Coinbase card review
The Coinbase card is a Visa prepaid debit card issued under the Coinbase brand, and it does one job well: it lets you spend the crypto sitting in your Coinbase account wherever Visa is accepted, online and in store. The catch is geography. The card is available only in the United States, and even within the US, Hawaii is excluded. If you live elsewhere, this review is still useful as a way to understand what a straightforward crypto-to-fiat card looks like, but the card itself will not be an option for you.

I went through the card’s official pages, the cardholder agreement, the help center, and a stack of third-party reviews. The short version: a US resident who already keeps funds on Coinbase and wants a low-friction way to spend them will find this card genuinely useful. Anyone outside the US, anyone who needs multi-currency balances, or anyone who wants rich cashback tiers will need to look elsewhere.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Coinbase card earns a 6.4 out of 10. That number reflects a card that does the basics very well, but is held back by a tight geographic footprint and a rewards structure that is thinner than the competition.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it scores the way it does |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | US-only, and Hawaii is excluded; no international availability. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No spending fees, no annual fee, no issuer fee on international transactions, and no fee for in-network ATM withdrawals; a spread applies on crypto conversion. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Linked bank account or paycheck deposit is free, and you can spend your crypto balance directly, but the supported coins and networks for direct top-up are not stated. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by Pathward, N.A. (a Member FDIC bank) on Visa’s network, powered by Marqeta; Coinbase as a whole has a 4.0/5 Trustpilot score across more than 23,000 reviews, with complaints clustering around account freezes and slow support. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual or physical Visa prepaid, accepted wherever Visa is taken; ATM withdrawals work, and third-party sources report Apple Pay and Google Pay support. |
| Total | 6.4 / 10 |
The card suits a specific person: a US resident who already has crypto on Coinbase, who wants to spend it without first selling it on an exchange and wiring dollars to a bank, and who is happy with a single fiat currency (US dollars) and a single tier of rewards. If that is you, the card is one of the more frictionless options on the market. If you are outside the US, if you want to hold balances in multiple currencies, or if you want a tiered cashback system, you will find the card limiting.
Who can get the card
The headline restriction is straightforward. The card is available in all US states except Hawaii. There is no other country on the list, and Coinbase does not offer a regional variant for Europe, Latin America or Asia-Pacific. If you are a US citizen living abroad, the card is not for you either: the rules tie eligibility to US residence, not citizenship.

Beyond geography, account opening follows the standard US identity-verification rules under the USA PATRIOT Act. You will need to provide your name, address, date of birth and other identifying information, and Coinbase may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents. There is no credit check and no staking requirement, so the card does not need your credit history and does not lock up any of your crypto as a condition of approval.
The older cardholder agreement spells out two further conditions that are worth knowing even if the current card page does not restate them. First, you need to be at least 18 years old. Second, you need to be a US citizen or a permanent resident. Use of the card may be limited until your identity has been fully verified, so expect a brief holding period on first sign-up. If your address changes to a non-US address, the older agreement says the card may be cancelled and your funds returned, so the card is not a way to take your Coinbase balance abroad.
What the official pages do not state clearly is the exact turnaround time for verification or the precise documentation they will accept beyond a driver’s license. That is something you will discover in the application itself.
How to sign up
The sign-up flow lives inside the Coinbase app, and it is built around a simple choice: virtual card or physical card. The virtual card is generated almost immediately after your account is verified, which means you can start using it for online purchases the same day. The physical card arrives by mail; the official card page does not state a delivery time, and I could not find a public number for it.
The steps in practice are:
- Sign up for a Coinbase account or sign in if you already have one.
- Complete identity verification (name, address, date of birth, ID if asked).
- Open the card section in the app and choose either a virtual card, a physical card, or both.
- For the physical card, confirm your mailing address and order the card.
The older agreement mentions that replacement cards sent because of expiry do not carry a fee, which is a small but useful detail if you plan to keep the card for years.
One thing the official pages do not say is how long the physical card takes to arrive. If you need a card for a specific date, the virtual card is the safer bet. You can always order the physical one and use the virtual in the meantime.
What it really costs
The fee story is one of the card’s stronger points. Coinbase states the headline as “zero spending fees and no annual fees”, and the older cardholder fee schedule backs this up: funding from your Coinbase USD Wallet costs $0, the monthly fee is $0, and the issuer does not charge a fee on international transactions (the network still converts foreign-currency purchases, and Coinbase notes that “you may also be charged a fee by Coinbase”). ATM withdrawals inside the network are $0, and balance inquiries are $0.
