The CL card, looked at closely: who it works for and where it stumbles

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The CL card is a crypto-funded payment card that runs on top of a Ledger hardware wallet. You keep your coins in your own device, and the card draws against that balance when you tap, swipe or pay online. It is one of the few cards on the market that explicitly markets itself as a “spend from your hardware wallet” experience, and that single design choice shapes everything about it: who can get one, what it costs to use, and where it can catch you out.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
CL works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I have gone through the card’s own pages, its Fee Information Document, and the public reviews and aggregators that describe it. The picture I came away with is mixed. The everyday mechanics are clean — virtual card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, cashback in BTC or USDT — but the score on trust signals is low, and several third-party reports on the underlying programme manager deserve a closer look before you load any meaningful balance.

Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The CL card lands at 6.9 out of 10 in my scoring, with a strong 9 out of 10 for everyday use dragged down by a 5 out of 10 for reliability and complaints. That is the shape of the product: a tidy card to live with day to day, attached to a programme that has had a rough year publicly.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CL starts with a transfer to the right network

Who it suits: existing Ledger owners who already self-custody their crypto on a hardware device and want a card that taps against that balance without surrendering their seed to a custodian. If you are already comfortable with Ledger Live, the CL card slots in without much new to learn.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card to be the primary banking product in their life, anyone in a country the card does not list, and anyone unwilling to take on a relatively young programme with a noisy Trustpilot profile. If a quiet support team and predictable dispute handling matter to you more than the hardware-wallet angle, you will be better served by one of the alternatives I look at further down.

Criterion Score Why it lands there
Who can get it 7 / 10 Eight named regions, no excluded country list published
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual is free and FX is 0% on the FID, but the unofficial spread is the real number to watch
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more from a Ledger signer, but networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Trustpilot sits at 3.0 with a third of reviews at one star and account-freeze stories
Everyday use 9 / 10 Free virtual card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, worldwide ATM cash, 1% cashback

Who they will give you the card to

The card is “currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil”. That is the full list as the card page states it. Eight regions, with the European Economic Area treated as one block. Excluded countries inside those regions are not stated, and neither is the rule on citizenship versus residence. If you hold a passport from one country but live in another, the page does not tell you which one the issuer looks at.

The card sits inside a layered structure. Ledger SAS, the Paris company that makes the hardware wallet, owns the brand. The card programme is run by Baanx. In the EU the issuer is UAB Monavate, in the UK it is Monavate Ltd, and in the US the Visa debit card is issued with Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC bank. That is worth knowing because it sets which regulator and which complaint route applies to you: the Bank of Lithuania for EU cards, the UK Financial Conduct Authority for UK cards, and US consumer banking rules for American cards. The US account-opening disclosures and the cardholder terms are referenced from the legal pages but were not on the page I read, so anything specific to US applicants — minimum age, state exclusions, joint accounts — is not stated on the public card page.

A working US, UK or EU address in one of the eight named regions is the starting point, and the rest of the onboarding — identity checks, proof of address, sanctions screening — is handled by the programme on its standard timelines.

How to get it

The headline path is simple. You open or open the Ledger Wallet app, connect your hardware device, and inside the app you request a virtual card. The card page describes the virtual card as free and instant. A physical Visa-branded card is described in third-party coverage as “available upon request” — the official page mentions only the virtual card, so treat the physical version as unofficial until Ledger confirms otherwise.

US applicants get a Visa debit card; the other regions are not specified as Visa or Mastercard on the official page. Conversion from crypto to fiat happens at the moment of purchase, so you do not need to pre-load a euro or dollar balance before paying.

Verification (KYC) is not stated on the public card page — the page does not spell out which documents the programme asks for, who handles the checks, or how long they take. Unofficial reporting points to Veriff, a third-party identity vendor, with reviewers in late 2026 mentioning requests for utility bills and tax returns after the fact rather than at sign-up. That gap is itself worth flagging: you may pass the initial sign-up with just an ID, then be asked for more documents later, sometimes only after the account has already been restricted.

On the practical side: the issuance of the debit card costs EUR 0.00, a replacement debit card costs EUR 5.00, and a card cancellation within 14 days of ordering costs EUR 3.50. Delivery countries and delivery time are not stated; the card page talks about a free virtual card and that is it. The virtual card itself, once issued, can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay so you can pay with your phone while waiting on any physical version.

Fees: what it really costs

The official Fee Information Document, issued by UAB Monavate and dated 3 November 2023, is the cleanest source. It says:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CL payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

At a glance that looks generous: no monthly fee, no issuance fee, no foreign transaction fee. And for the basic spending path — a UK card paying in pounds, or an EU card paying in euros — that is genuinely what you pay. The cost structure is what most cards charge only at the premium tier.

