A straightforward crypto Visa with no monthly fees, weighed against the gaps in what it tells you

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Wayex card is a prepaid Visa Debit that draws on a stablecoin-backed USDB balance, with a digital card you can issue for free and add to Apple Pay or Google Pay. It promises zero monthly fees, zero conversion fees on USD spending, and a quick sign-up, but the public pages leave large parts of the picture blank: which regions it actually serves, how much the physical card costs, what FX or crypto conversion fees apply to non-USD spending, and what daily limits it sets. This review walks through what Wayex does tell you, what it does not, and how it stacks up against three other crypto cards you might consider instead.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Wayex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Wayex earns 7.5 out of 10. It lands in a useful spot for a specific kind of reader, and the score is built from the five criteria below.

Criterion Score Why it scored that way
Who can get it 5 / 10 The card is live in 18+ regions today with plans for 100+, but the regions are not named publicly. Citizens and residents of UN, FATF, EU and US-sanctioned countries are blocked, and the precise list is not disclosed.
Cost 9 / 10 The digital card is free, account opening is free, there is no monthly fee, and spending in USD costs 0%. The price of the physical card and any FX or crypto conversion fees on non-USD spending are not stated.
Top-up options 9 / 10 DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD are accepted across 10+ blockchains, though the specific networks are not named. Fiat deposits in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN and BRL are also supported.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC running the programme. Trustpilot sits at 3.9/5 from 61 reviews, with recurring complaints about verification blocks and slow payments.
Everyday use 8 / 10 The free digital Visa works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. A physical card is offered “where supported”. The ATM policy for the global card is not stated.

The audience that benefits most is the stablecoin holder who wants a free digital Visa, is comfortable holding a balance in USDB, and can live with the gaps in the published information. If you need a fully transparent fee schedule, a named list of supported countries, or a clear ATM policy, the gaps will get in your way.

Who will give you the card

Wayex states that the card is “live in 18+ regions today” and is expanding to 100+, but the regions are not named on the public site, which makes it hard to check whether you are in scope before you sign up. The app is downloadable in 160+ countries, so being able to install the app is not the same as being able to get a card.

The eligibility rules are framed in two ways. The help centre says you cannot be located in, or be a citizen or resident of, a country sanctioned by the UN, FATF, the EU or the US (OFAC), and you cannot be in a jurisdiction that bars crypto services. The terms reserve the right to refuse applicants on these grounds. Citizenship and residence are screened separately, so the country on your ID and the country where you live both matter.

Third-party coverage suggests the core product has so far been an Australia-focused rollout, with the 160-country card described as an early expansion. Treat that as unofficial, not confirmed by Wayex itself.

A few practical consequences follow from the rule as it is written:

Because the list of supported regions is not published, the only reliable check is to install the app and see what the KYC step accepts. That puts the first filter on Wayex’s side, not yours.

How to get it

The signup path is short by design. Wayex says you can complete KYC in as little as two minutes, the minimum age is 18, and the rest is handled inside the app. The specific documents requested are not described on the public pages, so you should expect the usual combination of government photo ID and a selfie or live check, which is standard for a regulated card programme.

What the card actually is matters for how you think about it. Wayex issues a Visa Debit, prepaid in structure, that draws on a USDB balance held at 1:1 to USD. The digital card is free; the physical card is offered “where supported”, and its price is not on the main site. The Australian help-centre article for the older product shows a physical card and delivery at AUD 14.99, with free replacement for lost, stolen or expired cards, but that price has not been confirmed for the global product.

On verification, the public pages give you the headline of two minutes and an 18+ rule but do not describe tiering, what triggers a review, or the rejection reasons you might face. Rejections are governed by the same sanctions and crypto-services bar that governs eligibility in the first place, and beyond that the company does not publish a checklist. If you get stuck at KYC, your recourse is support rather than a published appeals path.

A practical note: the only way to know whether the card is available in your country, and what the physical-card price actually is where you live, is to start the application. If the regional gate fails, the app will tell you before you submit documents.

