Cryptomus virtual card, reviewed from the outside

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Cryptomus is a payment platform that, among other things, lets you pay a merchant from a crypto balance through a virtual Visa or Mastercard. The card is the headline feature on Cryptomus’s own product page, and the audience it speaks to is the person who already holds stablecoins — mostly USDT — and wants a card number to spend them with. The platform is registered as a payment service rather than a bank, and the company behind it, the issuer of the card, and even the licence that backs the programme are not named in the public pages. That matters, because the same person who finds the card useful may also be the one most exposed when those gaps become practical problems.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Cryptomus works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

My overall score is 4.7 out of 10. That is a poor mark by the standards of mainstream payment cards, but it is not a flat rejection. Cryptomus fills a specific gap: it gives a virtual card number to someone in a country where a regular Visa or Mastercard is hard to get, or where banking infrastructure is patchy, and it lets that person pay online from a USDT or USDC balance without first going through a fiat exchange. If that is your situation, the card can do the job for online purchases. If you have a normal bank card, or if you care about the card issuer, the licence and the safety net behind your balance, there is little here that another provider does not do better.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cryptomus payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 8 / 10 Available in “most countries worldwide”, with the usual warning that local regulation can exclude a few.
Cost 3 / 10 $4 to issue, a 3.2% top-up fee, and the rest of the fee schedule is thin or only confirmed by third parties.
Top-up options 5 / 10 USDT and USDC for now; networks not published and the supported list is small.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer and company not named publicly, Trustpilot 2.4/5, public reports of deactivated cards, refund refusals and AML holds.
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Visa/Mastercard only, NFC phone pay mentioned, no physical card, no ATM.
Total 4.7 / 10

The audience note that ties this score together is the kind of person the card is built for: someone who already pays for things online with USDT and wants a card number rather than another on-chain transfer. For that reader, the card is genuinely useful, and the score is closer to a 6 than a 4. The reason the total sits at 4.7 is that the same reader is also the one who has the most to lose when the issuing bank, the regulator or the company itself becomes the bottleneck.

Who will they give you the card

Cryptomus writes that the card is available in “most countries worldwide” and warns that local regulation can restrict access in some places. The public pages do not publish a country list, and they do not say whether the gate is your country of residence, your citizenship, or both. That is the first thing to check before you start the sign-up: if you live in one country and hold a passport from another, the platform’s eligibility screen is the only way to find out whether you qualify. Country availability can change without a long warning period, and what was accepted last month can be closed this month.

What the platform does spell out is that you must register and pass KYC before any card is issued. The exact documents — passport, national ID, proof of address, the age floor — are not listed. The official answer is simply “pass KYC”. In practice, that means the same KYC the rest of Cryptomus uses: identity verification against the document your country issues. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions lists and issuer risk policy are usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country you live in. If you cannot complete the check, the platform is required to refuse the relationship rather than let you fund and spend.

If the headline “most countries” applies to you, the gating question is the KYC outcome, not geography. People whose documents are in order get a card within minutes. People whose documents are not — wrong country of issue, expired ID, address mismatch — do not, and the support queue is the only path forward.

How to get it

You start on the Cryptomus site or in the app, create an account, and finish the KYC step before you can order a card. That is the full official description. There is no separate card application form, no waiting list and no underwriter. Once the account is verified, you pick a card type from the page (the page says “Choose a card that fits your needs” but does not name the tiers), pay the issuance fee, and receive a virtual card in roughly five minutes. The card number is shown in the app immediately, and the page says it “works immediately after activation”.

There is no physical card. There is no delivery step, no courier and no activation by post. The card is a number on a screen, with a CVV and an expiry, and you use it at any merchant that accepts Visa or Mastercard online. The cards page mentions NFC phone payment; whether that means tokenised Apple Pay and Google Pay or a more limited in-app tap-to-pay is not stated. Third-party product pages say Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, but the official Cryptomus pages mention only NFC payment with the phone.

The first thing to check is the activation message in the app. If the card is shown as ready to use, it is ready. If activation asks for an extra step, do that step before you try to pay.

