Trade Republic card, reviewed from the outside

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Trade Republic pitches a single idea: keep your crypto on the broker where you already bought it, then spend it through a card instead of selling first and waiting for a bank transfer. That is the whole product, and it is also where most of the questions start. Who can actually get the card, what does it cost to run day to day, which coins can you pay with, and is the broker behind it the kind of company you want holding the balance that backs your card? This review walks through each of those questions, using only what Trade Republic says on its public pages and what third-party reviewers have written, marking the second kind clearly. I have not used the card.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Trade Republic works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Trade Republic scores 7.2 out of 10. It is not the cheapest crypto card on the market, and it is not the most open about who it serves, but the everyday experience looks clean: no monthly fee, free ATM withdrawals from one hundred euros up, and a savings-plan hook on the cashback that is more interesting than a plain percent-back. The card is best understood as a feature of a German broker account rather than a standalone card product, and that framing explains both the strengths and the gaps.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trade Republic payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Bank licensed in Germany; the public site is published in en-de and en-nl versions, but a full list of supported countries is not stated on the readable pages.
Cost 8 / 10 Official fees are not published; unofficial sources report no annual or monthly fee, no foreign-currency surcharge, and a one-off 5 EUR for the Classic card.
Top-up options 5 / 10 You can spend crypto held in the Trade Republic account, but the list of supported coins is not stated in the press release or the readable product page.
Reliability and complaints 9 / 10 Issued by Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 across 67,608 reviews. Card-specific complaints were not found.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual, Classic and Mirror (metal) versions; Apple Pay and Google Pay reported by reviewers; free ATM withdrawals from 100 EUR worldwide.

The card suits an EU resident who already holds (or is willing to hold) crypto in a Trade Republic brokerage account and wants to use that balance directly at a shop or an ATM, with the broker’s savings plan doing double duty as a reward piggy bank. It is a poor fit for someone outside the EU who has no way to open the underlying account, for someone whose primary reason to get a crypto card is high cashback on everyday spend, and for anyone uncomfortable with a broker-managed balance rather than a self-custody wallet.

Who they will give the card to

The first thing to clear up: Trade Republic the broker and Trade Republic the card are the same product surface. There is no separate “card application” the way a bank or a card-only fintech would have; the card is something you turn on once your brokerage account is approved. That means the eligibility question is really the brokerage account question, and Trade Republic’s public pages are unusually quiet about it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trade Republic starts with a transfer to the right network

The card is issued by Trade Republic Bank GmbH, based at Brunnenstrasse 19-21, 10119 Berlin, and the company has German and EU roots. The product pages are available in en-de and en-nl language versions, which signals a Germany and Netherlands focus. What is not stated on the readable official pages is a list of countries where the card is offered, what the minimum age is, or what documents the onboarding flow asks for. The same is true of the identity-verification step: the press release and product copy talk about the card, but the KYC and document requirements live in the signup flow, not on the public marketing pages.

For someone in Germany or the Netherlands, or for an EU resident more generally, the realistic answer is that this is the audience Trade Republic built the product for. For someone further away, the absence of a published list is itself a signal: card programmes that are confident about their reach tend to list the countries they cover. If you are not in the EU and you need a card you can rely on, the answer is likely no, but you will not find that spelled out on the Trade Republic site.

There is no mention of additional restrictions by citizenship, profession, or source of funds on the readable pages, and no statement of how the company treats US persons or other commonly restricted groups, so the honest answer is that the public site does not say. You will only know for sure by starting the application.

How to get it

The signup steps, as the public pages describe them, run in this order: open a Trade Republic account, complete identity verification, fund the account, and then order the card. The first three steps are about becoming a Trade Republic customer; the last is a checkbox on top of an existing relationship.

What the public pages do not state, and what a third-party review fills in, is the practical shape of each step:

Two practical points worth flagging before you commit:

What it really costs

The honest summary of the cost picture is that Trade Republic does not publish a card fee schedule on the readable pages, and the cost numbers you will see quoted elsewhere come from third-party reviewers. I have kept those figures here because the press release and product page do not contradict them, but I have marked each one as unofficial so you do not mistake a review for a tariff.

