really costs: fees and everyday payments
Kemy’s pricing page is the part of the offer you should read most carefully, because the headline numbers are not the only ones that matter. I have copied them as they appear on the official site, without rounding, and I have flagged where the page itself disagrees with itself.

| Fee or limit | Virtual card | Physical card |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | $15 (valid 3 years) | $250 (valid 3 years, 1 per user) |
| Monthly fee | $2 | $10 |
| Top-up fee (under $100) | $1.50 flat | $1.50 flat |
| Top-up fee ($100 and above) | 1.25% (min $5) | 1.25% (min $10) |
| Transaction fee | 3.5% + $1 | 3.5% + $1 |
| Failed transaction | $0.80 | $0.80 |
| FX fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Main-account deposit fee (crypto/mobile money) | 8% in summary, 5% in deposits section | 8% in summary, 5% in deposits section |
| ATM withdrawal fee | Not applicable (virtual) | Not stated |
| Daily ATM limit | Not applicable | $500 |
| Monthly ATM limit | Not applicable | $15,000 |
| Balance cap | $100,000 | $400,000 |
| Per-transaction spend | $10,000 | $25,000 |
| Daily spend | Not stated | $50,000 |
The single most important number is the 3.5% + $1 transaction fee. Every time you tap to pay, you lose 3.5% of the amount and another dollar. The transaction fee applies to all payments, including ones in the card’s settlement currency, and FX is not separately listed, so if you pay in a foreign currency you should expect a spread on top.
To see how this plays out in real life, three everyday payments look like this with the virtual card:
- A $4 coffee. You pay $5.14 in real terms: $4 + 3.5% ($0.14) + $1 fee. The dollar fee is the largest component on small purchases, which is why this card is the wrong tool for everyday tap-to-pay.
- A $50 supermarket shop. You pay $52.75: $50 + $1.75 + $1.
- A $100 online subscription. You pay $104.50: $100 + $3.50 + $1.
On the physical card, the same transaction fees apply, but you also have a $10 monthly fee to absorb, which only becomes worthwhile if you spend several thousand dollars a month.
The top-up fee is the second trap. Every time you load the card you pay $1.50 below $100 or 1.25% above. Loading small amounts frequently is expensive because of the flat $1.50 fee, which takes a larger percentage of your top-up.
The main-account deposit fee is the third. To move money from your crypto wallet to your Kemy account (as distinct from topping up the card), the pricing summary and the Pricing FAQ both say 8%, but the deposits section of the same page says 5%. Kemy has not resolved this on its public pages, so treat the higher figure (8%) as the safer estimate. This is the fee that matters most if you plan to convert and hold a balance rather than load the card from a stablecoin transfer.
There is no cashback anywhere on the card’s site. For a $250-a-year virtual card with monthly fees, that is a meaningful gap.
A practical note: the FAQ admits that external crypto withdrawals can carry “variable network and admin fees”, and there is no published rate card for those. Bank payouts of $25 to $2,499 per transfer to US or European accounts are supported, but the fee for those is not listed either.
How to top it up
Funding is where the card is at its most useful, and also where the documentation is thinnest. The card supports USDT and USDC “on the main networks”, plus BTC, ETH and SOL through an on/off ramp, and fiat through mobile money and virtual bank accounts. The specific chains are not named on the public pages, which is a real risk: if you send USDT on a network Kemy does not support, blockchain transfers are irreversible and the FAQ warns that recovery is at the company’s discretion. Before you send any non-trivial amount, the safe move is to ask support which networks are currently accepted, and to send a small test amount first.
If you prefer fiat, mobile money and virtual bank accounts let you fund without touching crypto, though they will still pass through the main-account deposit fee of 8% (or 5%, depending on which line of the pricing page you trust). Account creation itself is free.
Crypto withdrawals from Kemy to an external wallet are supported on any chain the platform offers, with variable network and admin fees. Bank payouts of $25 to $2,499 per transfer to US and European accounts are also possible, with fees not stated. The terms allow Kemy to terminate the relationship with one month’s notice and to close the account after 18 months of non-use, but they do not say what happens to a stored balance in that case, and you cannot export stored data through the dashboard.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is the strongest part of the offer. The physical card supports contactless payments through Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and works at any merchant that takes Mastercard, which is the wider of the two major networks. Online, the card works at any site that accepts Visa or Mastercard. The virtual card, shown with Visa branding on Kemy’s mockups, is intended for online and subscription use, with no stated limit on how many you can hold.
ATM withdrawals are supported on the physical card up to $500 a day and $15,000 a month, with no fee disclosed. In practice, the ATM operator’s own surcharge still applies on top.
