Plasma One, read closely: a cashback-heavy card with a soft spot on eligibility and collateral

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Plasma One gives me a genuinely pleasant bill of health on cost and a genuinely uncomfortable one on paper trail. The card itself is a Visa, virtual and physical, issued by Rain, with a USD account you fill from local currency and spend like an ordinary card, and the promise on the promotional material is that Plasma One does not charge any additional fees. That promise is about as good as it sounds. Where I get twitchy is everything around the edges: the country list is not published on the card’s own pages, the tier prices are not on the public pages either, the physical card’s delivery terms are described nowhere I could find, and the whole thing sits on collateral that can be liquidated if you fall behind on payment. It adds up to a 7.1 out of 10 in my scoring, and the reason is not the fees — it is that I could not finish reading the fine print from public pages alone.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Plasma One works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Residence decides everything, and the public pages never publish the actual country list; the Terms appendix names a long restricted list and says it is not exhaustive
Cost 8 / 10 The Lite tier with a card is $0 and the card “does not charge any additional fees”; FX outside USD is up to 1%, cross-border 0%; Core and Platinum are either paid or require locking XPL
Top-up options 7 / 10 Local currency in, dollars out, with off-ramps to a bank or wallet; unofficial sources add USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks and USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL, COP accounts
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 The issuer is Rain, a Visa participant, with services delivered through Bridge, but Plasma is not a bank, collateral on the card can be liquidated after non-payment, and the two Trustpilot reviews include a complaint about terms changing
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay; unofficial sources suggest the physical card is a Platinum feature and say nothing is published about ATMs
Total 7.1 / 10 Strong on price and everyday mechanics, thin on published detail where it matters most

Who this suits, in one line: dollar-account users who like cashback in XPL. Who it does not: anyone who needs a printable list of eligible countries, a published fee schedule with numbers on it, or a card whose backing deposits sit behind a deposit guarantee scheme.

Will they give you the card

Yes for many residents, and the deciding factor is where you live, not what passport you hold. Plasma’s own Terms of Service carry a single sentence on it — geographic, regulatory and other eligibility limits apply and are subject to change — and the country list is not stated anywhere on the public pages. Account services are organised by residence: US residents, EEA residents and all other residents are served by different Bridge entities. So the question “is Plasma One available in my country?” has no honest yes or no answer from the official site. What you get instead is Appendix I of the Terms, a list of restricted jurisdictions.

The Terms say people “located in or ordinarily resident in” the listed places may be restricted, and that the list is not exhaustive. That wording is about residence and location, not citizenship. The separate International Card Terms ask you to attest that you are not a US citizen. So there are two different tests floating around, and neither is a clean published country list.

Where the Terms point Places named
Restricted jurisdictions, Appendix I Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Central African Republic, China (Mainland), DR Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Iraq, Israel, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine (outside the Crimea/Donetsk/Luhansk/Kherson/Zaporizhzhia carve-out), Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe
Also named as restricted Cuba, Iran, North Korea

Three-party trackers disagree with each other and with the Terms, and you should treat all of it as unofficial. One says the card works in 188 countries with seven restricted — Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela — and that Belarus, China, India, Turkey, Vietnam and Nigeria may still qualify if you can show residence in a supported country. The same tracker calls the card invite-only and says it reaches 31 US states. Another source lists only the United States. A third says 150+ countries excluding the US. Read the official list first: it names Russia, Belarus and Turkey as restricted, which contradicts the tracker’s softer version. Where official and unofficial sources disagree, I go with the official one.

How to get it

The public steps are one sentence long: get a card you can add to your wallet in minutes. What is stated is that you must complete identity verification, be 18 or older, hold one Card Account per person, and not be under US, UK or EU sanctions. Beyond that, the verification levels, how long checks take and the reasons a check can fail are all not stated. Unofficial descriptions fill in the obvious guesses — legal name, date of birth, government ID, residence and address, sometimes a liveness video, proof of address in some countries, automated checks are usually available, though timeframes are not stated, and human review is available on request—but that is a third party’s account, not the card’s.

On the card itself: both virtual and physical exist, it is a Visa “issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member”, and it is accepted in 180+ countries. Your balance is a USD account, sold in the app’s own words as add local currency, get dollars.

The one gap that would matter most to a lot of people is delivery. Physical card delivery — which countries, how long, what it costs, what a replacement costs — is not stated. The Terms only say cards are activated through the Plasma One app and that a replacement card may carry a new number. Unofficial sources say the physical card is a Platinum-only feature and that a Core physical card is not confirmed live; the same source says delivery regions and replacement fees are not published. If you need the plastic in the post, plan on asking support before you commit.