The unofficial layer, which is the one most reviewers are actually seeing, is heavier. Third-party coverage from August 2026 quotes a 1.75% crypto-to-fiat conversion fee for manual conversions, a 2% fee on crypto-funded card spend, and a 1.75% FX surcharge on non-base-currency transactions; another aggregator snippet lists a 1.5% FX surcharge. The FID says 0% for FX, the aggregators say 1.5% to 1.75%, and the FID is dated 2023. The honest read is that the official FX line may be out of date and that you should plan for a single-digit percentage on cross-currency spending, not zero.

ATM costs in the unofficial reporting match the FID for foreign-currency withdrawals (EUR 3.00 plus 1.5%) and for UK domestic withdrawals (EUR 2.50 flat), but one third-party overview lists a flat 1.5% ATM fee. So the only number you can plan on with confidence is the FID: a flat 3 EUR plus 1.5% for foreign-currency ATM cash.

Fee or limit Amount
Virtual card issuance EUR 0.00
Physical card issuance Not stated on the card page
Monthly / annual fee EUR 0.00
Replacement card EUR 5.00
Card cancellation within 14 days of order EUR 3.50
FX fee on card payment in foreign currency (official FID) 0%
FX fee (unofficial aggregators) 1.5% to 1.75%
Crypto-to-fiat conversion (unofficial) 1.75% to 2%
Cash withdrawal in pounds in the UK EUR 2.50 per withdrawal
Cash withdrawal in foreign currency outside the UK EUR 3.00 + 1.5%
ATM balance enquiry EUR 0.35
Daily / monthly spending limit Not stated on the card page; unofficial sources disagree (see below)

Three everyday examples will give you a feel for the costs as you would actually meet them:

Unofficial spending limits, which are worth knowing but come from two third-party sites that disagree: monthly card spend USD 15,000 and daily ATM USD 500, or alternatively default daily POS spend EUR 15,000, daily ATM EUR 2,000, and an initial EUR/USD 1,000 cap until extra proof of funds is approved, with manual review kicking in on top-ups or withdrawals of EUR 10,000 or more. The card page does not state any of these, so do not load more than you can afford to have reviewed if you sit near those thresholds.

How to top it up

Top-up starts with a transfer from a Ledger signer — that is, your hardware wallet — through the Ledger Wallet app. The card page lists BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more. Networks are not stated. That is the most important sentence in this section, because sending a coin to a network the card does not support, or sending USDC on a chain the app does not currently route, is one of the more common ways users lose funds in this category.

The Fee Information Document lists “Receiving money” as “Not applicable”, which in context means there is no card-side fee for receiving a top-up. The crypto network itself will charge its usual gas, bandwidth or energy fee for the on-chain transfer, and that is paid in the native asset of the network (ETH on Ethereum, TRX on Tron, SOL on Solana) rather than by the card programme. So a wallet holding stablecoins but no native gas token cannot move those stablecoins to the card at all — a hard constraint of self-custody that the card page does not spell out.

The minimum top-up amount and any loading fee are not stated. There is also no published information on bank or crypto withdrawal of the balance outside of ATM cash, and what happens to your balance when you close the account is not stated. Treat any funds you load as money you may need to push back through a withdrawal path that has, in public reviews, sometimes taken days and occasionally stalled.

Paying with it every day

In the day-to-day sense the card behaves as you would want. The virtual card is free, can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay, and converts crypto to fiat at the moment of purchase so the merchant sees a normal Visa or Mastercard transaction. Cashback is 1% in BTC or USDC on US cards and 1% in BTC or USDT in other countries, calculated monthly on total card transactions. There is no cashback cap mentioned on the public page.

There is no published list of blocked merchant categories. Gambling, adult content and a few other categories tend to be blocked, but the official line is silent, and what is blocked in practice will depend on the issuer’s policy rather than a published table. Disputed transactions (chargebacks) are not stated on the public pages — the cardholder terms PDF, which would set this out, was not available for review.

The card is managed in the Ledger Wallet app. App platforms and store ratings are not stated on the card page, so I cannot tell you whether the iOS or Android build is consistently well reviewed. As a general rule, a card you manage from the same app that already holds your private keys is more convenient than a separate banking app, but it is also a single point of failure: if the app is down or your device is lost, the card is harder to reach than a card on a standalone banking app.