For online merchants, the card is bound to behave like a prepaid card: you load a balance, then spend down to it. Because it is prepaid, it cannot overdraw, and most banks’ standard debit protections (such as the EU’s strong customer authentication under PSD2) do not apply in the same way. The official disputes clause requires you to report any claim in writing within two months of discovery, and a separate clause says that payments are non-refundable because the service activates immediately. There is no chargeback procedure addressed, and 3-D Secure is not mentioned, although a third-party report flagged one user complaining about its absence. If you are paying a stranger or a small unregulated site, the protections look thin.
There is no native mobile app, only a web dashboard and a Telegram bot. The bot is also one of the support channels, alongside a Telegram channel, X, the on-site FAQ and an email address (obfuscated on the site). The interface is translated into roughly 30 languages, which is helpful but not the same as 24/7 support in your own language. The site claims 24/7 customer support without naming a phone line.
What can go wrong
The card’s own terms make clear that Kemy is not a bank. It is a fintech company, registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN in the United States, and the cards themselves are issued by unnamed “authorized banking partners” under Visa U.S.A. and Mastercard International licences. Kemy describes its funds as held “in segregated accounts with regulated institutions” and says it carries out regular audits, but the custody model itself is not stated, no insurance is mentioned, and the company does not publish a public SOC 2 or equivalent report.
On security, the company lists 2FA, device biometric login, instant card freeze and unfreeze, real-time AML transaction monitoring, and AES-256 encryption of card data. There is no mention of deposit insurance or a guarantee scheme; in the EU, comparable e-money institutions are usually supervised by a national authority and the funds are safeguarded but not covered by deposit guarantee, so you should not expect FSCS or similar cover here.
A second concern is the deposit-fee discrepancy I noted in the costs section. The official pricing summary and Pricing FAQ say 8%, the deposits section says 5%. This is the kind of inconsistency that ends up biting individual users when a fee is applied: the higher of the two numbers is what you should plan for.
Third, the third-party picture is thin. An aggregator (cryptocards.so) reports a Trustpilot score of 2.5/5 from four reviews, mentioning delayed applications, failed withdrawals, unanswered support, scam warnings and a lack of 3-D Secure, alongside praise for fast sign-up. CryptoSlate rates the product 3.9 (“Poor”), flagging the 8% deposit deduction, the lack of a named issuing bank, undisclosed owners and inconsistent KYC claims (“No KYC” in one place, full eKYC in another). The official FAQ itself admits that external crypto withdrawals can carry variable network and admin fees, with no schedule. I could not find a dedicated Kemy Trustpilot page or substantive Reddit threads in a fresh search on 2026-10-20, so treat the small-sample aggregator figures as a warning sign rather than a settled judgement.
Fourth, in any dispute the terms point to US law and US courts, and they state that payments are non-refundable because the service activates immediately. If you live outside the US, your practical ability to enforce a claim is much weaker than it would be with a card issued in your own country under local payment-services law.
Finally, the card programme itself depends on the unnamed issuing bank and on Visa and Mastercard licences. Card networks have shut down programmes before, most notably the 2018 Visa suspension of WaveCrest in Europe, and Visa’s November 2022 termination of its global agreements with FTX, after which the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Programmes that rely on a single unnamed banking partner carry that counterparty risk on top of the card brand’s own risk.
What to take instead
If Kemy’s fee structure puts you off, three comparable cards are worth a look. They are not perfect substitutes; each has its own rough edges, which I have noted briefly.
- Bitrefill (6.8 / 10). A virtual and physical Visa card, with the card page describing it as free through the app. Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and Mastercard are listed under “Buy with”; SEPA transfers are also supported. Cashback is 2% in total with no cap, split 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The inactivity fee kicks in after 12 months without spending or cash-out, and the country list is not stated, so eligibility is checked at sign-up.
- UPay (6.1 / 10). Claims support in 180+ countries, with personal and business cards in virtual and physical form, and a wallet that accepts BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC. Card payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and other currencies depending on the merchant. Costs, fees and cashback are not stated on the public card page, so you would have to ask support. KYC requires an ID document issued by the same country as the user, which is a meaningful constraint if you live abroad.
- Tevau (6.0 / 10). Claims “200+ countries” with availability that “varies by region”, and a Visa card range that includes Virtual, Plastic, Metal and 24K Gold tiers. Pricing reported by an independent information site (which states it is not Tevau itself) is $20 for Virtual, $100 for Plastic, $199 for Metal and $499 for 24K Gold (these figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card), with USDT funding and a 1% fee to move USDT to the card balance. Cashback is not mentioned, and FX is described as an unquantified spread on overseas spending. The main-account network is not named; sending on the wrong network is reported as unrecoverable.