Fees and what a payment actually costs

The headline is unusually clean. Plasma One does not charge any additional fees. The three tiers are Lite, Core and Platinum, described in fee terms as standard, reduced and none added, and the tier prices are not stated on the public pages. What is stated about fees is this: partner fees are shown in the app before you confirm a transaction, Platinum covers the Visa FX fee, and zero-fee USDT transfers are offered though third-party fees may apply. ATM fees and ATM allowances are not stated in the terms. Spending limits are not stated as numbers either.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Plasma One payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card’s pages say
Issuance Lite with a card costs $0; Core and Platinum are either paid or unlocked by locking XPL
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion (non-USD spend) Foreign exchange up to 1%, cross-border 0%, 0% APR on purchases; Platinum covers the FX fee
ATM Fee and allowance not stated; ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards and Spending Credit cannot be applied to them
Daily limits Not stated as numbers; spending limits are set by Plasma based on collateral and can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time
Monthly limits Not stated as numbers; cash-like transactions may be restricted

Now three ordinary payments, and which of those lines actually bites.

Paying for a coffee in your own country, from a balance you already funded in dollars. The fee line is 0% APR on purchases and no additional Plasma fee, so this is the cheap case. What can still cost you here is a merchant decline: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for days, typically up to seven.

Paying for something in euros while your account is in dollars. This is where the up-to-1% foreign exchange line applies, and where unofficial trackers disagree loudly about the size of the markup — one puts the Plasma FX markup at 1% on Lite, 0.5% on Core and 0% on Platinum, with roughly 1% from the Visa network possibly on top; another says about 2% on non-USD spend. Neither is the card’s own figure. The card’s own figure is “up to 1%” plus whatever the network adds, and Platinum is the tier where the Visa FX fee is covered.

Paying across a border online. Cross-border is 0% and USD account spend carries 0% APR, which is the strongest line on this table. The risk here is not a fee but a decline: merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason.

How to top up

Top up in local currency, receive dollars. That is the mechanism the card describes — add local currency, get dollars — and withdrawals go to a bank or a wallet “anytime” through in-app off-ramps where available, with the rails depending on your region.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Plasma One starts with a transfer to the right network

Top-up fees and minimums are not stated. The card’s position is that Plasma One does not charge any additional fees, that partner fees on some FX and bank-withdrawal transactions appear in the app before you confirm, and that Cash Out “may carry processing fees and minimums” without amounts. Networks are not stated on the pages either.

What unofficial sources add, offered as third-party description: deposits in USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks; virtual accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP that convert to USDT; and a note that New York residents cannot use the fiat rails. Unofficial trackers suggest US ACH deposits at $1.00 on Lite and $0.50 on Core and Platinum, wires at $15/$15/$10, USD ACH withdrawals at 0.75%/0.35%/0.10% plus the ACH fee, USDC free up to $30,000 per transaction, and an annual fee structure of $0–$120 a year or an XPL lock. None of these are confirmed by the card.

One piece of practical background worth having, because it is where a top-up can go wrong quietly. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. If you are sending stablecoins, check the network twice — the card does not publish its list.

Paying with it every day

Apple Pay on iPhone and Google Pay on Android, with availability depending on your region, and blocked merchant categories are not stated. There are apps for both iOS and Android; store ratings and the number of ratings are not stated on the site, and I did not find them either.

The rewards are the part that has real appeal for dollar-account users. Cashback comes back in XPL: Lite 2% base; Core 3% base and 5% AI; Platinum 4% base, 10% AI and up to USD 600 a year in flight cashback. Rates vary by tier and may change. If you spend in dollars and are happy holding the platform token, that is where this card’s value sits.

The tier comparison, as described in the Help Center rather than the public pages:

Lite Core Platinum
Card cost $0 Paid, or unlocked XPL lock
Base cashback 2% 3% 4%
AI cashback — 5% 10%
Extra 1 free virtual card, standard support ChatGPT Go, reduced fees, priority support, up to 2 free virtual cards Claude Pro and ChatGPT Plus, up to USD 600/year flight cashback, no added fees with the FX fee covered, VIP support, up to 3 free virtual cards
Unlock route — Annual USD subscription or a 12-month XPL lock XPL lock only

Two things to read carefully in that table. The amounts behind “paid” and “XPL lock” are in the Help Center, not on the public pages, and one unofficial source puts Core at $199 a year or a lock of 20,000 XPL for twelve months and Platinum at a lock of 100,000 XPL, noting the help center calls that a launch rate rising to 150,000 XPL. Second, and this is the one that should stop you mid-application: locked XPL cannot be unlocked early, and the account cannot be closed while a lock is active.

