Bitsa card review — a prepaid Visa with a euro balance, but read the small print before you fund it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Bitsa is one of a small group of European prepaid Visa cards that lets you spend a euro balance funded by Bitcoin, Ethereum or USD Coin. The pitch is straightforward: load crypto, the app converts it to euros, and the card behaves like any contactless Visa at the till or online. There is also a European IBAN attached to the account, which is unusual for a prepaid product and is the main reason people look at Bitsa in the first place. The reality, once you start counting fees and reading the small print, is more mixed than the marketing suggests, and the user feedback publicly available is the weakest signal of all.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Bitsa works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Bitsa earns 5.0 out of 10 in this review. The product is a working prepaid Visa with an IBAN, three cryptocurrencies and a tiered subscription, but the headline score reflects three things that weigh on it. The country list is not officially published, so you only find out you are eligible when you try to sign up. The issuer is not named on the public pages, and the third-party reviews of the company sit at the bottom of the trust scale, with a majority of one-star reports describing frozen balances and unresponsive support. The day-to-day fees — a 1.75% charge for non-euro European payments, 2% elsewhere, plus ATM fees abroad — are also higher than what several direct competitors charge for the same transactions.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitsa payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card suits EU residents who want a prepaid Visa with an IBAN, are willing to live with a euro-only spending balance, and are comfortable funding it with a credit or debit card or a SEPA transfer as much as with crypto. It does not suit anyone who needs a clearly stated list of supported countries before applying, anyone who needs a self-custody option where the keys stay on their own device, or anyone who treats published customer-support channels as a basic expectation.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 5 / 10 The card’s official pages do not list supported countries; third-party sources describe 27 EEA states, with Bulgaria, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom, Canada and the United States closed.
Cost 4 / 10 Physical card EUR 20, virtual EUR 2.50; plans Free, Move (EUR 0.99/month) and Pro (EUR 9.99/month); 1.75% outside the euro zone, 2% elsewhere, plus EUR 0.55 + 1% for foreign ATMs.
Top-up options 5 / 10 Bitcoin, Ethereum, USD Coin, plus card, SEPA, in-app wallet and voucher; the specific blockchain networks are not stated on the official pages.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer not named on the official pages; third-party attribution to Pecunia Cards EDE; 1.3 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 363 reviews, with 68% one-star and repeated reports of account freezes.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, European IBAN, contactless, and (per third-party help pages) Apple Pay and Google Pay support.
Total 5.0 / 10

If you specifically need a prepaid Visa with an IBAN that you can fund in euros as well as in crypto, Bitsa is one of the few options that puts both on the same card. If any of the five criterion rows above is a deal-breaker for you, the alternatives at the end of this review will be a better fit.

Will they give you the card

Bitsa’s own pages do not publish a supported-country list. The card programme is operated by Bitsa SAS, registered in Nice, France, and the card issuer is not named on the pages the public can read. That gap is the first thing to be aware of, because until you start the sign-up flow there is no way to know whether the product is available in your country.

A third-party comparison page, CryptoCardHub, written on 11 August 2026, describes Bitsa as available to residents of 27 EEA countries: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. The same source lists Bulgaria, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom, Canada and the United States as restricted. Treat that list as unofficial and not confirmed by Bitsa: it is the best public reference available, not an official statement.

A few practical points follow from this. The card is, on paper, a euro-area product, and Bitsa is a French simplified joint stock company, so the natural fit is someone living in the EEA with a euro-denominated life. If you live outside the EEA you are very likely to be turned away at the identity check, and Bitsa has no public statement about how that conversation goes. The page also does not state the minimum age, the documents required or what the KYC process looks like in detail. For everyday purposes you should expect a proof of residence in an eligible country, identity verification, and the same kind of source-of-funds questions you would get from any regulated e-money institution. The third-party guide mentions ages 16 to 17 via a “Bitsa Young” tier with guardian authorisation in the app, but that is not an official statement.

How to get it

The official product description is a “prepaid Visa crypto card” available as a physical card and a virtual card, with crypto converted to euros and a European IBAN attached to the account. Everything is managed from an iOS/Android app. That is the full extent of the official sign-up description, and the official pages do not describe delivery times, KYC steps or KYC levels.

A third-party guide, again from 11 August 2026, gives a more concrete picture and is worth quoting as unofficial: the sign-up is described as “proof of residence in an eligible country plus identity verification”, with a possibility that the issuer may suspend accounts for failed KYC, fraud or AML risk, or if source-of-funds documents are missing. The same guide says delivery times and shipping details are not stated. What is stated, on the official pricing page, is that the physical card costs EUR 20 and an additional virtual card costs EUR 2.50.

