Zeal card, a self-custody Visa that spends your stablecoin balance, scored on what it actually delivers
If you already keep crypto in your own wallet and want a Visa to spend it from, the Zeal card is one of the more interesting ideas on the market. It promises a payment card that draws on a self-custodial “Safe” rather than a custodial account, accepts Apple Pay, and runs in a long list of countries. That pitch is real, and so are the things that complicate it. I went through Zeal’s own pages, the App Store listing, the cards programme run by Gnosis Pay, and the user feedback that’s been posted publicly. This is what I found.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026. The card’s situation has been moving, and parts of the programme that sits underneath Zeal are being wound down; I come back to that in the risks section, because it changes how I’d think about signing up.
Verdict
Zeal earns 6.1 out of 10 in my scoring. The breakdown is in the table below, and the reasoning runs through the rest of the review. In short: the everyday use is solid, the cost story is clean, but the top-up options are narrow and, more importantly, the issuer side is closing the consumer product that powers Zeal. That last point is what knocks the score down the most.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Spending works in 150+ countries; issuance depends on eligibility and region, with the programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Zeal itself charges no extra FX fee; unofficial third-party figures show zero monthly fee, free shipping, and a €4.99 replacement card |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Spends from EUR, USD and GBP stablecoin balances in Safes on Gnosis Chain and Celo; the specific coins aren’t named on Zeal’s pages |
| Reliability and complaints | 2 / 10 | The card programme is closing its consumer product at 23:59 UTC on 2026-12-20, cashback in GNO ends 2026-09-30, and an ERC-1271 module was exploited on 2026-06-01 |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay support; ATM is possible under Gnosis Pay rules; Google Pay is supported unofficially |
Who the card suits: people who already hold a self-custodial wallet with EUR, USD or GBP stablecoins, want a Visa to spend them, and care about the fact that the funds never leave their own Safe until the moment of payment. If that’s you, the card is genuinely useful in the day-to-day sense.
Who it doesn’t suit: anyone who needs a long-term, stable card programme, anyone whose country isn’t on the issuance list, and anyone uncomfortable with the fact that the card underneath is being shut down to consumers. I’ll come back to what to take instead at the end of this review.
Who they will give the card to
Zeal’s headline claim is that you can spend in 150+ countries, and the cards programme run by Gnosis Pay — which is what actually issues the Visa — is live across the EU, the UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. So far, so broad.

The catch is that “spend in 150+ countries” and “be issued a card in your country” are two different things. Zeal’s own pages say issuance “depends on eligibility and regional availability,” and the order screen, by unofficial accounts, currently shows the EU, Switzerland, Iceland and Norway, with the US and large parts of APAC not on the list. Latin America is partly open: Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico are listed as supported in one third-party summary, with Bolivia flagged as both supported and coming soon, which is the kind of detail that tells you the picture is moving.
If you are in one of the listed issuance countries, you can expect the usual onboarding checks. Zeal’s own pages don’t publish the rules, but Gnosis Pay runs KYC through Sumsub after you sign in with Ethereum, and the third-party write-ups of the flow mention full identity and address verification, government ID or passport, a proof of address no more than three months old, and an 18+ age rule. The card itself is a Visa debit card. Zeal says virtual and physical cards are offered, with accounts in EUR, USD and GBP. Whether you get a physical card shipped to you, how long it takes, and what it costs: not stated on Zeal’s pages.
The honest reading is that country coverage is decent, but it isn’t global, and what the issuer accepts isn’t the same as what the merchant network accepts. If your country isn’t on the issuance list, the rest of the review is interesting but largely academic. If it is, the rest of this review is about what it actually costs and how it feels to use.
How to get the card
The signup path is meant to be light. You sign in with Ethereum, which links your wallet, and Gnosis Pay — the programme partner — runs the KYC behind the scenes. There is no published breakdown of KYC tiers, processing time, or rejection reasons on Zeal’s pages, and Zeal itself isn’t the regulated entity; that role belongs to Monavate Limited (the issuer, FCA-authorised as an e-money institution in the UK) and Gnosis Pay Co Ltd (UK company no. 14919639), which manages the card programme.
In practice that means: download the app, sign in with your wallet, hand over documents, and wait for approval. The upload step does not guarantee approval. The app is iPhone-only (iOS 16.2 or later on iPhone, plus Mac with M1+ and Apple Vision Pro). As of 20 October 2026, the App Store UK rating is 4.5 out of 5 from 17 ratings, with the latest build being 0.33.3 (1 September).