If something goes wrong with a payment, the support team helps dispute unauthorised charges and issues a replacement card — but a disputed charge must be reported within 60 days after it posts to your statement.

What can go wrong

Start with the structure, because it is the part that no fee schedule covers. Plasma describes itself as a financial technology company, “not a regulated financial institution, bank”. The card is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and the account services are powered by Bridge. Underneath the app is a collateral-backed account: your collateral can be liquidated after non-payment. That is the sharpest edge on this card, and no discount rate makes it go away.

Next, what your balance is and is not. The card’s security material describes self-custody — you custody, Plasma does not — and lists an instant freeze and account lock in the app, a PCI DSS v4.0.1 Level 1 Service Provider – SAQ D designation, and then the sentence worth reading twice: stablecoin balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by FSCS or FDIC. In EU terms, e-money funds must be safeguarded but are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. If the idea of a card is partly the idea of a protected balance, this is not that.

Then the practical complaints. Official incidents: none found. User reports are thin and worth quoting rather than summarising. Trustpilot for plasma.org shows roughly 3.4–3.5 out of 5 from only two reviews, and the company has not invited reviews. The critical one says the terms and the arbitration body changed after the reviewer raised issues — the arbitration body being the LCIA — and that advertised Platinum-tier benefits are not in the currently published tier. The positive one, from July 2026, praises the cashback, low fees and virtual card but notes there was no physical card yet and that access was a private beta with an access key. No Reddit threads and no store-rating data were found.

Two smaller points that can turn into real problems. Support is described as available 24/7 at [email protected], with the level depending on tier, and the site’s language selector shows English only — worth knowing if you are applying outside an English-speaking environment. And the Terms effective date is 26 February 2026, naming Third National as issuer in the defined terms with Rain in a footnote; an Android Core promotion of six free months ended 21 July 2026.

None of this makes the card bad. It makes it young, and it makes the check your own work.

Upside Downside
Lite tier with a card costs $0 No published country list for eligibility
“Does not charge any additional fees”; 0% cross-border, 0% APR on purchases Tier prices and lock amounts are not on the public pages
Cashback in XPL from 2% to 10% depending on tier Collateral can be liquidated after non-payment
Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay Physical card delivery, cost and replacement fee not stated
Self-custody, instant freeze, 24/7 support Balances are not bank deposits and not covered by FSCS or FDIC
Off-ramps to bank or wallet in the app ATM fees and allowances not published

What to take instead

Three cards come to mind as alternatives, all scoring lower or equal on the same scale I used for this card, and each solving a different part of the problem.

MetaMask scores 7.1 out of 10, the same as Plasma One. It is a Mastercard, virtual first and instantly, with a Metal card you can pre-order in the app afterwards; one card per user, issued by Monovate. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories with proof of residency, other regions on a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed. Virtual is free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal is $199 a year. It charges a minimal fee per transaction with the amount not stated on the pages I read, no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, so the Mastercard rate applies. It spends directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and cashback is paid in mUSD — Virtual 1%, Metal a headline 3% that drops to 1% past the first $10,000 spent. If you want a card that spends straight from your own wallet with no tier decision to make, this is the cleaner shape.

KAST scores 6.1 out of 10 and is the one with the most published detail. It offers virtual and physical cards, up to ten per user, from Visa Platinum through Visa Infinite metal and gold-plated, in USD with stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at a 0% spread. Membership is 0 USD for Standard, 1,000 USD a year for Premium and 10,000 USD a year for Private, billed annually upfront; a Standard physical card is 0 USD plus 40 USD delivery; inactivity runs 1 USD a month after twelve months. Fees are genuinely low: 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% USD spend, 0% transaction fee, 0% for Apple and Google Pay, and a non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence, the transaction country and the card programme; non-USD transactions under 25 USD cost 0.10 USD, and a declined transaction for insufficient balance costs 0.50 USD. Cashback is in USD: 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD a month, 2% on the first 10,000, 3% on the first 40,000. Its residence rules are also the most explicit — an unsupported country simply does not appear on the KYC list, and holding only an ID from a restricted region can still make you ineligible even if you live somewhere supported.

Zeal scores 6.1 out of 10 and takes the simplest position of the three: spend in 150+ countries, no additional FX fee, conversion at the Visa wholesale rate. It is a Visa with a virtual card for online use that you can add to Apple Pay, spending from balances in the card Safe in EUR, USD and GBP. Its fee schedule is not stated — no fee schedule published on its site or App Store — and whether a physical card exists is not stated. Cashback is up to 4% paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, but only if you hold GNO in the card Safe, and rates can change.