What it really costs: Fees

The headline cost story is simple and unusually generous for the category: the digital card is free, the account is free to open, there is no monthly fee, and USD spending carries a 0% fee. The footer of the site adds the catch-all “Fees may apply”, and from there the picture gets thinner.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wayex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs table summarises what Wayex publishes and what it does not.

Fee or limit What Wayex says
Issuance (digital) Free
Issuance (physical) Not stated on main site; AUD 14.99 for the Australian product per help centre
Account opening Free
Monthly fee None
Spending in USD 0%
FX on non-USD spending Not stated
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM withdrawals Not stated for the global card; AUD 0 Wayex fee for the Australian product, capped at AUD 1,000 per day, ATM operator fees apply
Card spend limit per transaction Not stated for the global card; AUD 10,000 for the Australian product
Crypto buy/sell limit Not stated for the global card; AUD 100,000 per transaction and per day for the Australian product

A few everyday payments show how those gaps translate.

A coffee at a local café paid in USD, with the card loaded from USDC. There is no conversion fee, no monthly fee, and the only cost is the spread between the price at which your USDC was converted to USDB and the price Wayex used to do the conversion. Because the conversion fee is not published, that spread is the variable you cannot pin down in advance. A swap on a public DEX before you top up will tell you the network fee you pay, but it will not tell you what Wayex takes on its side.

A meal in a non-USD country, paid by tapping the digital card in Apple Pay. If the merchant settles in a non-USD currency, Wayex’s FX fee is not disclosed. The Australian help centre says “No foreign exchange fees on Wayex” for that product, but the global Visa card is described separately and does not carry that line. Until Wayex publishes an FX rate or fee, you should assume a conversion cost on non-USD spending and check your statement against the day’s mid-market rate.

A cash withdrawal from an ATM. The global card does not publish an ATM policy on the main site. The Australian product allows ATM withdrawals only in Australia, with a $0 Wayex fee and a AUD 1,000-per-day cap, and explicitly does not support overseas ATM use. If you take that as a hint, the global card is unlikely to be a strong ATM card until the policy is clarified.

A separate yield programme runs alongside the card: “Everyday Yield” offers up to 5% on liquid stablecoin balances and is live, and “Fixed-Term Deposits” with potential returns up to 20% via a partner called Kasu is listed as coming soon. Yield is not a fee, but it is a reason to leave a balance on the card, and it is a separate product from the payment card itself. Treat the published rates as descriptive of potential returns, and assume that any variable-rate programme can change.

A third-party report, flagged as unofficial, lists a $1,000 per-transaction card spend cap and a $150,000 lifetime card spend before a free replacement. That contradicts the AUD 10,000 per-transaction limit in the Australian help centre, which is why I treat the unofficial figures as unconfirmed.

How to top up: Top up

Top-up starts with a choice between stablecoins and fiat, and the stablecoin side is the more interesting one. Wayex accepts DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD across “10+ blockchains”, but the named networks are not on the public site, which is a real practical issue. The wallet address you send to determines the network, and sending a supported token on an unsupported network can lose the funds.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wayex starts with a transfer to the right network

The fiat side accepts USD, EUR, GBP, MXN and BRL through on- and off-ramps. The Australian help-centre page dated 12 August 2026 says crypto deposits are free from Wayex, with network and gas fees charged by the underlying chain; AUD deposits carry no fee; and there is no limit on deposits. None of those numbers has been confirmed for the global card, and the global minimum top-up is not stated.

Cash-out is described as “where supported” and runs through PIX, SPEI, Faster Payments, SEPA, Wire and ACH. ACH and Wire are listed as enabled. Fees and settlement times for the global card are not on the main site. The Australian help-centre article says crypto cash-out to bank runs from 0.40% down to 0.00% by 30-day volume, AUD cash-out has no fee, crypto transfers out only carry network fees, and AUD cash-out has a AUD 10 minimum and AUD 100,000 per cash-out cap. The terms reserve the right to withhold withdrawals pending further investigation, and the timeline for returning the balance after account closure is not stated.