Once approved, the virtual card is available immediately for online use and can be added to Apple Pay. The physical card, if your region gets one, is offered but the country list, delivery time and shipping cost are not published. One older fee page from the underlying Gnosis Pay programme that a third party saved mentions a card purchase fee of EUR 30.23 including shipping and “delivered within 10 days after shipping verification,” but that figure is undated and Zeal’s current pages don’t repeat it, so treat it as a historical snapshot rather than today’s price.
If you want a smooth path, sign in with a wallet that already has the kind of stablecoins the card expects — EUR, USD or GBP balances on Gnosis Chain or Celo, per the Gnosis Pay docs. That way the moment your card is approved, the balance is there.
What it really costs
The cost story has two layers. The first is what Zeal itself charges. The second is what the issuer, Gnosis Pay, charges on top. They behave differently, and it matters to keep them separate.
What Zeal tells you, on its own pages, is that there is no additional FX fee from Zeal and that conversions happen at the Visa wholesale rate. There is no published fee schedule on the website or the App Store listing. That absence is itself a data point: a card with hidden fees doesn’t usually publish nothing; a card with simple fees often publishes little because the rule is short.
The unofficial third-party figures fill in the rest. Card order is free, physical shipping is free, replacement is €4.99 (in EURe/GBPe/USDCe), monthly or annual fee is zero, and ATMs give you the first five withdrawals or 200 units a month free, whichever comes first, then 2% per withdrawal, with a per-withdrawal cap of 250 and a daily cap of 500, in EURe/GBPe/USDCe. Per-transaction and rolling 24-hour limits sit around 5,000 and 8,000 in the same units, depending on who you read.
I’ll stress this: those numbers come from third-party sites, not from Zeal or Gnosis Pay directly, and they aren’t confirmed by the card. The cleanest thing I can say is that the card looks cheap, but you should sanity-check the live fees page in the app once you have it.
Fee cheat sheet
| Fee or limit | What I found |
|---|---|
| Card order | Free (unofficial) |
| Physical shipping | Free (unofficial) |
| Replacement card | €4.99 / $4.99 (unofficial) |
| Monthly or annual fee | 0 (unofficial) |
| FX fee from Zeal | None; Visa wholesale rate |
| ATM | First 5 withdrawals or 200 units per month free, then 2% (unofficial); 250 per withdrawal, 500 per day (unofficial) |
| Per-transaction limit | Around 5,000 (unofficial) |
| Rolling 24-hour limit | Around 8,000 (unofficial) |
To make this concrete, three everyday payments:
A €40 lunch in a euro country. Zeal converts your EUR stablecoin balance at the Visa rate, no extra fee. The merchant sees a normal Visa transaction. The only cost is the network fee you paid to fund the card, which is on the blockchain, not on Zeal.
A $60 dinner in a country that doesn’t use the dollar. Zeal converts your balance at the Visa wholesale rate, no additional FX fee from Zeal, and the merchant is paid in local currency. Again, the cost is the funding side.
A €100 ATM withdrawal in a country that allows it. If it is your first five withdrawals of the month, free. After that, 2%. The 250-per-withdrawal cap means a single €100 withdrawal is fine; a single €300 one is not.
The single most important thing to understand is that the fees you actually pay live in two places: the card programme (Gnosis Pay’s published fees and limits) and the blockchain (gas, bridging, conversion). If you fund the card from the right network with the right token, both are low. If you don’t, the gas alone can wipe out a coffee.
How to top it up
Top-up is the most “crypto-native” part of the experience, and the part with the most room to get things wrong.
The card spends from balances in the card Safe, which holds EUR, USD and GBP stablecoin accounts on Gnosis Chain and Celo, per the Gnosis Pay documentation. Zeal does not publish a definitive list of which specific tokens it accepts; the card account names line up with the EURe, GBPe and USDCe tokens on those networks, but the safest read of “which coin, on which chain” is that Zeal expects you to top up using a stablecoin that maps to the balance you want to spend. The official guidance is to send to the right network; the unofficial guidance adds that SEPA top-ups arrive in one to two business days, conversion and off-ramp fees are reported as 0% on one third-party site, and Ethereum bridging still costs gas.