In practice that means the sign-up journey is: download the app, create an account, complete identity verification, order a virtual card for EUR 2.50 if you want to try the product cheaply, and only then order the physical card for EUR 20 once you know the KYC has cleared and the card is actually on its way. Because the issuer is not named on the public pages, the BIN you see on a virtual card can be a useful way to confirm who is actually issuing the product before you commit to the physical card fee.

What it really costs

Bitsa’s pricing has two parts: a one-off card fee, and a recurring plan that changes the daily and monthly limits and a few of the per-transaction fees. The card is free to keep at the bottom tier, but the bottom tier is also the one with the tightest limits and the least included behaviour.

The official pricing breakdown looks like this:

Fee or limit Free Move Pro
Monthly fee EUR 0 EUR 0.99/month (or EUR 8.99/year) EUR 9.99/month (or EUR 69.99/year)
Physical card EUR 20 EUR 20 EUR 20
Additional virtual card EUR 2.50 EUR 2.50 EUR 2.50
Non-free external-card reload 1.5% 1.5% 1.5%
International payment outside the euro zone 1.75% 1.75% 1.75%
International payment elsewhere (rest of world) 2% 2% 2%
Transfer commission EUR 1 EUR 1 Free
ATM fee abroad EUR 0.55 + 1% (min EUR 0.75) EUR 0.55 + 1% (min EUR 0.75) EUR 0.55 + 1% (min EUR 0.75)
Purchase limit EUR 1,500 EUR 5,000 EUR 15,000
Maximum balance EUR 2,500 EUR 15,000 Unlimited
Top-up limit 500/day, 1,000/month, 2,500/year 1,200/day, 5,000/month, 15,000/year Unlimited
Crypto reloads Up to EUR 20,000/day Up to EUR 20,000/day Up to EUR 20,000/day
Withdrawals outside Spain Max EUR 450/day Max EUR 450/day Max EUR 450/day

The crypto conversion spread itself is not stated on the official pricing page. In other words, Bitsa tells you the fees for moving euros on and off the card but does not tell you, in the same place, the spread applied when Bitcoin, Ethereum or USD Coin is converted into euros. That spread is a real cost and is the part you cannot see from the fees table alone.

To put the table in everyday terms, three common scenarios are worth walking through.

A EUR 50 contactless payment in a shop in Madrid on the Free plan. No currency conversion is involved, the payment is well under the EUR 1,500 purchase limit, and no ATM is used, so the cost is the crypto spread applied when the euro balance was funded and nothing else. If the balance was topped up with a card at 1.5%, that earlier fee is the real cost of this transaction.

A EUR 100 online payment in US dollars to a US merchant on the Free plan. The “rest of world” rate of 2% applies, so the visible cost is EUR 2. To that you have to add the spread at the moment your crypto was converted into euros. If the merchant uses 3-D Secure, the issuer may challenge the payment with a one-time code or biometric check, and address verification through AVS does not work well with cards issued in a different country, which is occasionally the cause of declined payments at US sites.

A EUR 200 cash withdrawal from an ATM in Bangkok on the Move plan. The fee is EUR 0.55 plus 1%, with a EUR 0.75 minimum, so the fee on this withdrawal is around EUR 2.55. The ATM operator in Thailand will also charge its own fee, which is passed through. The daily cap of EUR 450 outside Spain is the binding limit here, not the fee.

A third-party guide breaks the rest of the plan behaviour down further, and again it is worth treating as unofficial. On that page, the number of cards per plan is Free one virtual and one physical, Move three virtual and two physical, Pro four virtual and four physical. The crypto sell fee is described as 2.39% on Free, 2.14% on Move and 1.89% on Pro. Free SEPA Instant transfers are described as none on Free, one free then EUR 1 on Move, and two free then EUR 1 on Pro. The ATM allowance on the same page is one withdrawal per day up to EUR 350 on Free, two per day up to EUR 350 on Move, and four per day up to EUR 900 on Pro, with a conflict between the issuer’s older terms (EUR 2.50 flat inside the euro zone) and a newer guide that only passes through the operator’s fee. None of these details appear on the official Bitsa pricing page in the form quoted here, so they are best treated as a working reference rather than a commitment.