What it really costs

The cost picture is uneven, because some numbers are public and others are only confirmed by third-party listings, and the two sets do not always agree. The headline fees are:

Fee or limit Amount Notes
Card issuance $4 One-time, charged on issue.
Monthly fee not stated Some fees depend on the card type chosen.
Top-up fee 3.2% Charged on the value loaded.
Conversion at top-up “at the market rate at top-up” Crypto is converted to fiat when you load.
Payment / conversion fee “may vary” No figure published.
FX fee not stated (unofficial: 3.9%) One third-party listing quotes 3.9%.
ATM withdrawal not stated (unofficial: not available, since virtual only) One source says unavailable, another says “unlimited”.
Daily spending limit not stated (unofficial: $10,000) Unofficial.
Monthly spending limit not stated (unofficial: $25,000) Unofficial.

Three things make the costs section worth reading carefully. The first is that the top-up fee is a flat percentage on what you load, and the conversion happens at the moment of top-up, not at the moment of payment. That means a price you see on a shop page is paid at the rate that was set when you loaded the card, not the rate at the time the merchant captures the payment. For a volatile pair, the difference matters. The second is the official caveat that “payment/conversion fees may vary”, with no number behind it, so the only honest thing to do is assume there is a cost there in addition to the 3.2% on load. The third is that the unofficial FX fee (3.9%) is higher than the top-up fee, and there is no official confirmation either way. If you pay in a currency other than the card’s base, the bill is likely to be larger than the table suggests.

A few everyday payments make the picture concrete.

The points to check first are: which card currencies exist (the page mentions multi-currency but does not name them), whether the card you choose is the dollar one or the euro one, and whether the merchant you plan to use prices in a currency that matches the card’s base. If the card is a USD card and the merchant charges in EUR, you are paying two spreads, not one.

Top up: how to fund the card

The top-up side is simple on the surface. Cryptomus lists USDT and USDC as the supported coins, and says the list may grow. Networks are not specified on the public pages, which is the part that hurts in practice: USDT and USDC exist on a dozen blockchains with different addresses, and sending to the wrong one is the kind of mistake that does not get a refund.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cryptomus starts with a transfer to the right network

The mechanic is a standard stablecoin transfer to a Cryptomus-controlled wallet, with the value converted to fiat at the market rate at the moment of top-up, and a 3.2% fee taken on the way in. The minimum top-up is not published. Fiat top-up — paying the card with a bank transfer or a debit card instead of crypto — is not stated as an option on the card pages. Withdrawal, in the sense of moving the card balance back to crypto or to a bank account, is not described either. The “How to top it up” section in the official help is thin compared with the top-up section itself.

For someone who already lives in USDT or USDC, the flow is: pick the card, click top up, send the stablecoin to the address shown, wait for the network confirmations, and see the fiat balance on the card. For someone new to crypto, the missing pieces (network, minimum, refund path) are exactly the places where the next support ticket lives.

The points to check first are: which network the deposit address is for (ask support if the page does not say), whether your wallet lets you pick the matching network, and whether the receiving address accepts the same chain your wallet will send on. USDC on Tron is no longer supported by Circle, so a deposit described as “USDC” that arrives on a TRC-20 address is a problem the user has to resolve themselves.

Paying with it every day

The card is a virtual Visa or Mastercard, so the everyday case is online checkout. The cards page mentions “10+ BINs” and multi-currency, which means the platform rotates the card numbers across several bank identification numbers to keep them working with merchants that block specific BINs. The page also mentions NFC phone payment, which is what the cards page calls contactless pay from the phone, and third-party listings extend that to Apple Pay and Google Pay. There is no physical card, so there is no ATM, no chip-and-PIN shop payment in a meaningful sense, and no swipe fallback.

The 3-D Secure prompt is part of the flow, and the platform says it has biometric authentication and a freeze/unfreeze toggle in the app. The app itself is in the App Store and Google Play, with expense control and a transaction history, but app ratings are not published. Blocked merchant categories — gambling, adult, crypto purchases with the card — are not listed. Cashback or rewards are not offered. Disputes, chargebacks and the path for “goods not received” are not described on the FAQ page I read.

The points to check first are: whether the merchant you want to use accepts prepaid or foreign-issued BINs (some decline them outright), whether the 3-D Secure step is mandatory or only on high-risk payments, and whether the phone-pay tokenisation you set up survives a card freeze or a card number change.