If you want to fund with traditional money, the flow goes through Monerium ehf for EUR transfers and Unblock LT UAB for other transfers. Fees for that path are not stated. If you fund with crypto, the fees are the blockchain’s, not Zeal’s, and that’s true for any self-custody card.
Earn balances — the USD and EUR interest-bearing accounts inside the app — are withdrawable 24/7 with no lockup. What happens to your card balance if you close the account, and what it costs to withdraw it back to a bank: not stated by Zeal. That detail matters, and I’d want to know it before relying on the card as anything more than a spending tool.
The single rule of thumb: fund in the stablecoin that matches the balance you want to spend, on one of the networks the card supports, and double-check the address before you send. A blockchain transfer sent to the wrong network can be lost or stranded; Tether’s and Circle’s own pages make clear that there is no magic reversal.
Paying with it every day
In normal use, the Zeal card is a Visa. That’s the single biggest thing in its favour.
The virtual card is instant and works online. You can add it to Apple Pay on a supported iPhone, and the unofficial write-ups say Google Pay is also supported. Contactless limits on a phone wallet are not the same as on a physical card in most markets, which is a quiet plus. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, so I can’t tell you whether gambling or crypto purchases are blocked at the issuer level; MCC 7995 and similar codes are usually blocked by issuer policy rather than by law, and the exact list varies. If a specific MCC matters to you, ask the support team before you load the card.
Cashback is paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain. The headline is up to 4% (Zeal’s own page), with some reviews citing up to 5%, and the rate depends on how much GNO you hold in the card Safe. Rates can change, and — as I’ll come back to in the risks section — GNO cashback eligibility for the underlying programme ends on 2026-09-30. The App Store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR/USD balances, which is the Earn product, not a card reward.
For disputes, the picture is thin. There is no published dispute policy on Zeal’s pages or in the App Store, and Zeal’s public reply to a Trustpilot review complaining about a slow dispute is that “card disputes take time.” If you want a card with a strong, transparent dispute flow, this isn’t it. A declined transaction can also leave a hold on funds for several days, which is normal for card networks and not specific to Zeal, but worth knowing.
The everyday experience, when nothing goes wrong, is straightforward: top up, tap or insert, the merchant is paid in fiat, the balance drops. When something does go wrong — a declined authorisation, a disputed transaction, a stuck transfer — the recovery path is slower and less documented than I’d like, and that gap is the everyday-use risk to take seriously.
What can go wrong
This is the section I’d read twice.
The card programme is changing. Gnosis Pay, the provider of the card programme Zeal uses, has announced it is closing its consumer card and web app at 23:59 UTC on 2026-12-20 and is moving to a B2B model. Users are being pointed to partner apps, such as MiniPay, for replacement cards. Safe funds stay accessible, and the web app will remain in a limited form for withdrawals. Cashback in GNO ends on 2026-09-30. Zeal has not published its own roadmap for the period after 2026-12-20. Before signing up, check with support for the plan regarding card services past the closure date.
There was a security incident. An ERC-1271 module exploit on 2026-06-01 affected Card Safes. ERC-1271 is the standard for letting smart-contract wallets sign messages, so an exploit there poses risks for a self-custody card. No official statement from Zeal or Gnosis Pay regarding the scope of the incident or patching has been released.
The user feedback is mixed. Trustpilot for zeal.app is 3.5 out of 5 from 17 reviews; a January 2026 one-star review complained about support requests remaining unanswered for an extended period, which prompted a public apology, and a 2026 review cited a scam transaction and slow dispute handling. App Store reviews mention problems transferring funds from balance to card and slow support. The issuer’s Trustpilot for Gnosis Pay is 2.3 out of 5 from 38 reviews, with 58% one-star ratings and similar complaints about slow or unanswered tickets. These reports do not constitute a major, dated outage, but the pattern of support issues is consistent.
The custody story has its own kind of risk. The marketing line is that Zeal is self-custodial, so no bank or company can freeze or seize your funds. That’s true of the funds in your Safe, and it cuts both ways: if you lose your seed phrase or sign a malicious transaction, the funds are gone. Cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery. Zeal layers on biometric passkey authentication, real-time transaction alerts, an in-app card freeze, audited wallet code, Safety Checks and transaction previews, but the underlying truth is the one the security policy also says: “Your principal is at risk.” Deposits are not insured, and an EMI’s safeguarded customer funds are not the same as bank deposits protected by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Support is the part that is hardest to excuse. The published channels are Discord (discord.zeal.app) and X (@zealwallet); no email, no chat, no hours. The site is offered in English, French, German, Spanish and Italian; Russian is not on the list. If something goes wrong at 11pm on a Saturday, the path is to post in Discord and wait.