What you do pay for is the spread. When you spend crypto, Coinbase has to convert it to US dollars at the moment of payment, and that conversion is not free: it happens at the rate Coinbase applies when buying, selling or trading crypto, with a spread built in. The size of the spread is not disclosed as a single number on the card page, and it varies by asset and by market conditions. This is the one cost that matters in practice, and it is the cost to watch if you spend crypto frequently.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated for the current card; the older agreement lists no fee. |
| Monthly fee | $0 |
| Conversion (crypto to USD at payment) | Spread applied; rate not published as a single percentage. |
| FX (international purchases) | 0% from the issuer; the network converts the currency. |
| ATM withdrawal (Coinbase, in network) | $0 |
| ATM operator fee | Charged by the operator; not set by Coinbase. |
| Balance inquiry | $0 |
| Daily / monthly limits | Vary by customer; risk checks may lower them. Visible in app under Card > Support > “View spending and ATM limits”. The older Combined Terms (2021) list a $1,000-per-24-hour cap and a maximum of 6 cash withdrawals per day. |
To make this concrete, walk through three everyday situations with me:
- You buy a $50 coffee with crypto. Coinbase converts the crypto to USD at the moment of payment. The issuer does not charge a fee, but the spread is built into the conversion rate. The actual cost is the gap between the market price of the crypto and the rate Coinbase gives you, which can be small or noticeable depending on the asset and the time of day.
- You withdraw $100 from an in-network ATM. Coinbase charges $0. The ATM operator may charge its own fee, which is independent of the card. Older rules cap you at $1,000 in cash withdrawals per 24 hours and 6 withdrawals per day, but current limits are customer-specific and shown in the app.
- You buy something online from a merchant based abroad, paid in euros. The issuer does not add a fee. The Visa network converts euros to dollars, and you are exposed to the network’s exchange rate and any markup the network applies. The “you may also be charged a fee by Coinbase” line in the older agreement suggests there can be an extra Coinbase fee on top of the spread, but the size of that fee is not stated.
The card is denominated in US dollars. There is no multi-currency balance. If you travel, every purchase in a foreign currency is converted to dollars by the network, and the spread is paid on the crypto side before the network converts the dollars.
How to top it up
Top-up is where the card keeps things simple. You have two main routes: a linked bank account, and a paycheck deposit that goes directly into your Coinbase account. Both are described as “zero fees” on the card page, and the older fee schedule lists funding from your Coinbase USD Wallet at $0.
The most common flow, in practice, is that you keep a balance on Coinbase (in dollars or in crypto) and spend from it. If the balance is in dollars, the card spends dollars directly. If the balance is in crypto, the card converts the crypto to dollars at the moment of payment, applies the spread, and spends dollars. Either way, the card is a thin layer on top of your existing Coinbase account, not a separate wallet you have to manage.
The things the official pages do not say are the ones to be careful about:
- Minimum top-up: not stated.
- Network fees: not stated for the card itself. On-chain deposits to Coinbase from an external wallet are subject to blockchain network fees, which are set by the network, not by Coinbase. (More on that in the Paying with it every day section.)
- The list of supported cryptocurrencies and the networks on which they can be deposited: not stated in the card documentation I reviewed. You will see the supported assets inside the app when you try to spend.
For taking the balance back out (a withdrawal rather than a top-up), the card page does not state a fee or a limit. The older agreement does say one important thing: if your address changes to a non-US address, the card may be cancelled and your funds returned. So the card is not designed for moving money across borders, and that limitation shapes how you should think about it.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is set up, daily use is the card’s strongest area. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, which means it is accepted anywhere Visa is taken, online and in physical stores. You can generate a virtual card for online purchases and order a physical card for the wallet and the register.
The card supports ATM withdrawals inside the US, in network, for $0. The ATM operator’s fee still applies, and the network of in-network ATMs is set by Visa’s ATM locator, not by Coinbase. Outside the US, ATM access is not stated, and the cross-border address rule means you should not plan on it.
The crypto rewards program is the one feature that varies by user. Coinbase offers optional crypto rewards on every purchase, available to US card users. The reward rate is variable, shown in the app, and you pick the reward from a rotating list of supported cryptocurrencies. The reward posts to your Coinbase account rather than as a statement credit, and the rate you see today may not be the rate you see next month.
For mobile payments, third-party sources report that the Coinbase card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. TechRadar covered the addition, and CryptoSlate lists support. This is not stated on the official card page, so treat it as unofficial: it appears to work in practice, but Coinbase has not put it in writing. If mobile wallet support is a deal-breaker for you, verify it inside the app on your specific device before you rely on it.