What can go wrong

This is where the score takes its hit. The official side of the programme has not published any incident notices, but the public review record is not good, and you should read it before you load meaningful funds.

Trustpilot for the CL Card page sits at 3.0 out of 5 from 263 reviews, with about 35% of those at one star. The themes are consistent and worth hearing in their own words before you decide they are overblown: accounts disabled or restricted without warning, often followed by a request for utility bills or tax returns that the reviewer says they were not asked for at sign-up; withdrawals delayed from 15 hours to a week, and in one October 2026 case about USDT 1,990 stuck during “maintenance” and only released after follow-up; UK customers unable to get replacement cards in September and October 2026; and support replies that are described as slow and templated. The company has replied to roughly 31% of negative reviews, which is not nothing, but the volume of one-stars is the number to weigh.

Two further items are worth flagging without overstating them. First, an unverified claim has appeared in at least one third-party Chinese-language aggregator and from some reviewers that Baanx and Monavate entered insolvency proceedings around April–May 2026. A different aggregator dated August 2026 shows no insolvency or enforcement news, and the official pages do not mention any. Take the insolvency claim as single-sourced and uncorroborated. Second, there is a published case of a reviewer losing 15,300 XRP in July 2026 to a memo or tag error. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and tag mistakes are not unique to CL — but the card page does not warn you to double-check tags, and the support path for a tag error is the same slow one reviewers describe above.

Security-wise, the programme leans on Ledger’s hardware-wallet brand: the page says crypto is “protected by the industry’s leading hardware and software” when used with a Ledger signer. Self-custody is not stated as a named feature on the card page, even though the design implies it. Card-level freeze and 2FA are not stated. If you want to lock the card from your phone the moment you misplace it, you will need to check the app for that capability rather than rely on the published pages.

On the regulatory and company side, support runs through the Ledger Help Center’s “CL Card FAQs” article and the general Ledger support site, with languages and operating hours not stated. The card is provided by Baanx under the Ledger brand, and depending on your country the issuer is UAB Monavate (EU), Monavate Ltd (UK) or Cross River Bank, Member FDIC (US). Cross River Bank membership in the FDIC is a US signal that customer funds held by the US issuer may sit in insured deposit accounts — but that protection applies to US card funds, not to the crypto in your Ledger device, which is held by you.

What to take instead

If the noise on Trustpilot or the “not stated” gaps on the official page put you off, three alternatives cover most of the same ground. None is a clone of CL — each makes a different trade-off — and the table below pulls the comparison points I think you will weigh first.

Card Score Card type Cost Top-up paths Cashback
CL 6.9 / 10 Free virtual; physical “upon request” (unofficial) Free virtual, EUR 0 monthly, 0% FX on FID BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins from a Ledger signer 1% in BTC or USDT/USDC
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 Mastercard virtual, Metal USD 199/year Free virtual, USD 199/year Metal Spends directly from connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana (mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT) 1% virtual; 3% on Metal up to USD 10,000, then 1%
KAST 6.1 / 10 Up to 10 cards, Standard/Premium/Private tiers Standard free, Premium USD 1,000/year, Private USD 10,000/year USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Tron 1.5% to 3% in USD plus optional KAST Points
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa virtual, addable to Apple Pay No fee schedule published Stablecoin balances in EUR, USD, GBP across Gnosis Chain and Celo Up to 4% in GNO

MetaMask Card is the closest in spirit to CL — direct spending from your own wallet, no monthly fee, Mastercard rails — and its sign-up list is published with 45 countries/territories named. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ, so the open list matters if you are in one of those two. KAST is the budget option with the richest fee schedule published upfront: zero card spend in USD, no stablecoin top-up fee, tiered cashback up to 3% in USD on the Private plan. Its country list is shown at KYC and not published in advance, which is the same “find out at sign-up” pattern as CL. Zeal sits closest to a Gnosis Pay-style stablecoin account with up to 4% cashback in GNO and a published 150+ spending country footprint, but it has no published fee schedule on zeal.app or its App Store listing at the time of writing.

For most people who already own a Ledger device and are comfortable with the CL programme, the case to switch is weak. For everyone else, the alternatives give you a different balance of fee transparency, country coverage, and reward structure.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the CL card to a specific reader: someone who already uses a Ledger hardware wallet, holds a meaningful balance in BTC, ETH, SOL or stablecoins on that device, and wants a payment card that draws against that balance without trusting a custodian with their seed phrase. If that is you, the card does what it says: free virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, 1% cashback, conversion at the moment of purchase, and worldwide ATM cash. The everyday mechanics are the strongest part of the product, which is why the everyday-use score sits at 9.