The legal status of the company is worth a beat. The app developer is grwth lbs ltd. Zeal itself is self-custodial software, not a regulated entity. The cards are managed by Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK company, and issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence, with Monavate FCA-authorised as an e-money institution. The end result is that a regulated EMI is the entity standing behind the card on the payment side, and the regulated licences matter if you ever need to escalate. The crypto side is not regulated in the same way, and that is normal for self-custody products but worth naming.
What to take instead
The honest context for these alternatives is that the card programme underneath Zeal is closing to consumers, so “what to take instead” is also a question about what survives the same kind of shutdown. I picked three cards that are well-known in the self-custody and stablecoin-spending space; all are different from Zeal in important ways. None of them is a perfect replacement; that is the point of the comparison.
MetaMask Card is the closest in spirit. It scores 7.1 out of 10 in my read, and the reason it edges past Zeal is the breadth of where it can be issued: 45 listed countries and territories, with examples including Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay. Other regions join a waitlist. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ, which is a real limitation, but the proof-of-residency model is a different beast from Zeal’s: “Ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending.” The card is a Mastercard, virtual first and instant, with a Metal tier pre-orderable in app for $199 a year. The headline cashback is 1% on Virtual and 3% on Metal (with a footnote capping the 3% at the first $10,000 spent, then 1% afterwards), paid in mUSD into the Money Account. The funding model is direct from the connected wallet, on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, with named tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT, and a warning that Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit. The everyday-use trade-off is that MetaMask’s published per-transaction fee is “minimal” but not quantified on the pages I read; if the precise number matters to you, the in-app fee table is the place to look. If the question is “is there a self-custody card that doesn’t depend on the Gnosis Pay programme,” MetaMask is the cleanest answer right now.
KAST takes a different angle: stablecoin-first, USD-denominated, with paid tiers. It scores 6.1 out of 10, the same as Zeal, but for different reasons. The card is a Visa, with up to 10 cards per user, and three tiers — Standard, Premium at $1,000 a year, Private at $10,000 a year — and special designs including Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin. The country model is a residence-based list at KYC: if your country isn’t listed, KAST isn’t available, and dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may still pass. The fee story includes 0% on stablecoin top-ups, 0% on USD card spend, and 0% on Apple/Google Pay, but carries fees on non-USD FX (0.5% to 1.75%) depending on residence, transaction country and programme. Micro-transaction fees ($0.10 on transactions under $25) and declined-transaction fees ($0.50) also apply. Cashback in USD scales by tier: 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month for Standard, 2% on the first $10,000 for Premium, 3% on the first $40,000 for Private, plus KAST Points. If you spend a lot in USD and want a multi-card setup with high cashback on a premium tier, KAST is an option; for a free, broad-coverage card, the Standard tier is an alternative.
Rizon is the third option, scoring 6.7 out of 10. The card is a Visa Platinum, virtual and physical, with a metal tier coming soon, and accounts in USD and EUR. Services are “intended for people who live in and are domiciled in” the US or LATAM, though the site also claims 122+ countries supported; this discrepancy is worth verifying during onboarding. Costs for virtual, physical, additional, and replacement cards require app verification, while account maintenance is free and the Emerald subscription starts at $5.59 a month. Fees include 0% on USD card spend, 1.7% + $0.10 on non-USD transactions, 1.7% on trading, and 0.85% on the Emerald tier. Cashback is 2.5% on eligible purchases, with RizPoints on top. Rizon is a credible option for users in LATAM seeking a US-dollar-denominated card, but verifying the fee schedule in the app is recommended.
The honest summary: MetaMask is the best “self-custody” replacement if you can get the card; KAST is the best “stablecoin spend” replacement if you want a tiered product and you spend in USD; Rizon is the best “LATAM/US” option but with caveats on country rules and fee transparency.