Costs

Fee or limit Amount Source
Virtual card issuance 0 EUR Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
Classic card issuance 5 EUR one-time Unofficial, Reisetopia and Neuebanken
Mirror (metal) card issuance 50 EUR one-time Unofficial, Reisetopia and Neuebanken
Monthly fee None Unofficial, Reisetopia
Annual fee None Unofficial, Reisetopia
Foreign-currency surcharge None; Visa rate used Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
Top-up by card / Apple Pay / Google Pay 1% of amount Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
SEPA bank transfer to the account Free Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
ATM withdrawal at 100 EUR or more Free worldwide at Visa ATMs Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
ATM withdrawal below 100 EUR 1 EUR per withdrawal Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
ATM withdrawal count or total cap None reported Unofficial, Reisetopia
ATM operator’s own fee Possible, charged by the ATM Unofficial, Pagamentidigitali
Daily spending limit 1,500 EUR Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
Weekly spending limit 6,000 EUR Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)
Separate point-of-sale limit Not stated Unofficial, Kreditkartenheld (July 2026)

What that means in three everyday situations

A coffee and a sandwich in Berlin. You tap the card or phone at the till. The price is in EUR, the card balance is funded from crypto, the conversion happens inside the Trade Republic app, and the merchant receives EUR through Visa. The fee you pay is the spread on converting your crypto to EUR at the moment of sale, which is the broker’s standard trading spread rather than a card fee. There is no extra card charge and no foreign-currency surcharge because the transaction is in your home currency.

A weekend in Lisbon, paying for a hotel and a rental car. Both merchants may charge in EUR (no FX fee), and the unofficial 1,500 EUR daily and 6,000 EUR weekly limits will be the constraint. If the rental desk preauthorises a deposit of, say, 300 EUR on top of the rental price, that is a separate authorisation but counts against the same daily envelope, so check before you book. If the hotel charges in a non-EUR currency through a foreign processor, the conversion will use the official Visa rate with no Trade Republic markup, but the issuing bank network still has to route it, and you may see the merchant’s own conversion choice (Dynamic Currency Conversion) at the terminal — always choose to pay in the local currency if asked.

Cash from an ATM in Prague, taking out 200 EUR. The 100 EUR free-withdrawal threshold is met, so the Trade Republic side is free; the ATM operator may still charge its own fee, which is a bank-by-bank decision outside Trade Republic’s control. The unofficial 1,500 EUR daily and 6,000 EUR weekly limits apply here as well. Smaller withdrawals of 30 or 40 EUR trigger the 1 EUR fee and quickly add up if you do that several times in a week, so it is better to take out a bit more in fewer trips if you can.

The cost picture is therefore pleasant if your top-up is a SEPA transfer and your withdrawals are 100 EUR or more, and it gets more expensive the more you lean on card top-ups and small ATM visits.

How to top it up

The press release and product page both make the same point: the card spends from crypto you already hold with Trade Republic. The interesting phrase is “already hold”, because it means the funding model is the reverse of how a normal debit card works. You do not move money to a card account; you sell crypto from your brokerage account into the currency you want to spend, and the card then pays the merchant from that balance.

What is not stated on the readable pages is the list of cryptocurrencies that the card can spend, the networks on which crypto can be deposited, or the speed at which a deposit becomes spendable. The product copy talks about a “crypto balance” without naming the coins. The unofficial cost story (above) adds two more top-up channels that are not about crypto:

A practical point about the model: because the card spends from a brokerage balance, every card payment is, in Trade Republic’s own framing, a sale of the crypto that funds it. That matters for tax, because each payment is a disposal at the price of the moment, not at the price you originally paid for the coin. The reward of paying with crypto directly is also a tax event, where the equivalent on a normal debit card would not be. If you are in a country where crypto-to-fiat is taxable on spend, keep records or expect a year-end surprise.

Paying with it every day

The card is, on paper, an ordinary contactless Visa or Mastercard-style payment card that draws on a balance held with Trade Republic Bank. That balance is funded by selling crypto in the broker app at the moment of payment, and the merchant receives a normal card payment in fiat. From the merchant’s side, this looks identical to a regular bank card; from your side, the underlying movement is a trade.

Versions and wallets

According to unofficial sources, the card comes in three versions: virtual, Classic, and Mirror (a metal card that differs from Classic only in its casing, with the same fees and limits). The same sources report that Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, with the card added in the app. Official confirmation of the mobile wallets is not stated in the readable pages, and the card network itself is not stated in the readable text either, which is unusual for a card product. Treat the wallet support as plausible but unconfirmed.