How to top up Bitsa

Bitsa lists three cryptocurrencies — Bitcoin, Ethereum and USD Coin — and four fiat routes: card, SEPA transfer, the in-app wallet, and a voucher system. The official pages do not state which blockchain networks are accepted for each coin, and that is the part to be careful with. On any card product that funds from crypto, the network you send on has to match the network the card provider is monitoring, and if the two are out of sync the deposit is at risk of being lost or stuck in manual recovery.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitsa starts with a transfer to the right network

The third-party guide, dated 11 August 2026, says Bitsa explicitly lists BTC, ETH and USDC for external-wallet top-ups and that the app generates a new address each time. The same source puts the crypto buy fee inside the app at 0% (unofficial and not confirmed by the card) on every plan, the external-card reload after any included allowance at 1.5%, voucher reloads at 0% to 6%, and the crypto top-up limit at up to EUR 20,000 per day. In-app crypto on Bitsa is described as buy and sell only, meaning the in-app balance is held by Bitsa and cannot be sent to or received from an external wallet; a third-party external transfer is described as costing EUR 1.50, and card cancellation or balance management at expiry as EUR 0.

A practical reading of this is that you have three ways to fund the card. You can buy crypto inside the app with a payment card at 0% (unofficial and not confirmed by the card) and let the app convert it to euros. You can send crypto from your own wallet to the deposit address the app generates, paying the on-chain network fee on top of any spread. Or you can move euros in by SEPA, by a payment card or by voucher. The first route is the simplest, the second is the one that protects your self-custody until the moment of conversion, and the SEPA route is the one that lets you keep the card topped up with ordinary euros without ever touching crypto.

What the official pages do not say — and what is the single most important thing to check before your first crypto top-up — is the network. If the app does not display the network, send a small test transaction first, wait for it to be credited, and only then send the rest. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the card provider is not monitoring can be lost or stranded.

Paying with it every day

In normal use Bitsa behaves like a prepaid Visa. You tap to pay in shops, you enter the card details online, and you can withdraw cash from ATMs that accept Visa. The official product description is the euro balance drawn from crypto, the physical and virtual card, the European IBAN, and the iOS/Android app.

The unofficial picture adds the parts that matter in practice. The third-party help pages describe Apple Pay and Google Pay as currently supported, and a Samsung Pay announcement from earlier in the product’s life that does not have a current setup guide, so Samsung Pay is best treated as not active. The Google Play rating is reported as either 2.8 or 2.9 out of 5 in the same source, with the number of ratings not stated. That is a low rating for a finance app and is worth noticing, even if the exact figure is not pinned down.

Cashback is listed among the plan services, with “up to 15%” mentioned in marketing, and the Move plan specifically mentions cashback at favourite brands. The payout asset and the conditions for the cashback are not stated on the official pages, so it is not safe to assume cashback is paid in crypto, in euros, or at a flat percentage.

A few practical points that come up the moment you start using the card:

What can go wrong

There are three risk areas worth thinking through before you put meaningful money on a Bitsa card: the company behind it, the customer feedback, and the regulatory and security posture.

The official pages describe Bitsa as a French simplified joint stock company registered in Nice. The card issuer and the BIN sponsor are not named on the fetched public pages, although the footer references a “Card issuer conditions” page and a “Payment service provider” page that are not part of this review. The third-party guide attributes the issuer to Pecunia Cards EDE S.L.U. (PecunPay), registered with the Banco de España under number 6707, and says Bitsa SAS is the programme operator rather than the issuer itself. That attribution is unofficial and not confirmed on the Bitsa pages, but it is the only one publicly available and it does fit with the structure of European prepaid card programmes, where a licensed e-money institution in one country issues cards for a fintech in another.

The customer-feedback signal is the part of the picture that drags the score down. The Bitsa Trustpilot page, read on 20 October 2026, sits at 1.3 out of 5 from 363 reviews, with 68% of those reviews at one star. The themes that come up repeatedly are accounts frozen or blocked with funds withheld (reviews dated from September 2020 through September 2026, including reports in May, July and September 2026), unresponsive support for weeks or months (July 2026), repeated demands for documents or KYC resubmission (2025), crypto top-ups partly or not credited (May and November 2025), login and app failures (September 2026), and unexplained account closure (January 2025). The company has not replied to the negative reviews on the platform. Two reviewers claim regulator warnings, in 2025, and those claims are unverified. It is fair to read the Trustpilot signal as a single data point — not a definitive verdict — but a 1.3 score with that pattern of complaints is hard to ignore.

