The Revolut crypto card, read closely

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Revolut’s crypto card is not really a crypto card in the usual sense. It is a virtual card attached to a Revolut account you probably already have, drawing on a balance that can be topped up from crypto. That reframing matters: the card is one feature of a much larger app, not a standalone crypto product, and the fees you will meet are the app’s fees, not a specialist card’s. I gave it 6.5 out of 10. It works well for a specific reader — someone in the EU or UK who already uses Revolut day to day and wants to spend a crypto balance without thinking about it — and poorly for everyone else, particularly anyone whose reason for wanting a card is that ordinary banks will not give them one.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Revolut works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.5 out of 10, and the score is not mysterious

The headline number hides something useful: this is a good card for a narrow group and a poor choice outside it. I broke the score into the criteria I actually judge a crypto card on, and each mark comes with the reason.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Availability depends on the country and the plan; unofficially 37 countries including the EU, UK, Australia, Japan, Singapore, New Zealand, with 12 countries closed
Cost 6 / 10 Virtual cards are free on Standard, Plus and Ultra; the crypto exchange fee is plan-based, unofficially 1% above 1,000 pounds a month on Standard and a 1% weekend markup
Top-up options 8 / 10 Unofficially, you can draw from a chosen crypto or fiat account, spend 250+ tokens and hold 30+ fiat currencies; officially the coins are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Unofficially the issuers are Revolut Ltd, Revolut Bank UAB, and in the EU Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd; Trustpilot is high, but there are complaints about account closures and hard disputes
Everyday use 6 / 10 A virtual crypto card; unofficially Apple Pay and Google Pay, with the ATM allowance depending on the plan

The total is 6.5 out of 10.

Who this suits. If you are in the EU or UK, you already bank with Revolut for day-to-day spending, and you hold some crypto you would like to spend without a separate exchange account, this card does its job quietly. The 8 out of 10 on top-up options is the strongest mark here, and it is earned: being able to pick which balance the card eats from is the feature that makes it feel less like a gamble and more like another account.

Who this does not suit. If your problem is that you cannot open a normal bank card — because of where you live, your residency status, your documentation or a banking history — this is the wrong answer, and I want to be blunt about why. Revolut is a regulated app with its own identity checks and its own compliance staff. It is not an escape hatch from the banking system; it is another institution inside it, with the same appetite for closing accounts. The complaint pattern in §risks is precisely about accounts being closed without clear reasons. If you were hoping a crypto card would sidestep that, it does not.

Will they give you the card?

Officially, the card’s public pages do not say. That is worth stating plainly once: the card’s own materials do not spell out a country list, and everything in this section comes from third-party aggregators, not from Revolut.

What those unofficial sources report is 37 countries where the crypto card is said to be available: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK. Twelve countries are said to be restricted: Belarus, Canada, Cuba, India, Iran, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Sudan, Syria and the United States. All of this is per CryptoCardHub as of August 2026; a second aggregator puts the figure higher, at 48+ countries.

Two things to notice. First, these lists are unconfirmed by the card, and country lists change; the reliable test is whether your own verification completes. Second, the restricted list includes the United States, which surprises people who assume a global app is available everywhere. If you are in one of the twelve, do not plan around this card.

Whether you pass identity checks is officially not stated either. Unofficially, full KYC is expected — a government ID and possibly a selfie — and source-of-funds declarations may be requested for large crypto transactions.

How to get it

You do not apply for a crypto card separately, because it is a feature inside the Revolut app. Once your Revolut account is verified you can add the virtual crypto card to it; the card is described officially as a virtual crypto card linked to a Revolut account. The card’s network and currency are not stated on the public pages. Unofficially it is a Visa or Mastercard prepaid debit card, with the network depending on your region — which matters, because as the background section explains, the network and the issuer country are what merchants look at.