Rewards

The press release talks about a 2% Crypto Saveback on card spend, reinvested into a savings plan and capped at 1,500 EUR of monthly spend. The product page, in the version read, says 1% Saveback on card payments. Unofficial reviews add a more detailed shape:

A small but real warning: one third-party source reports that Trade Republic changed the Saveback terms and at least one user lost the 1%. The exact date and the new terms were not read, and this is unofficial, but it is the kind of change that affects the value calculation. If the cashback is the main reason you would get the card, check the current terms in the app before you apply.

Practical limits and acceptance

The unofficial 1,500 EUR per day and 6,000 EUR per week limits are tight for a high spender but fine for ordinary use. The card is reported to work worldwide, with one Trustpilot reviewer simply saying “Card works worldwide”, and reviewers have used it in multiple currencies without a foreign-exchange surcharge. As with any card from a foreign issuer, the merchant’s BIN lookup may flag the card as foreign, especially in countries with strict fraud screening, and a few percent of transactions may need a 3-D Secure step. Address Verification Service (AVS) is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, so a small fraction of US and Canadian online checkouts may decline.

What can go wrong

A card is only as good as the company behind it, and here the picture is mixed but mostly reassuring. The card is issued by a German bank under EU rules, the broker is well-funded, and the user-feedback picture on Trustpilot is positive at 4.6 out of 5 from 67,608 reviews (read 2026-10-20), with 11% one-star. Visible reviews are mostly positive, and one user wrote simply “Card works worldwide”. A search of the card-specific complaint themes did not turn up a recurring problem with the card itself.

The recurring complaints about Trade Republic as a company, in the user reports and press coverage I could find, are not about the card:

There is also a 14 November 2025 press release on crypto spending with the card and the 2% Crypto Saveback, with the issuer named as Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin. The PDF text is compressed, so the exact terms need to be checked in the app, and one GIGA report says Trade Republic changed Saveback terms and a user lost the 1%. The report’s date was not read, and the source is unofficial.

A few risks that are not card-specific but worth knowing:

A final point about the broader category. The card industry has seen programmes shut down before, including the 2018 suspension of WaveCrest (a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands) and the November 2022 termination of Visa’s global agreements with FTX. Programmes typically give a notice period, stop loading, then stop spending, and ask users to withdraw remaining balances. This is not a prediction about Trade Republic, but it is the reason any “what can go wrong” section on a card review should mention the issuer rather than only the card.

What to take instead

If the Trade Republic card is the wrong fit — because you are outside the EU, because you want a higher cashback rate, or because you want a card that lives in a different wallet model — here are three alternatives, each with a clearly different shape.

Card Score Who it suits Trade-off
RedotPay 6.9 / 10 People outside the EU, including the US (except sanctioned countries), who want a stablecoin-funded Visa card. Virtual card 10.00 USD, physical 100.00 USD, 1.00% transaction fee, 1.20% non-default currency. US and many other places are explicitly off the supported list.
Bitpanda 6.5 / 10 Euro-area residents who already use Bitpanda and want a EUR Visa debit card that auto-converts from crypto, metals or fiat at payment. Restricted to euro-area residents; non-EUR FX incurs a Visa markup; cashback rate is 1% (page summary says “up to 2%”, unreconciled).
Wirex 6.7 / 10 People who want a metal Visa Signature debit card with up to 8% Cryptoback in WXT, and who live in one of the 130+ supported regions. Metal card order fee 45 GBP in the UK and 45 EUR elsewhere; cashback rate depends on tier; some categories excluded, including gambling and several money-services MCCs.

RedotPay is the broadest of the three by geography, with cards issued for USD and HKD, and a stablecoin-funded model. Its trade-off is a published fee schedule that adds up: 1% on the transaction itself, 1.2% for non-default currency, and 10 USD to start with a virtual card. It is also explicit about the country rules: the KYC list and the card-issuance list together exclude Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia and the United States, and 47 places are on the card-issuance ineligible list dated 28 August 2026, while Armenia, Georgia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither.

Bitpanda is a closer cousin of Trade Republic in that it is a euro-area broker with a card, but the conditions are different: only euro-area residents can order it, the card is a physical Visa debit in EUR, and the FX behaviour is “EUR 0 but VISA mark-up fees apply” rather than the no-markup story the Trade Republic reviewers tell. Cashback is 1% on crypto spending, with fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins excluded. The card summary’s “up to 2%” is not reconciled with the body’s 1%, so treat the higher number as marketing copy.