The regulatory and security picture, on what is publicly available, is small. The third-party guide describes the euro balance as held inside the PecunPay programme (custodial after funding) and says the app uses an SMS code plus a personal SCA secret for online purchases and sensitive changes, with cards blockable from the app. The guide also notes that no support channels or response times are published on the Bitsa review page, which is consistent with the reviewer feedback. Standard Visa and Mastercard rules apply on top of this, and the same guide notes that any authorisation hold on a declined payment can stay on the balance for several days.

The wider category risks are worth keeping in mind. Crypto card programmes have been shut down before: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer for several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes were closed, and in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was being wound down by its issuer. When a programme closes, there is normally a notice period, then new loads stop, then spending stops, and users are asked to withdraw remaining balances, but the experience is rarely smooth and not always quick. Crypto transfers are also irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of a different network, can be lost or sit in manual recovery with no guarantee of return. Finally, if you hold the euro balance on the card, that balance is held by the issuer, not by you, and the safeguarding regime for e-money institutions is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee.

What to take instead

Bitsa is not the only prepaid Visa that lets you spend crypto, and it is not the only one with an IBAN. Three alternatives are worth looking at if any of the five criterion rows in the verdict is a deal-breaker.

RedotPay (6.9 out of 10) is a Visa debit card with a USD balance and an HKD balance, virtual and physical, issued from Singapore. The country rule is published, with two lists: a KYC list where citizenship of any of the listed countries blocks identity verification, and a card-issuance list dated 28 August 2026 with 47 places that cannot be a residence or billing address for a card. India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey are on the second list. Card application is USD 10 for virtual and USD 100 for physical, with a 1% transaction fee and a 1.20% non-default-currency fee, and a RedotPay Pro subscription at USD 12.90 per month. Funding is on-chain crypto deposit, with USDT-TRC20 having a USD 1 minimum after network fees. The card page lists Points & Rewards and RedotPay Pro as separate programmes, with a USD 5 welcome reward usable on spending within 30 days but not on the issuance fee.

Bitpanda (6.5 out of 10) is a euro-area product and a physical Visa debit card in EUR only, with one active card at a time. Eligibility requires a verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country, and users verified through “Bankident” cannot order, which is a specific limitation. Account opening, monthly cost and first shipment are free; reissue is EUR 5.90 (the FAQ says EUR 9.90 for lost or stolen); each additional physical card is EUR 10. The foreign-exchange fee is EUR 0 with the Visa mark-up added on top, and the crypto conversion spread is not stated. Spending is from a chosen main asset (cryptocurrency, precious metal or EUR), converted to EUR at payment, with Crypto Indices excluded and a EUR 1 minimum payment. Cashback is described as 1% in the body of the page and “up to 2%” in the summary, with fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins excluded; the payout currency is not stated.

Wirex (6.7 out of 10) is a Visa (and, depending on region, Mastercard) debit card available in 130-plus countries, with separate fee pages for the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”. Card issuance is free in those regions, and the metal Visa Signature debit card costs GBP 45 in the UK with free DHL Express or EUR 45 delivery elsewhere. A one-off GBP 30 administrative fee applies to accounts that breach the General Terms of Service. The fee page does not quote an FX rate, and the card page says no foreign exchange fee; the app shows the rate before confirming. Spending can use cash, stablecoins or cryptocurrencies, and fiat deposits by SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH and PIX are free. Cashback is paid in WXT, the Wirex token: 0.5% on Standard, 3% on Premium, up to 8% on Elite (and the metal card is described as “up to 8% back in WXT”), with exclusions including ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling, refunds and a long list of merchant category codes.

The choice between these three and Bitsa is largely a question of which of Bitsa’s weak points matters most to you. If the unclear country list and the third-party-only information about the issuer are the sticking points, RedotPay and Bitpanda both publish eligibility in the open. If the cost of spending outside the euro zone is the issue, Wirex’s “no foreign exchange fee” marketing line and Bitpanda’s EUR 0 FX line are the more attractive answers, although both still apply a Visa mark-up. If you need a euro-area card with an IBAN, Bitsa is one of the few that combines the two on a single product, and that is the specific reason to keep it on the shortlist.