A practical workflow for topping up looks like this:

  1. Open the app, find the deposit screen, and select the asset and the network. Because Wayex does not publish the supported networks in a single table, the deposit screen in the app is the source of truth.
  2. Send the token from your own wallet to the address shown, on the network shown. Double-check that the address and the network match, and that you have the native gas token for that network in the sending wallet, because Wayex does not pay your gas for you.
  3. Wait for confirmations. Wayex credits the deposit as USDB at 1:1 to USD, which means any depeg risk in the underlying stablecoin is passed through to the USDB balance until you spend or cash out.
  4. For fiat, choose the local rail (SEPA in Europe, Faster Payments in the UK, PIX in Brazil, SPEI in Mexico, ACH or Wire in the US) and send from a bank account in your own name.

The two things to check first before you send anything are the exact network in the app and the minimum deposit, if any. Sending USDT on Tron to an ERC-20 deposit address is the classic way to lose money on a crypto card, and the deposit screen is the only place Wayex tells you which side of that trade is yours.

Paying with it every day

The card behaves like a prepaid Visa in the wild. The free digital card is the everyday workhorse: it lives in Apple Pay or Google Pay, which means the actual card number is replaced with a device-specific token, and a one-time dynamic security code is generated for each transaction. The physical card, where it is available, is what you use at terminals that do not take mobile wallets and at ATMs.

There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, no published cashback on card spending, and no published card rewards programme. The “up to 5%” yield on stablecoin balances sits on the account, not on the card, so it does not behave as a spending rebate. The mobile app is available on iOS and Android and is downloadable in 160+ countries; the store ratings are not shown on the site.

On disputes, the FAQ asks “What if I have a problem with a transaction” and does not answer. The complaints policy says the team will acknowledge within three business days and resolve within 30 business days, and the terms require binding arbitration in Panama City, in English. No chargeback time frames are published, which leaves the dispute path in the same “ask support” zone as the rest of the operational details.

In practice, the card works best for the routine taps and online payments that go through a mobile wallet. It is weakest anywhere the question is “what is the policy on X” and the answer is “not stated”.

What can go wrong

The first risk is the published-information risk. Wayex does not publish its full fee schedule, the price of the physical card for the global product, the FX fee on non-USD spending, the ATM policy, the global minimum top-up, the global transaction limits or the regional eligibility list. If you sign up without seeing those numbers, you sign up to find them out at the point of payment.

The second risk is verification and account access. The most common negative theme on Trustpilot is account verification or block with no explanation, with reviews from May and June 2026. A separate user reported an account closure request on 12 February 2026 that was still pending on 26 May 2026. A EUR 5 transfer took more than 10 days in March 2026. App sign-out bugs were reported in October 2025. The TrustScore stands at 3.9/5 from 61 reviews, with 74% five-star and 10% one-star, and the company replies to every negative review, usually pointing the customer to private support channels. No official incident has been published.

The third risk is structural. The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with Bridge Ventures LLC as the programme manager, and Wayex describes itself as the platform provider and “not a bank”. That is the normal split for a crypto card: the network sets the rules, the bank holds the programme, the brand markets the card. The trade-off is that you have a US bank in the issuing seat, a programme manager with its own jurisdiction, and a platform provider whose registration country is not stated. Terms put binding arbitration in Panama City, in English, and that is the forum you agree to by signing up.

The fourth risk is custody. Wayex says the platform offers “transparent custody, and optional self-custody”, uses encryption and 24/7 monitoring, and exposes instant controls and alerts on the card. The pages read do not state whether 2FA, freeze and safeguarding details are available. Custodial platforms have a long history of failures, and the design of a USDB balance is a custodial balance in the sense that the platform holds the funds between deposit and spend. The terms allow the platform to withhold withdrawals pending further investigation, and the timeline for returning the balance after account closure is not stated.