The delivery side is thin here too, and it is thin in a way that may not matter to you. Official delivery details are not stated. Unofficially: Standard is a paid card at around £4.99 or €5.50, Plus is paid, Premium gets free express, and Metal and Ultra get free priority; a replacement is around £5 or €6 on Standard, Plus and Premium, and more on Metal and Ultra. Since the crypto card here is a virtual card, physical delivery pricing is only relevant if you want the rest of the Revolut range.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the honest picture: the free-looking part is real, and the cost hides in the conversion and the plan.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Revolut payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card’s own fee schedules list virtual cards as free on Standard, Plus and Ultra — though that reading comes from older 2023–2024 fee schedule PDFs, not the current one. The help page (German version) says there is no exchange fee for crypto transactions with the Revolut card, but fair usage fees may apply depending on the plan. The older schedule gave an exchange limit of £1,000 a month on Standard and then a 1% fee, £3,000 on Plus and then 0.5%, and no limit on Premium, Metal or Ultra. The FX fee on that page was not read.

Unofficially, per CryptoCardHub in August 2026, the picture is: plan fees in the UK and EEA of Standard £0, Plus £3.99 or €2.99, Premium £7.99 or €7.99, Metal £14.99 or €13.99 and Ultra £55 or €60 a month; a weekend FX markup of 1% on Standard, 0.5% on Plus and 0% on Premium, Metal and Ultra; and a fair usage fee of 1% above £1,000 a month on Standard and 0.5% above £3,000 on Plus. The 2023 terms quoted a crypto fee of 1.99% or £0.99, whichever was greater, on Standard and Plus. ATM withdrawals are said to be free up to £200 a month on Standard and Plus, £400 on Premium, £800 on Metal and £2,000 on Ultra, then 2%, with a daily ATM limit of £3,000.

Fee or limit What the material says
Card issuance Virtual cards free on Standard, Plus and Ultra (official schedule, older); physical card pricing unofficial
Monthly fee Standard £0; Plus £3.99/€2.99; Premium £7.99/€7.99; Metal £14.99/€13.99; Ultra £55/€60 (unofficial)
Crypto exchange No exchange fee for card crypto transactions, fair usage fees may apply (official help page); older terms: 1% above £1,000/month Standard, 0.5% above £3,000/month Plus (unofficial)
FX / weekend markup Weekend markup 1% Standard, 0.5% Plus, 0% Premium/Metal/Ultra (unofficial); official FX fee not read
ATM Free allowance £200/month Standard and Plus, £400 Premium, £800 Metal, £2,000 Ultra, then 2%; daily limit £3,000 (unofficial); official says fees apply beyond a monthly allowance
Spending limits Not stated
Exchange limits 100 crypto exchanges per 24 hours per official help page; unofficial sources say 200, and a single transaction of around £100,000

Now three everyday payments, and which of those fees actually touches each.

Buying coffee in your home currency on a Standard plan. This is the cheapest case. A domestic payment in the currency of your account, with the card balance already in that currency, should not touch the FX markup — that applies to weekend conversion and non-home currencies. No exchange fee arises because you are not exchanging anything. You pay your coffee.

Paying a foreign online service on a weekday, from a Euro plan. Here the FX markup is the fee that matters, and unofficially it is 1% on Standard on weekends; the weekday rate is not stated in the official schedules, so treat the FX fee as uncertain rather than assume zero. Also note the background point about address verification: a foreign-issued card is often declined for that reason alone, which costs you nothing but wastes your time.

Swapping a large crypto balance into card spend in a month. This is where the fair usage fee bites. Unofficially, on Standard you can exchange £1,000 a month before the 1% fee starts; beyond that, 1% of the excess. On Plus the threshold is £3,000 and the fee is 0.5%. If you are a heavy exchanger, that is the number to plan around — and if you are not, it is irrelevant, which is why I present it as a threshold rather than a headline rate.

One thing the material contradicts itself on: the official help page says 100 crypto exchanges per 24 hours, while unofficial sources say 200 and a single transaction around £100,000. I would plan to the lower, official figure.