Who I would recommend it to

If you live in the EEA, want a prepaid Visa with an IBAN, are happy to fund the balance mostly with euros via SEPA or card and use crypto only occasionally, and are comfortable with a euro-only spending balance, Bitsa is a workable option. The free tier is genuinely free to keep and the EUR 2.50 virtual card is a low-cost way to test the product before paying EUR 20 for the physical card. The Move tier at EUR 0.99 a month is the practical one for regular use, and the Pro tier at EUR 9.99 a month is the one to look at only if you actually need the EUR 15,000 purchase limit, the unlimited balance and the free transfers.

If you are outside the EEA, if the published support channels and the public trust signals matter to you as much as the fees, if you want a card that clearly states which country you can spend it from, or if you need a self-custody option where your keys stay on your own device, this is not the card for you. In that case, RedotPay, Bitpanda and Wirex each cover at least one of those gaps, and the section above is the place to start comparing them. The wider category also has risks worth keeping in mind: the customer-feedback signal on Bitsa is poor, the issuer is not named on the public pages, and the broader history of crypto card programmes shows that programmes can be closed by the network or the issuer with limited notice. None of this is a reason to avoid prepaid crypto cards as a category, but it is a reason to keep the balance on the card small enough that you would not be hurt by a sudden programme change.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitsa card?

Bitsa is a prepaid Visa card, available as a physical card and a virtual card, with a euro balance funded by Bitcoin, Ethereum or USD Coin (and also by card, SEPA, the in-app wallet or a voucher). The account comes with a European IBAN, and the card is managed from an iOS/Android app. Crypto is converted to euros before it is spent, so the card behaves like a normal Visa at the till and online.

How does the Bitsa card work?

You fund the euro balance by sending crypto from your own wallet, by buying crypto inside the app with a payment card, or by moving euros in through SEPA, card or voucher. The card then spends that euro balance anywhere Visa is accepted, including contactless and online. The crypto-to-euro conversion happens in the background, with a spread that is not published on the official pricing page.

Is Bitsa a bank?

No. Bitsa is a French simplified joint stock company (SAS) registered in Nice, and the card is described as a prepaid Visa. The card issuer and the BIN sponsor are not named on the public pages, although a third-party guide attributes the issuance to Pecunia Cards EDE S.L.U. (PecunPay), registered with the Banco de España.

Who owns Bitsa?

Bitsa SAS is the programme operator, registered in France. The company structure behind it and the ownership of the SAS are not stated on the official pages reviewed here. The third-party guide treats PecunPay as the card issuer and Bitsa as the operator, but that attribution is unofficial.

Is the Bitsa card available in my country?

Bitsa does not publish an official supported-country list. A third-party source from August 2026 describes 27 EEA countries as supported, with Bulgaria, Croatia, Latvia, the United Kingdom, Canada and the United States listed as restricted. The only way to confirm availability is to start the sign-up and complete the identity check, and the card may be refused at that stage.

Does the Bitsa card require KYC?

Yes. The official pages do not describe the KYC steps in detail, but a third-party guide describes proof of residence in an eligible country plus identity verification, with the issuer able to suspend accounts for failed KYC, fraud or AML risk, or for missing source-of-funds documents.

Is the Bitsa card free?

The free plan has no monthly fee and the virtual card costs EUR 2.50, but it caps spending at EUR 1,500 and the maximum balance at EUR 2,500. The Move plan costs EUR 0.99 a month (or EUR 8.99 a year) and the Pro plan EUR 9.99 a month (or EUR 69.99 a year), with progressively higher purchase and balance limits. The physical card costs EUR 20 on every plan.

How do I add the Bitsa card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

A third-party help page describes Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported in the current help material. The flow is the standard one: open the app, generate a token for the mobile wallet, and follow the wallet app’s prompts. Samsung Pay does not have a current setup guide, so it is best treated as inactive.

How do I top up the Bitsa card with crypto?

Open the app, choose the crypto top-up option, and send Bitcoin, Ethereum or USDC from your own wallet to the address the app generates. The network is not stated on the official pages, so it is worth sending a small test transaction first and waiting for it to be credited before sending the rest, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit on the wrong network can be lost or stuck in manual recovery.

Is the Bitsa card safe?

The euro balance is held by the issuer, not by you, and the safeguarding regime for e-money institutions is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee. The Trustpilot signal is poor at 1.3 out of 5 from 363 reviews, with a majority of one-star reports describing frozen accounts, unresponsive support and uncredited crypto top-ups. The third-party help pages describe SMS plus a personal SCA secret for sensitive actions and an in-app card block, but the published security detail is thin and the public feedback is the part to read carefully before loading meaningful funds.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team