If your priority is published numbers, KAST wins. If your priority is spending directly from your own wallet with no cashback currency to think about, MetaMask wins. If your priority is spending abroad cheaply, Zeal’s zero-additional-FX position is the cleanest — if you can live without a published fee table.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Plasma One to someone who already holds dollars or a dollar-pegged stablecoin, spends most of their money in the US or online, wants a Visa they can add to Apple Pay in minutes, and is content to be an early user of a young programme where the cashback arrives in XPL. If that is you, the Lite tier at $0 is the low-risk way to start, and the fact that no ATM fee or monthly fee is published works in your favour rather than against you — there is nothing hidden, because there is nothing there.

I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it if any of these is true of you: you need a physical card in your hand quickly and cannot confirm delivery; you want to know exactly what a top-up costs in your currency and your network before you commit money; you are relying on the Platinum perks as advertised rather than as published in the current tier; or you are treating the balance as a bank deposit, because it is not one. And if you live in a place near the restricted list, ask support before you send a single document — the country list is not stated, and the list that is published is explicitly not exhaustive.

Frequently asked questions

What is Plasma One?

Plasma One is a Visa payment card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, offered in virtual and physical form, with account services powered by Bridge. Plasma itself describes it as a financial technology company, not a regulated financial institution or bank. The account is a USD balance you fill from local currency and spend like an ordinary card. Cashback comes back in XPL rather than dollars.

How does the Plasma One card actually work?

You top up a balance, get dollars, and the card spends that balance — much like a prepaid card rather than a debit card tied to a bank account. Because the balance is stored, the card cannot overdraw it. Spending limits are set by Plasma based on collateral and can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time. Cards are activated through the Plasma One app.

Is Plasma One a bank?

No. Plasma states plainly that it is not a regulated financial institution and not a bank. The card is issued by Rain, and services run through Bridge entities that differ by your country of residence. That matters for your expectations of recourse: stablecoin balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by FSCS or FDIC.

Who owns Plasma One?

Plasma is the company behind the app and the brand, and it runs the card programme rather than issuing the card itself. Rain is the issuer named in the card’s own description, and Bridge provides the account services. Separately, the Visa network routes the payments and sets the rules; Visa and Mastercard license issuers rather than issuing crypto cards to consumers themselves.

Does the Plasma One card require KYC?

Yes — the card’s pages say you must complete identity verification, be 18 or older, hold one Card Account per person and not be under US, UK or EU sanctions. The verification levels, the processing time and the reasons a check can fail are not stated. Unofficial descriptions mention legal name, date of birth, government ID, address and sometimes a liveness video, but treat that as a third party’s account.

Is Plasma One available in my country?

There is no published list, which is the honest answer. The Terms say geographic, regulatory and other eligibility limits apply and are subject to change, and Appendix I lists restricted jurisdictions including Belarus, China (Mainland), India, Israel, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and Vietnam, plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea — a list the Terms say is not exhaustive. Eligibility follows residence, and you attest you are not a US citizen.

How much does the Plasma One card cost?

The Lite tier with a card costs $0, and Plasma One does not charge any additional fees. Foreign exchange on non-USD spend is up to 1%, cross-border is 0%, and purchases carry 0% APR; Platinum covers the Visa FX fee. Core and Platinum are either paid or unlocked by locking XPL, with prices in the Help Center rather than on the public pages — unofficial figures put Core at $199 a year or 20,000 XPL, Platinum at 100,000 XPL.

Is the Plasma One card safe?

Judge it on structure rather than marketing. It offers self-custody, an instant card freeze, an account lock, 24/7 support and a PCI DSS v4.0.1 Level 1 Service Provider – SAQ D designation. Against that: collateral backing the account can be liquidated after non-payment, balances are not deposit-guaranteed, and Trustpilot shows about 3.4–3.5 out of 5 from just two reviews, one of which complains that terms changed.

How do I top up and get money back out?

You add local currency and receive dollars. Withdrawals go to a bank or a wallet “anytime” through in-app off-ramps where available, with rails depending on your region. Top-up fees and minimums are not stated; partner fees on some FX and bank-withdrawal transactions appear in the app before you confirm, and Cash Out may carry processing fees and minimums. Any blockchain transfer is irreversible, so check the network carefully.

What are the limits on a Plasma One card?

No dollar maximums are published. Spending limits are set by Plasma based on collateral and can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time, and cash-like transactions may be restricted. Unofficial sources say daily card limits are adjustable in the app and take effect within about a minute, with no universal maximum published. ATM fees and allowances are not stated in the terms either.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team