The fifth risk is stablecoin risk. USDB is meant to be 1:1 to USD, and that peg depends on the platform’s ability to redeem. Stablecoins have depegged before, and the depositor bears that risk during the depeg. If you choose a yield product on top, the variable rate can change, and any partner that holds the principal (Kasu in the fixed-term case) is its own counterparty.

The sixth risk is the programme-level risk. Network programmes can be suspended, as WaveCrest was by Visa in Europe in 2018, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer after Visa terminated its global agreements on 13 November 2022. A programme closure typically gives a notice period, then stops spending and loading, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances, and your recourse is the published withdrawal process and the support team.

The seventh risk is operational coverage. Mobile-wallet support is good, but merchant acceptance depends on Visa’s network and on the merchant’s own policies. Foreign-issued prepaid cards see higher decline rates in some categories because of how merchants read the BIN, and 3-D Secure can add a friction step on online payments.

What to take instead

Three cards that overlap with Wayex’s audience, each with a different trade-off.

RedotPay

RedotPay scores 6.9/10. It publishes two official country lists. The KYC list bars citizens of around 40 countries including the US, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Iran, Cuba and North Korea from completing identity verification or using the service. The card-issuance list, dated 28 August 2026 and covering 47 places, adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey as ineligible for both virtual and physical cards and as blocked billing addresses, with no mention of citizenship. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia are on both lists; Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither.

The card is a Visa debit in the Singapore terms, with USD and HKD card variants. Issuance costs more: USD 10 for a virtual card and USD 100 for a physical card, with a USD 5 first-replacement fee that rises to USD 10 each time after. There is no monthly or annual fee and no inactivity fee, and a paid Pro tier costs USD 12.90 monthly or USD 129.00 annually. Transaction fees are 1% on crypto conversion, waived on default-currency transactions, and 1.20% on non-default-currency transactions. Small-authorisation fees kick in after five per card per month, and a small set of merchants carries a 1.5% fee with a USD 0.50 minimum. Crypto deposits are on-chain (USDT-TRC20 minimum 1 USDT after network fees) or by buying crypto in the app with a credit card, and the 5 USD welcome reward is for spending only and expires in 30 days. Card cashback is not published.

The trade-off versus Wayex is more transparency at the cost of a higher entry price and a longer list of excluded countries.

Bitpanda

Bitpanda scores 6.5/10. Eligibility requires a verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country, with users verified through Bankident blocked from ordering. The card is a physical Visa debit in EUR only, with one active card at a time. Account opening, the monthly cost and the first shipment are free; reissue is EUR 5.90 (the FAQ says EUR 9.90 for lost or stolen); each additional physical card is EUR 10. The non-EUR FX fee is EUR 0 but VISA mark-up fees apply, and the crypto conversion fee or spread is not stated because assets are auto-converted to EUR on spending. Top-up is the spend itself: a chosen main and optional fallback asset, which can be a listed cryptocurrency, a precious metal or EUR, is converted to EUR at the moment of payment, with Crypto Indices excluded and a EUR 1 minimum payment. Cashback is 1% on crypto spending according to the body of the page, with a summary line that says “up to 2%”, and the two have not been reconciled; the payout currency is not stated.

The trade-off versus Wayex is a tighter eligibility rule, a single-currency card, and a fee structure that hides cost in the spread and the VISA mark-up.

Wirex

Wirex scores 6.7/10. Card availability depends on region, and the published fee schedules cover the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”, with delivery fees listed for the UK, EEA, Hong Kong, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines and Taiwan. The homepage describes a “Worldwide (130+ countries)” service area. Singapore terms bar cash withdrawals there and block transactions with “Prohibited Countries” including Iran, Cuba and Syria, and the residence country entered at sign-up must match the ID. The card is virtual for online use and physical for point-of-sale and Visa or Mastercard ATMs, with one of each at a time. The metal card is a Visa Signature debit, and the order fee is GBP 45 on the UK page with free DHL Express, or “only EUR 45” delivery fee elsewhere. Card issuance is free in the published regions, PIN change is free, and the card page says there are no annual or foreign exchange fees. A one-off administrative fee of GBP 30 applies for accounts violating the General Terms of Service, and the fee page warns that fees are “subject to change”. Top-up is by SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH and PIX, free, and spending can draw on cash, stablecoins or cryptocurrencies. The rewards programme pays Cryptoback in WXT at 0.5% Standard, 3% Premium and up to 8% Elite, with the metal card at “up to 8% back in WXT”, and a long list of ineligible MCCs.