If you mainly need a card for online subscriptions, Bitrefill’s free card and 2% cashback make it the most competitive alternative, provided your country is on its (unstated) eligibility list. If you need a card in the Middle East, UPay’s AED settlement currency is a useful feature. If you want a metal or gold card, Tevau is the only one of the three that offers one.
Who I would recommend it to
I would consider Kemy if you fall into one of two specific situations. The first is that you live outside the traditional banking system, hold stablecoins, and need a payment card more than you need to save money on payments. In that case the unlimited virtual cards at $15 each, valid three years, give you a long tail of disposable card numbers for online subscriptions. The second is that you need a high number of separate virtual cards on a single account, for example to compartmentalise spending across projects, clients or family members, and the per-card cost of mainstream alternatives adds up.
I would not recommend Kemy if you have a working bank account and a mainstream crypto card available, if you mainly pay in physical stores for small amounts (the $1 transaction fee plus 3.5% is punishing on a coffee), if you rely on cashback to offset annual fees, or if you want a regulated electronic money institution with named supervision and a published safeguarding regime. I would also not recommend sending a large top-up without first confirming with support which networks are currently accepted, because the public pages do not name them.
The honest summary is that Kemy is a real product, with a real licence registration and real card-network acceptance, but it is also a product whose pricing is high, whose deposit-fee page is internally inconsistent, and whose issuing bank is not disclosed. The 6.0 reflects a card that works, and works in many countries, while still leaving enough rough edges that I would not call it a default choice.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kemy card?
The Kemy card is a payment card, available as unlimited virtual cards and one physical Mastercard, that is funded from a crypto balance on the Kemy platform. You can load USDT and USDC directly, and Bitcoin, Ethereum and Solana through an on/off ramp, and then spend the balance at any merchant that accepts Visa or Mastercard.
Is Kemy a bank?
No. Kemy describes itself as a fintech company, not a bank. It is registered with FinCEN in the United States as a Money Services Business, and the cards themselves are issued by unnamed “authorized banking partners” under Visa U.S.A. and Mastercard International licences.
Which countries is the Kemy card available in?
Kemy states that the card is available in 190+ countries and that “a few restrictions apply”. The full list of restricted countries is not published; eligibility is checked at sign-up, and US persons are subject to US law and US courts under the terms.
How do I apply for the Kemy card?
Sign-up is on the Kemy website. You create an account, complete identity verification through Sumsub (Veriff is also named), and then order either a virtual card ($15, unlimited) or a physical Mastercard ($250, one per user). There is no native iOS or Android app, only a web dashboard and a Telegram bot.
Does the Kemy card require KYC?
Yes. The card requires KYC through Sumsub or Veriff, and the company says the process takes two minutes on a phone. The exact documents are not specified, and there is no published tier system, although Kemy notes that limits may change with the KYC level reached.
How do I top up the Kemy card?
You can top up with USDT and USDC on the main networks, with Bitcoin, Ethereum and Solana through an on/off ramp, and with fiat through mobile money and virtual bank accounts. The top-up fee is $1.50 below $100 and 1.25% above $100 (minimum $5 for the virtual card, $10 for the physical card).
How do I add the Kemy card to Apple Wallet?
The physical Mastercard supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. You add it through the standard wallet flow on your phone. The virtual card does not have a PAN of its kind in the same way, since it is generated for online use.
Is the Kemy card free?
No. The virtual card costs $15 to issue and $2 a month; the physical card costs $250 to issue and $10 a month. On top of those, you pay a 3.5% + $1 transaction fee on every payment, a top-up fee on every load, and either 5% or 8% (the official page is inconsistent) to deposit into the main account. There is no cashback.
Is the Kemy card safe?
Kemy lists 2FA, biometric login, instant card freeze, real-time AML monitoring and AES-256 card data encryption. The company is registered with FinCEN as an MSB, and says funds are held in segregated accounts with regular audits, but it does not name an issuing bank, does not describe its custody model in detail, and does not mention deposit insurance. Treat it as a custodial product with the usual counterparty risk.
How do I delete my Kemy account?
The terms allow Kemy to terminate the relationship with one month’s notice and to close the account after 18 months of non-use, but the public pages do not describe a user-initiated self-service deletion flow, and they state that exporting stored data is not possible through the dashboard. In practice you would write to support and ask, and you would want to withdraw any remaining balance first.
Virtual cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