Wirex is the cashback play. It is the only one of the three that advertises a multi-percent reward (up to 8% in WXT for Elite metal cardholders), and it serves 130+ countries, but the metal card itself is 45 GBP in the UK and 45 EUR elsewhere, and the cashback tiers are gated by WXT holdings. Several MCCs are excluded from cashback, including gambling (7995) and a set of money-services codes.

Who I would recommend it to

Trade Republic’s card is at its best for a person who already has (or is happy to open) a Trade Republic brokerage account, lives in Germany, the Netherlands or another EU country the broker serves, holds crypto on the platform, and wants to spend that crypto without selling it first to a bank account. In that case the card is a clean add-on: no monthly fee, no foreign-currency surcharge, free ATM withdrawals from 100 EUR, and a savings-plan cashback that turns a small share of every spend into a regular investment.

It is less good for a person whose main reason to choose a crypto card is the cashback rate: the unofficial 1% (or the 2% Crypto Saveback from the press release) is not going to beat Wirex’s headline numbers, and the cap is low. It is a poor fit for someone outside the EU, because the underlying account is the gate and the public site is not forthcoming about who can open one. It is also a poor fit for a person who wants the card balance held in self-custody, because the model is custodial: your crypto sits with Trade Republic Bank, and the card spends from a balance the broker controls.

If you fall into the first group, the card is a sensible “yes” — order the virtual card first to confirm the experience, then decide whether the metal Mirror is worth 50 EUR to you. If you fall into any of the other groups, the alternatives above are better places to spend your time.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Trade Republic card?

The Trade Republic card is a payment card issued by Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin that lets you spend crypto you hold in a Trade Republic brokerage account. The card converts the crypto to fiat at the moment of payment, and the merchant receives a normal card transaction in their local currency.

How does the Trade Republic card work?

You keep your crypto on Trade Republic, and when you tap or insert the card, the app sells the right amount of crypto to cover the purchase. The merchant is paid in fiat through the card network, and from their point of view the payment looks like a regular card sale. The unofficial cost is the spread on the crypto-to-fiat sale rather than a card fee.

Is Trade Republic a bank?

Yes. The card is issued by Trade Republic Bank GmbH, based at Brunnenstrasse 19-21, 10119 Berlin. The company has a German banking licence and is supervised under EU rules, which is why the card is described as issued by a bank rather than an e-money institution.

Who owns Trade Republic?

The public company information is not stated on the readable product pages, and the card review does not depend on the shareholder structure. What is stated is that the card is issued by Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin, which is the legal entity you have a relationship with when you hold the card.

Is the Trade Republic card available in my country?

The readable public pages do not state a full list of supported countries. The product is published in en-de and en-nl versions, which signals Germany and the Netherlands, and the card is otherwise positioned for EU residents. The only way to confirm availability in a specific country is to start the application.

Does the Trade Republic card require KYC?

Yes, in the sense that the card is a feature of a regulated brokerage account, and opening a brokerage account in Germany requires identity verification. The specific documents and the length of the verification are not stated on the readable pages.

Is the Trade Republic card free?

The unofficial answer is mostly yes: no monthly fee, no annual fee, no foreign-currency surcharge, and free ATM withdrawals from 100 EUR. There is a one-off issuance cost (5 EUR for Classic, 50 EUR for the metal Mirror, 0 EUR for the virtual card, per reviewers), and a 1% fee if you top up by card rather than SEPA.

How do I add the Trade Republic card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Unofficial sources say Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported and the card is added in the Trade Republic app. The official pages do not state this directly, so if mobile wallet support is essential, confirm the current state in the app before ordering.

How do I top up the Trade Republic card?

The card spends from a Trade Republic brokerage balance, so the practical top-up is funding the brokerage account. Reviewers report SEPA bank transfer as free and the cheapest route; card, Apple Pay and Google Pay top-ups cost 1% per the same unofficial source.

Is the Trade Republic card safe?

The card is issued by a German bank under EU regulation, the company has a 4.6-out-of-5 Trustpilot score across more than 67,000 reviews, and the recurring user complaints (slow support, crypto spreads, occasional account blocks) are about the broker rather than the card. As with any crypto-funded card, the underlying crypto sits with the broker (custodial model), so the usual counterparty and hack risks apply.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team