The trade-off versus Wayex is more published detail and a real rewards programme, at the cost of a more complex regional structure and a token-based rebate.

Who I would recommend it to

Wayex is a fit for the stablecoin holder who already thinks in USDB or USDC, wants a free digital Visa to put into Apple Pay or Google Pay, and does not need a published fee schedule to make a decision. The free digital card, the no-monthly-fee account and the 0% USD-spending line are real and useful, and the on-ramp through DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD across multiple chains is wide enough to cover most self-custody wallets.

Wayex is not a fit if you need to know the FX fee on non-USD spending before you sign up, if you need a working ATM card outside Australia, if you need a published list of supported countries, or if a transparent dispute and chargeback process is non-negotiable for you. In those cases, RedotPay, Bitpanda or Wirex each publishes more of the operational detail that Wayex leaves blank, and one of them is likely to be a better match.

Before you commit, three checks are worth doing. First, install the app and confirm that your country and citizenship pass the KYC gate. Second, look at the deposit screen to confirm the network and minimum for the asset you plan to send. Third, make a small first payment in USD with a known amount so you can see the actual conversion cost and the time to settlement, and only scale up once that looks right.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wayex card?

The Wayex card is a Visa Debit, prepaid in structure, that draws on a USDB balance held 1:1 to USD. The digital card is free, the physical card is offered “where supported”, and the card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.

How does the Wayex card work?

You deposit a supported stablecoin (DAI, USDT, USDC or PYUSD) on a supported network, or a supported fiat currency through a regional rail, and Wayex credits the deposit as USDB. When you pay, the card spends the USDB balance, with 0% on USD spending, and the merchant sees a Visa transaction.

Is Wayex a bank?

No. Wayex describes itself as the platform provider and “not a bank”. The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, and Bridge Ventures LLC is the programme manager.

Who owns Wayex?

The card programme is run by Bridge Ventures LLC, with Lead Bank as the issuing bank. Wayex’s own registration country is not stated on the pages read.

Is the Wayex card available in my country?

Wayex says the card is live in 18+ regions today and is expanding to 100+, but the regions are not named on the public site. The app is downloadable in 160+ countries, which is not the same as the card being issued in all of them. The only reliable check is the KYC step in the app.

How do I get the Wayex card?

Install the iOS or Android app, complete KYC (the company says it can take as little as two minutes), pass the 18+ and sanctions checks, and issue the free digital card. The physical card is offered “where supported” and its price is not on the main site.

Does the Wayex card require KYC?

Yes. The card is a regulated Visa programme, and Wayex says KYC can be completed in as little as two minutes. The specific documents are not described on the public pages, and the precise rejection reasons are not published.

How do I top up the Wayex card?

Open the deposit screen in the app, pick the asset and the network, and send the token to the address shown. Supported stablecoins are DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD across 10+ blockchains, and supported fiat currencies are USD, EUR, GBP, MXN and BRL. Network fees are paid by you, not by Wayex.

Is the Wayex card free?

The digital card is free, the account is free to open, and there is no monthly fee. The price of the physical card for the global product is not on the main site, and the fees for non-USD spending, crypto conversion and ATM use are not stated.

Is the Wayex card safe?

The card is issued by a US-regulated bank under a Visa licence, the platform describes encryption, 24/7 monitoring and instant card controls, and you can opt to use your own self-custody wallet. The custodial risk is that USDB is held by the platform between deposit and spend, and the terms allow withdrawals to be withheld pending investigation. Treat stablecoin and counterparty risk as part of the picture, and start with a small test payment before you scale up.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team