What can go wrong

The risks sit in three layers: the platform, the card programme and the underlying card network.

On the platform side, the company that runs Cryptomus is not named in the public pages, and the issuer of the card — the bank or e-money institution that actually holds the programme — is also not named. The pages mention a CertiK project page, which is a third-party security audit of the smart contract side, but that is not the same as a banking licence, a payments licence or an insurance wrapper. The FAQ lists [email protected] and a Telegram bot, but the response hours, the languages and the path to escalation are not stated. The custody model — who holds the crypto between top-up and spend — is not stated either. A typical custodial setup means the platform holds the funds, which means the user is exposed to the platform’s solvency and to its AML process.

On the card programme side, the public complaints I have read on Trustpilot (cryptomus.com, 2.4/5 from 521 reviews, read on 2026-10-20) cluster around a few patterns. A 1-star review from 24 September 2026 describes a virtual card being deactivated after a single $1,200 transaction, with the refund refused; the company reply says the issuing bank blocked the card after a high decline rate, and that Cryptomus does not control the card programme. Other reviews in August to October 2026 describe AML and KYC holds on funds, sometimes recurring, and slow support that closes tickets as duplicates. About 43% of reviews are 1-star and 49% are 5-star, and Trustpilot flags the page as “may be associated with high-risk investments”, which is a Trustpilot risk signal rather than a finding. The complaints cover mostly the broader payment service, not the card, so the card-specific evidence is thin, but the pattern is the same: a decision by the issuer, a slow resolution, a refund that does not come.

On the network side, Visa and Mastercard do not issue cards themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. The WaveCrest suspension in Europe in 2018 and the FTX card wind-down in 2022 are the well-known cases. A programme closure typically runs a notice period, then stops loading, then stops spending, then asks users to withdraw the remaining balance. The exact sequence for a Cryptomus closure is not described, because the issuer is not named.

A few ordinary failure modes are worth naming:

The points to check first are: how much you keep on the card at any one time, what you do if the card is suddenly deactivated (a fallback card from another provider), and where the support ticket actually goes when the in-app chat does not answer.

What to take instead

If the score puts you off, three alternatives in the same category look different on paper. They are not direct substitutes — they each solve a slightly different problem — but they are the natural places to look next.

Card Score Best fit Top-up coins Cashback
Bitrefill 6.8 / 10 Online spending in EUR, with cashback BTC, Lightning, ETH, USDC, USDT, SOL, others 2% total (1% on top-up, 1% on spend)
UPay 6.1 / 10 Personal and business cards, multi-currency BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC not stated
Kemy 6.0 / 10 Long-lived virtual cards (3 years) USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, fiat not stated

Bitrefill is a good fit if you live in euros and want cashback. Its card page says the card is free through the app, but inactivity fees kick in after 12 months of no spending or cash-out, and the deposit spread on the crypto-to-euro conversion is not stated. The terms make eligibility opaque: “subject to eligibility criteria” with “further eligibility requirements” set by partners. SEPA pay-in is 1.99%. For a reader who already pays in crypto and wants a euro card with a published reward, Bitrefill is the cleaner option of the three.

UPay is a good fit if you need a personal and a business card from the same provider, and if you want payments to settle in USD, EUR or AED. The card page is short on fees and on a country list — the page says 180+ countries with restrictions — and the KYC partner only accepts ID documents issued by the same country as the user, which is a hard filter for some. Cashback is not stated, and the main wallet also lists an “Earn While You Sleep” product whose terms I have not read in full. For a reader who needs a multi-currency card and is willing to ask support for the fee schedule, UPay is the option that gets closest.

Kemy is a good fit if you want a long-lived virtual card (the virtual card is valid 3 years) and you are happy to pay for it. Issuance is $15 for virtual, $250 for a physical Mastercard that includes DHL Express, with a monthly fee on top ($2 or $10). The fee schedule is more detailed than Cryptomus’s: top-up is $1.50 under $100 or 1.25% from $100, transaction fee is 3.5% + $1, and a failed transaction costs $0.80. The summary line lists a main-account deposit fee as 8% but the section below lists 5%, which is an internal conflict worth checking before you sign up. Kemy says it serves 190+ countries with “a few restrictions”.