Top up: how the card gets money

Officially, not stated — the coins and networks were not read. So everything here is unofficial, and I will flag it as such. One caveat from the calling notes: Pro and Business accounts cannot link the card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Revolut starts with a transfer to the right network

Unofficially, per CryptoCardHub in August 2026, the card draws from a chosen crypto or fiat account with fallback to other accounts, and supports spending from 250+ tokens and holding 30+ fiat currencies.

The mechanism to understand is the one described in the background: most crypto cards work like prepaid cards. You convert or top up a fiat balance (or a stablecoin-denominated one) first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. That is why the coins and networks matter less than you might expect — what matters is which balance you point the card at, and how much of that balance has already cleared the exchange threshold.

If you are new to this, the thing to check before your first transfer is which network the provider expects. A deposit sent on the wrong network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, and stablecoins are not available on every network you have heard of — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, for example, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.

Paying with it every day

Officially, several things are not stated: which wallets you can add the card to, what rewards exist, what the app is like, and how disputes work. What follows is unofficial throughout.

Wallets. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. That is a real quality-of-life gain, because a tokenised mobile wallet stores a device-specific number rather than your card number and uses a one-time code per payment, which is a meaningfully better security posture than handing over a plastic card.

Rewards. Metal and Ultra carry cashback, unofficially reported at 0.1% in eligible European countries and 1% elsewhere, capped at roughly one month’s fee; Standard, Plus and Premium have none. Read that cap carefully — the reward is bounded by what you already pay, so on Ultra the cashback cannot outgrow the £55 or €60.

The app. App Store 4.8/5 from 140,618 ratings, Google Play 4.5/5, Trustpilot 4.6/5. The Trustpilot figure differs slightly from the ~4.5/~425K reviews cited in the complaints section; treat these as separate snapshots, not a contradiction to resolve.

Disputes. Not stated, and this is the gap I would worry about most, because disputes are precisely where the complaint record is worst.

What can go wrong

The risk section is where I would slow a hesitant reader down, because this card’s problems are not clever or technical. They are procedural.

The company behind the card. Officially not stated. Unofficially: the issuer is Revolut Ltd in the UK and Revolut Bank UAB in the EU, with regional partner banks elsewhere, and EU crypto runs through Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd in Cyprus as a MiCA-registered CASP. Separately, the PRA granted Revolut a UK banking licence with restrictions in July 2024 — reported in September 2024 as a third-party summary I did not read in detail. A banking licence with restrictions is not the same as an unrestricted one; I would not assume unlimited protection.

The complaint pattern. Trustpilot sits around 4.5/5 from roughly 425,000 reviews, which is a strong score, but the themes underneath it are specific: accounts closed without clear reasons, hard fraud and chargeback cases, and a crypto deposit held for two and a half months or more. There are Reddit posts along the same lines. And there is a UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5705456, on card payments to a crypto platform, turning on a scam with no chargeback grounds. Read together these say something simple: the platform’s rating is high, but when something goes wrong, resolution is slow and can be hard.

Why accounts get closed. This is the background reason behind the complaints, and it is worth understanding rather than fearing. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, due diligence covers identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening often applies to citizenship and country of birth. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end it. That is why accounts close or freeze pending documents. It is the law operating normally, not a sign you did something wrong — though it is also not a promise you will like the outcome.

Custody risk. This is not Revolut-specific but it applies to the balance your card spends from. With a custodial platform, the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust it completely, and transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. The history is not encouraging: Mt. Gox around US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022.

Declines and holds. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines with no explanation. And a card issued in one country can simply look foreign to a shop in another, because merchants read the issuer country off the card’s first six or eight digits.

Taxes. I am not giving tax advice, but you should know the shape of it: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the transaction date. Each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Rules outside the US vary. If this is material to you, talk to a professional in your own country.

What to take instead

If the Revolut card does not fit, the alternatives below all spend from a crypto balance too, and each trades away something. I have read them against the same criteria; the scores are from the same scale.