The app itself is where most of the day-to-day happens. Coinbase supports iPhone (iOS 16.4 and up), Mac and Vision, with 18 interface languages including Russian and Turkish. The App Store rating sits at 4.7 from around 1.8 million ratings. The Google Play rating was not retrievable when this review was written, so I have not included it. Card-specific controls (freeze, spending limits, view limits) live under Card > Support in the app; the official card page does not enumerate them, so you will need to look in the app to see exactly what is available to you.
For disputes, the older agreement gives a useful summary. You can report unauthorized transactions; the issuer has 10 business days to make a decision, and may take up to 45 days; if the investigation takes longer, the issuer credits the account within 10 business days. Losses reported more than 60 days after the statement may not be recoverable. Merchant refunds are handled by the merchant and can post with delay. Chargebacks through Visa are not specifically described, so do not assume them.
What can go wrong
The card is a custodial product. Your funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank, not in a wallet you control. That has a few consequences worth being clear about.
First, account freezes and verification friction show up consistently in user reports. Coinbase as a whole has a 4.0/5 score on Trustpilot from 23,282 reviews, with 5-star reviews at 45% and 1-star reviews at 43%. The themes in the negative reviews, in 2026 reporting, are slow or absent support in fraud cases, account lockouts and heavy verification, multi-day holds on larger deposits, and fees on conversions and debit-card transfers. A US PIRG study ranked Coinbase third among digital wallets by complaints to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, with the most common theme being difficulty retrieving money. Interesting Engineering reported that Coinbase confirmed instances of mistakenly overcharging users’ bank accounts, though the scope is not specified.
Second, the issuer changed. The cardholder agreement in the official static-assets folder names MetaBank, N.A. as the issuer and Marqeta as the program manager. The current card page names Pathward, N.A. as the issuer and lists Marqeta as the platform. For a user, this is mostly background, but it does mean the legal entity behind the card is not the same one it was a few years ago, and the cardholder agreement you should read is the one tied to Pathward.
Third, on the safety side, the official card page does not detail the safeguards. The older agreement mentions a few worth knowing: funds transferred from your Coinbase USD Wallet are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 if the deposit-insurance requirements are met, Visa’s Zero Liability policy applies, and you should report a lost or stolen card immediately. Card freeze in the app and spending controls exist but are not described in detail, so check the app to see what is available on your account.
Fourth, support channels are stated in the older agreement: phone at 1-888-908-7930, email at [email protected], mail at 100 Pine Street, San Francisco, CA 94111, and an in-app help center. The card page itself points to in-app Card > Support. None of this is reassuring by itself; the volume of complaints about support is the practical concern.
Finally, two structural risks that are easy to overlook. Crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment means the dollar value of your purchase depends on the price of the crypto at the exact moment you tap. If the price moves against you in the few seconds between tap and settlement, you can get slightly less than you expected. And, like all crypto spending, the IRS treats each conversion as a disposal of property, which means each card payment can be a taxable event. The size of the gain or loss depends on the price you originally paid for the crypto. This review is not tax advice; if you spend crypto regularly, the tax treatment is something to understand on your own or with a professional.
What to take instead
If the Coinbase card is not the right fit, here is how the closest alternatives compare. None of them is a perfect substitute, because the Coinbase card’s geographic restriction is its defining feature, but each one addresses a different shortcoming.
| Card | Score | Best for | Key trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Users outside the US, especially in Latin America, the CIS, and Asia-Pacific. | Region list is long but not universal; rewards structure is rich but only crypto-funded transactions earn from October 2026. |
| OKX card | 6.2 / 10 | EEA users who want a euro-denominated card under MiCA. | Virtual only at launch; cashback only on USDG, not USDC. |
| BingX card | 5.8 / 10 | Users in Europe, APAC and LATAM who already use BingX. | USDT-only funding; rewards not stated; thinner documentation overall. |
Bybit Card offers the widest geographic reach of the three, with regional availability in Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia-Pacific. Bybit does not serve the European Economic Area, and its fiat-service restricted list includes the US, so it is essentially a non-US option. The card has both virtual and physical forms (a physical card is not available in Peru), and the rewards structure is rich: tiers from Base at 2% to Infinite at 10%, with monthly cashback caps and spend-to-unlock thresholds. The catch is that, as of October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn rewards; fiat-funded spending does not.