I would steer you away from CL if any of the following apply. You are not in one of the eight named regions, because the card is simply not offered to you. You need predictable dispute handling, because the public card pages do not state the dispute process and the review record is weak on support responsiveness. You want a card to serve as your primary financial account, because the programme is a card programme manager built on top of a hardware-wallet brand, not a bank. You are unwilling to read the unofficial reporting on fees and accept that the real cross-currency cost may be 1.5% to 1.75% rather than the 0% on the FID. Or you are not already comfortable with self-custody, because the card’s whole pitch rests on the assumption that you are.

If you tick one of the steer-away boxes, MetaMask Card is the closest spiritual alternative, KAST is the alternative with the most transparent fee schedule, and Zeal is the alternative with the broadest spending footprint and a stablecoin-account model.

Frequently asked questions

What is the CL card?

The CL card is a crypto-funded payment card that lets you spend directly from a Ledger hardware wallet. The card is provided by Baanx under the Ledger SAS brand, with UAB Monavate issuing in the EU, Monavate Ltd in the UK, and Cross River Bank in the US. The virtual card is free and converts crypto to fiat at the moment of purchase, with a 1% cashback in BTC or USDT/USDC depending on region.

How does the CL card work?

You top up from a Ledger signer through the Ledger Wallet app using BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more, then pay with the virtual card at any merchant that takes Visa or Mastercard. Conversion from crypto to the merchant’s currency happens at the moment of the transaction, and the merchant sees a normal card payment rather than a crypto payment. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card can be used at ATMs worldwide for local-currency cash withdrawals.

Is CL a bank?

No. CL is a card programme marketed by Ledger SAS and operated by Baanx. The issuing entity depends on your country: UAB Monavate for EU cards, Monavate Ltd for UK cards, and Cross River Bank (Member FDIC) for US cards. CL itself is not a bank and does not take deposits in the way a bank does.

Who owns the CL card?

The brand is owned by Ledger SAS, the Paris-based hardware-wallet company. The card programme is run by Baanx. Issuance is split by region between UAB Monavate (EU), Monavate Ltd (UK) and Cross River Bank (US). This multi-entity structure is why the rules and complaint routes you get depend on which country you apply from.

Is the CL card available in my country?

The card page lists the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil. If you are in one of those eight regions, you can apply. Excluded countries inside those regions are not stated, and the rule on citizenship versus residence is not stated either. If you live in or hold a passport from somewhere else, the card is not currently offered there.

Does the CL card require KYC?

The card page does not state the KYC requirements. Unofficial reporting points to Veriff as the identity vendor, with reviewers in late 2026 describing requests for utility bills and tax returns after the fact rather than at sign-up. The honest answer is that you should expect an ID check at minimum, and that additional documents may be requested later, particularly if your account is flagged for review.

How do I top up the CL card?

You top up from a Ledger hardware wallet through the Ledger Wallet app using BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more. The networks you can send on are not stated on the public card page, so check the app for the supported chains before sending. The card itself does not charge a top-up fee; the underlying blockchain will charge its own gas or network fee, paid in the native asset of that network.

How do I withdraw money from CL?

For cash, you can use the card at any ATM worldwide; the FID charges EUR 2.50 per UK-domestic withdrawal and EUR 3.00 plus 1.5% for foreign-currency withdrawals outside the UK. Bank or crypto withdrawal of your balance is not stated on the public pages, and what happens to your balance when you close the account is also not stated. Reviewers have reported withdrawal delays of 15 hours to a week, with one case of about USDT 1,990 stuck during “maintenance” in October 2026.

Is the CL card free?

The virtual card is free to issue, there is no monthly maintenance fee, and the official FID lists 0% foreign-transaction fee. The unofficial reporting, which is the layer most reviewers describe, quotes 1.5% to 1.75% on FX and 1.75% to 2% on crypto-to-fiat conversion, so the real cost of cross-currency spending is unlikely to be zero. A replacement card costs EUR 5.00, and cancelling an ordered card within 14 days costs EUR 3.50.

Is the CL card safe?

The card leans on Ledger’s hardware-wallet brand, and the official line is that crypto is “protected by the industry’s leading hardware and software” when used with a Ledger signer. That is a meaningful security claim, but it is not the same as deposit insurance. The Trustpilot score for the CL Card page is 3.0 out of 5 from 263 reviews, with 35% at one star, and the recurring complaint is accounts restricted or funds delayed without clear cause. Treat it as safe in the self-custody sense and as a programme with a noisy public reputation, which is the honest middle ground.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team