RedotPay — 6.9 / 10

The strongest alternative on paper, at 6.9 out of 10, and it beats Revolut mainly on clarity of pricing. Its eligibility rules are published on two official lists that word the restriction differently: a KYC list saying citizens of the listed countries cannot complete identity verification or use the services, based on “local regulations and sanction policies — not on individuals”; and a card-issuance list dated August 28, 2026, covering 47 places, saying residents of those areas are ineligible for both virtual and physical cards and cannot be billing addresses. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia appear on both; Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither.

The costs are explicit where Revolut’s are muddy: virtual card application 10.00 USD, physical 100.00 USD (not cancellable or refundable once paid), virtual replacement 5.00 USD first and 10.00 USD each later, account maintenance waived. A paid tier, RedotPay Pro, is 12.90 USD monthly or 129.00 USD annual. Transaction fee is 1.00%, the non-default currency 1.20%, small authorisations of 1.00 USD or less are waived for the first five per card per month then 0.2 USD, and declined transactions are waived for the first three per month then 0.5 USD. Fee table effective December 1, 2025.

It offers virtual and physical cards, a USD card on a USD BIN and an HKD card on an HKB BIN, Visa debit in the Singapore terms, funding by on-chain crypto deposit or buying crypto with a credit card in the app (ETH, USDC, USDT depending on region), a USDT-TRC20 minimum deposit of 1 USDT after network fees, and a free deposit fee to card balance. A 5 USD welcome reward is usable only on spending, valid 30 days, and cannot be used toward the issuance fee.

The catch: a 100 USD physical card is a real barrier, and the country lists are stricter than Revolut’s in some places.

Bitpanda — 6.5 / 10

Same score as Revolut, different shape. It requires a verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country, and the rule is by residence — users verified via “Bankident” cannot order a card. The card is a physical Visa debit card, EUR only, one active card at a time.

Costs are modest and stated: account opening, monthly cost and first shipment free, reissue EUR 5.90 (the FAQ says lost or stolen EUR 9.90), each additional physical card EUR 10. The non-EUR FX fee is EUR 0, but “VISA mark-up fees apply”. It spends from a chosen main and optional fallback asset — listed cryptocurrencies, precious metals or EUR — converted to EUR at payment, with Crypto Indices excluded and a minimum payment of EUR 1.

One unreconciled detail: the body says 1% cashback on crypto spending while the page summary says “up to 2%”. Fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins are excluded from the cashback, and the payout currency is not stated. If cashback is why you are here, check the current number yourself.

Wirex — 6.7 / 10

Wirex sits between the two. Its availability of physical and virtual cards “depends on your region”, fees are published for the UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU and “Other”, the homepage claims a service area of “Worldwide (130+ countries)”, and the Singapore terms bar cash withdrawals there and block transactions with “Prohibited Countries”. The residence country you enter must match your ID.

Card issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU and “Other”, PIN change free, with a Metal card at a 45 GBP order fee on the UK page and “only 45 EUR” delivery elsewhere; the card page says “no annual or foreign exchange fees”. A one-off administrative fee of 30 GBP applies to accounts violating the General Terms of Service, and fees are “subject to change”. One physical and one virtual card at a time.

Funding is flexible: the card is linked to the Wirex account and spending can use “cash, stablecoins, and cryptocurrencies”, with top-ups from another Wirex account, from another person or via a third-party payment provider. Fiat deposits by SEPA (EUR), Faster Payments (GBP), ACH (US) and PIX (Brazil) are free. Rewards are Cryptoback in WXT at Standard 0.5%, Premium 3% and Elite up to 8%, but ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling, refunds and a long list of merchant category codes are excluded.

Which one is right depends on where you are and what you hold, not on the scores — 6.5 to 6.9 is a narrow band, and the deciding factors are country eligibility and the exact fee on your currency, which is exactly the thing none of these cards publishes clearly.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Revolut card to three kinds of person, and no others.