OKX launched a Mastercard debit card in the EEA (plus Norway) in late January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded. It is euro-denominated, virtual, and tied to OKX Pay. There is no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee, and the explainer cites a 0.1% conversion spread (the launch press release said 0.4%, the explainer is newer, and the explainer is the figure to trust). The card accepts USDC and USDG; cashback is paid only on USDG purchases, which is an important detail. USDC earns nothing.
BingX offers a Visa debit card in Europe (EEA), APAC, LATAM and “other selected regions”, with no published country list. The card has a virtual form (instant, no activation) and a metal physical form (15-30 business days), settles in USD, and currently funds from USDT only. Fees and rewards are not stated in the documentation I reviewed, which is a transparency gap.
The honest summary: if you are in the US, the Coinbase card is hard to beat for simplicity. If you are outside the US, Bybit is the strongest alternative on geography and rewards, OKX is the strongest on regulatory clarity in the EEA, and BingX is the weakest on documentation.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Coinbase card to a US resident who:
- Already keeps funds on Coinbase and wants to spend crypto without first converting and transferring to a bank.
- Wants a single, low-fee card rather than a tiered cashback program.
- Is comfortable with a USD-only balance and a virtual or physical Visa prepaid.
- Understands that the card is custodial, that account freezes and verification friction are real, and that each crypto-funded payment is a taxable event.
I would not recommend the card to someone who:
- Lives outside the US, including US citizens residing abroad.
- Needs to hold balances in multiple currencies or to spend in non-USD currencies without FX exposure.
- Wants a rich, tiered cashback structure and is willing to fund the card from crypto to chase the highest rewards (Bybit or OKX are better fits).
- Needs self-custody or is uncomfortable with the counterparty risk of holding funds with a custodian.
The 6.4 out of 10 is not a damning score. It is a score that says the card does its job for the audience it was designed for, and does not pretend to be more than that. If you are in that audience, the card is worth having. If you are not, the alternatives above are where to start.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Coinbase card?
The Coinbase card is a Visa prepaid debit card issued under the Coinbase brand, available as a virtual card or a physical card. It spends either your US-dollar balance on Coinbase or your crypto balance, which is converted to dollars at the moment of payment. It is issued by Pathward, N.A. (a Member FDIC bank) and runs on the Marqeta platform.
How does the Coinbase card work?
When you pay, Coinbase either draws on your USD balance directly or converts part of your crypto balance into USD at the current rate (with a spread), then sends the payment over the Visa network. The merchant sees a regular Visa transaction in dollars. You can fund the card by linking a bank account or by depositing part of your paycheck into Coinbase.
Is Coinbase a bank?
No. Coinbase is a cryptocurrency exchange and a custodian. The card itself is issued by Pathward, N.A., which is a Member FDIC bank. Funds held in your Coinbase USD Wallet may be eligible for FDIC pass-through insurance up to $250,000 if certain conditions are met, but Coinbase itself is not a bank.
Who owns Coinbase?
Coinbase is a publicly traded company. The card programme is owned and operated by Coinbase, Inc., and issued by Pathward, N.A. under a licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., with Marqeta providing the processing platform.
Is the Coinbase card available in my country?
Only in the United States, and in every US state except Hawaii. There is no international version. If you live outside the US, you will need a different card, and the alternatives section above is a starting point.
How do I apply for the Coinbase card?
You apply inside the Coinbase app. The steps are: sign in to your Coinbase account, complete identity verification (name, address, date of birth, and ID if asked), open the card section, and choose a virtual card, a physical card, or both. The virtual card is generated almost immediately; the physical card is mailed to you.
Does the Coinbase card require KYC?
Yes. Account opening requires your name, address, date of birth and other identifying information under the USA PATRIOT Act. Coinbase may also ask to see your driver’s license or other documents. There is no credit check and no staking requirement.
How do I activate the Coinbase card?
The virtual card is essentially activated when it is issued; you can use the card details immediately for online purchases. The physical card activates when you first use it, or through a prompt in the app. The exact flow is in the app.
How do I top up the Coinbase card?
You fund the card by linking a bank account to Coinbase, by depositing part of your paycheck into Coinbase, or by holding a balance on Coinbase and spending from it. Funding from a linked bank account or paycheck deposit is free, per the card page.
Is the Coinbase card safe?
The card uses standard safeguards: Visa’s Zero Liability policy, FDIC pass-through insurance for eligible funds in your Coinbase USD Wallet, and the ability to report a lost or stolen card. The main risks are not technical but operational: account freezes, slow support, and the fact that the card is custodial, so your funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank rather than in a wallet you control. The IRS also treats each crypto-funded payment as a taxable event, which is a non-technical risk worth understanding before you start spending.
Exchange cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