Who I would recommend it to
Putting the whole review together, my honest read is that Zeal is the right card for a narrow kind of user: someone who already keeps EUR, USD or GBP stablecoins in a self-custodial wallet, lives in one of the issuance countries (the EU, Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, the UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia or Thailand, with details moving), doesn’t need heavy support, and treats the card as a spending tool rather than a long-term commitment. The Apple Pay support and the clean “no extra FX fee” line make the everyday experience pleasant. The self-custody angle — funds stay in your Safe until the moment of payment — is real, and for someone who has been burned by a custodial platform, that alone is worth something.
I would not recommend it for someone who needs a card programme that will still be issuing consumer cards after 2026-12-20. The closure of the consumer side of the underlying programme is the single most important fact about this card right now, and Zeal has not confirmed its roadmap after that date. I would not recommend it for someone in a country where issuance isn’t listed, as the order screen is the gatekeeper, and users seeking a strong, transparent dispute policy should look elsewhere.
If you are the kind of user the card is built for, the score reads honest. The 6.1 reflects a card that does its job well in the day-to-day and falls short on the things that matter when things go wrong. Read the small print, especially the part about the issuer’s closure, before you sign in.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Zeal card?
The Zeal card is a Visa debit card that spends directly from a self-custodial “Safe” in your own wallet. You sign in with Ethereum, complete KYC through the underlying issuer, and the card draws on EUR, USD or GBP stablecoin balances in the Safe rather than on a custodial account.
How does the Zeal card work?
You fund your Safe with stablecoins on the supported networks (Gnosis Chain and Celo, per the underlying docs), the card converts at the Visa wholesale rate, and the merchant is paid in fiat. The virtual card is instant, the physical card is offered where available, and Apple Pay is supported on iPhone.
Is Zeal a bank?
No. Zeal is self-custodial software. The card programme is managed by Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, and the card is issued by Monavate Limited, a UK-based e-money institution authorised by the FCA under a Visa Europe licence. Funds in your Safe are not bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who owns Zeal?
The app developer listed on the App Store is grwth lbs ltd. The card programme is operated by Gnosis Pay Co Ltd (UK company no. 14919639), and the issuer is Monavate Limited, FCA-authorised as an e-money institution.
Is the Zeal card available in my country?
It depends on whether your country is on the issuance list and on your residency. Zeal’s own pages don’t publish the full list, but the order screen, by unofficial accounts, currently shows the EU, Switzerland, Iceland and Norway, with the US and large parts of APAC not on the list. Latin America is partly open (Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico), with Bolivia flagged as both supported and coming soon.
Does the Zeal card require KYC?
Yes. Zeal’s own pages don’t publish the rules, but the KYC is run by Gnosis Pay through Sumsub after sign-in with Ethereum. Third-party guides describe full identity and address verification, government ID or passport, a proof of address no more than three months old, and an 18+ age rule.
How do I top up the Zeal card?
Send the right stablecoin (mapping to the EUR, USD or GBP balance you want to spend) to your card Safe on a supported network — Gnosis Chain or Celo — or use the fiat on-ramp via Monerium ehf for EUR or Unblock LT UAB for other transfers. Network fees are paid to the blockchain, not to Zeal.
Is the Zeal card safe?
Self-custody cuts both ways. The funds in your Safe are not held by a company that can be hacked or frozen, but you alone are responsible for your seed phrase and your signing decisions. There is a biometric passkey, an in-app card freeze, real-time alerts and audited wallet code, and the security policy is explicit: “Your principal is at risk.” Deposits are not insured.
What is happening with the Zeal card in December 2026?
Gnosis Pay, the company running the consumer card programme that powers Zeal, has announced it is closing its consumer card and web app at 23:59 UTC on 2026-12-20 and is moving to B2B. Safe funds stay accessible, the web app stays in limited form for withdrawals, and partner apps (MiniPay named) are suggested for replacement cards. GNO cashback eligibility ends on 2026-09-30. Zeal’s own plans past that date are not publicly confirmed; ask support directly before relying on the card long-term.
Is the Zeal card worth it?
For a self-custody user in a supported country who already holds EUR, USD or GBP stablecoins and wants a clean Visa to spend them, yes — the everyday experience is solid, the FX story is clean, and the card does what it says. For anyone who needs long-term programme stability, a transparent dispute flow, or a card in a country that isn’t on the issuance list, no — and the upcoming closure of the consumer side of the underlying programme is the single biggest reason to pause before signing up.
Wallet cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