First, if you already live inside Revolut — the EU or UK, verified account, spending through it regularly — and you hold crypto you want to turn into ordinary purchases. For you the marginal friction is near zero and the 250+ tokens for spending is the point.

Second, if you travel between several of the supported countries and want one balance to draw on, accepting the FX markup as the price of that convenience.

Third, if you are curious about the crypto-card category and want to try it inside an app you can already navigate, with virtual-only risk and no physical card to lose.

I would steer away from it if any of these are true: you need a card because banks will not serve you; you are in one of the twelve restricted countries; you are a heavy exchanger who will cross the fair-usage threshold every month; you care most about Metal or Ultra cashback and would be paying more in fees than the reward returns; or you are someone for whom an unexplained account freeze would be worse than a declined payment. The last of these matters most. This card’s weakness is not speed or fees — it is that when something goes wrong, the record shows it can go wrong slowly and without an explanation you like.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Revolut card?

The Revolut card is a virtual payment card inside the Revolut app, and the crypto version draws on a crypto or fiat balance you choose. It is not a standalone crypto product: the card is one feature of a banking app you sign up for once and use for everything. I rated it 6.5 out of 10, with its strongest suit being top-up flexibility and its weakest being how complaints get resolved.

How does the Revolut card work?

It works like a prepaid card. You convert or top up a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Unofficially it is a Visa or Mastercard prepaid debit with the network depending on your region, drawing from a chosen crypto or fiat account with fallback to others. It supports 250+ tokens and 30+ fiat currencies, per third-party sources.

Is Revolut a bank?

Partly. Revolut operates through Revolut Ltd in the UK and Revolut Bank UAB in the EU, with regional partner banks elsewhere. The PRA granted Revolut a UK banking licence with restrictions in July 2024. A licence with restrictions is not an unrestricted one, so I would not assume the same protections as a mainstream high-street bank.

Is the Revolut card available in my country?

Unofficially, the crypto card is said to be available in 37 countries including the EU, UK, Australia, Japan, Singapore and New Zealand, with 12 restricted including the United States, Canada, India and Russia. Revolut’s own public pages do not publish this list. The reliable test is whether your verification completes, and country lists change.

Does the Revolut card require KYC?

Yes, in practice. Officially the card’s pages do not state it, but unofficially full KYC is expected — a government ID and possibly a selfie — and source-of-funds declarations may be requested for large crypto transactions. Under EU rules, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must hold back or end the relationship, which is why accounts sometimes close.

Is the Revolut card free?

The virtual card is listed as free on Standard, Plus and Ultra. The costs are elsewhere: plan fees unofficially run from £0 on Standard to £55 or €60 on Ultra, the crypto fair usage fee starts above £1,000 a month on Standard, and a weekend FX markup is 1% on Standard. Issuing the card is the free part; spending crypto repeatedly is not.

How do I top up the Revolut card?

Unofficially, the card draws automatically from a chosen crypto or fiat account with fallback to other accounts, so you set the source once rather than topping up per purchase. Pro and Business accounts cannot link the card. Before your first on-chain deposit, check which network the provider expects — the wrong network can lose the funds.

Can I add the Revolut card to Apple Wallet?

Unofficially, Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported. A tokenised mobile wallet stores a device-specific number on the device rather than your card number and uses a one-time code per payment, so it is a safer way to pay than passing the card around. Nothing official on the card’s public pages confirms the wallet support.

Is the Revolut card safe?

Safety here is a trade-off, not a verdict. You get spending limits, instant freeze, 3-D Secure checks and tokenised wallets. You also take custodial risk on the balance, the tax position of paying from crypto, and the real possibility of an account closed without a clear reason — a recurring theme in reviews alongside a Trustpilot score around 4.5/5.

How do I withdraw money from Revolut?

The card’s public pages do not state withdrawal terms, and the material I had did not cover it. What I can tell you is that the card spends a balance rather than a bank account, so the balance is the thing to think about rather than the card. Check the current withdrawal terms in the app before relying on them, especially if you hold crypto rather than fiat.

Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team