None of these alternatives solves the issuer-anonymity problem Cryptomus has, because that is a category-wide gap for crypto cards. The question is which of them is willing to publish enough of the fee schedule that you can actually compare.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Cryptomus card to a reader who is already paying for things online with USDT, who can pass a standard KYC, who is comfortable with a virtual card and who keeps the balance small. If that is you, the card is a useful way to convert a stablecoin balance into a Visa or Mastercard number in about five minutes, and the 3.2% top-up fee is the price of that convenience. Spend the card like a prepaid gift card: load what you need, use it, do not let a balance sit on it.

I would not recommend it to a reader who has a normal bank card, who needs a physical card, who plans to use an ATM, who needs cashback, who needs a clearly named issuer, or who needs a published fee schedule for every charge. I would also be cautious about recommending it to a reader who keeps a large balance on the card, because the platform is custodial, the issuer is not named, and the public complaint pattern is the kind of pattern that gets worse, not better, when the next AML review lands.

If you are somewhere in the middle, the honest summary is this: the card does the job it sets out to do, and the score is what it is because the same platform does not tell you enough about who else is in the loop.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Cryptomus card?

It is a virtual Visa or Mastercard issued through the Cryptomus payment platform. The card is funded from a USDT or USDC balance and behaves like a prepaid card, in that the balance is loaded first and the card spends only that balance. There is no physical version, and the company behind the card and the bank that issues it are not named on the public pages.

How does the Cryptomus card work?

You register on Cryptomus, complete KYC, pay a $4 issuance fee, and receive a virtual card number in the app in about five minutes. To use the card, you top it up with USDT or USDC, the platform converts the value to fiat at the current market rate, takes a 3.2% fee, and the card balance is then available for online payments. Each top-up is a separate conversion at the rate of that moment.

Is Cryptomus a bank?

No. Cryptomus is a payment platform, not a bank. The pages do not name a banking licence, an e-money licence, or the issuer that holds the card programme. That means the usual banking protections — deposit insurance, banking-ombudsman schemes — do not apply to the balance you keep on the card, and the platform is a custodian of the funds rather than a custodian backed by a regulatory safety net.

Who owns Cryptomus?

The public pages do not say. The “About” and corporate sections of the site do not name a parent company, a holding entity, or a registration number in the way a regulated payment institution would. This is one of the more material gaps in the public information, and it is a reason to keep the card balance small.

Is the Cryptomus card available in my country?

The official answer is “most countries worldwide”, with the caveat that local regulation can restrict access in some places. There is no published country list, and the list can change without a long warning. The only way to confirm is to start the sign-up and see whether the eligibility screen accepts your country of residence and your document country.

How do I get the Cryptomus card?

Register on the platform, complete KYC, choose a card from the cards page, pay the $4 issuance fee, and the virtual card is issued in about five minutes. There is no separate application, no waiting list, and no physical card to wait for. Activation is in the app and the card number is shown immediately.

Does the Cryptomus card require KYC?

Yes. The platform requires identity verification before any card is issued, and the KYC outcome gates the card. The exact documents, the age floor, the proof of address and the processing time are not stated, but a standard passport or national ID plus a working address check is the usual path.

How do I top up the Cryptomus card?

You send USDT or USDC to the deposit address shown in the app, wait for the network confirmations, and the platform credits the card with the fiat value at the current market rate, minus a 3.2% top-up fee. The minimum top-up, the list of supported networks, and any fiat top-up option are not published, and a deposit sent on a network the platform does not support is not recoverable through support.

Can I add the Cryptomus card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The official pages mention NFC phone payment, which suggests tokenised mobile pay is possible. Third-party product pages list Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported, but the official documentation does not confirm the wallet brands, and the only way to know for sure is to try the tokenisation in the app. The card number rotates across several BINs, so a token set up today may need to be set up again after a card change.

Is the Cryptomus card safe?

The card uses 3-D Secure for online payments, supports biometric login, and has a freeze/unfreeze toggle in the app. Beyond that, the safety case is mixed: the issuer is not named, the company is not named, the custody model is not stated, and the public complaint pattern on Trustpilot includes card deactivations after a single transaction, AML holds on funds, and refund refusals where the platform says the issuing bank made the call. The card is safe to use in the same way a prepaid gift card is safe: keep the balance small, and have a fallback.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team