A strong everyday card for US residents who spend crypto, with fees that bite abroad
The Uphold card is a Visa you fund from a crypto wallet rather than a bank account, and it comes in two versions: Essential, which is free to keep, and Elite, which costs $99.99 a year and pays XRP rewards. I scored it 5.8 out of 10 overall. That number is not a shrug. The card does its everyday job unusually well, and if you are a US resident who already holds crypto and wants to spend it without converting to dollars first, you will find very little to complain about on the mechanics. What pulls the score down is not the card; it is who can actually get one, and what can happen to your balance when your account is frozen.

If you are reading this from outside the United States, stop here and read the eligibility section before anything else. This card is not open to you. The page for the card describes it as being for US residents in US states and Washington D.C., and not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories. Everything else in this review assumes you are in that group. If you are elsewhere, the alternatives section is the part of this page worth your time.
If you are in the US, the questions worth having in your head as you read are these: what does a purchase cost you, what happens when you spend abroad, and what is the realistic worst case if something goes wrong with your account. I answer them in that order, because that is the order in which the money actually leaves your hands.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.8 out of 10
Five point eight is a card that works well for a narrow and specific person and is unavailable or a poor fit for almost everyone else. Let me put the score table in front of you first, because the individual marks are more informative than the total and you can weigh them yourself.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | US residents in US states and Washington D.C. only; not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Essential: $0 annual, $0 virtual, $4.99 plastic, 1.50% foreign fee, $2.95 ATM; Elite: $99.99 annual, 0% foreign fee; BTC/ETH conversion spread 2.05% to 2.2% |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | Card spends wallet balances: 300+ digital assets and USD, stablecoins highlighted; funded by bank transfer, PayPal or crypto; networks not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Issuer is Cross River Bank (Member FDIC), programme run by Uphold HQ Inc.; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews, but account freezes lasting weeks and up to 3 months |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”, ATM $2.95 on Essential and $0 on Elite |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | The sum of the above, and it is a card for a specific person, not a general recommendation |
Read that “Who can get it” row twice if you are not sure whether you are eligible. A 2 out of 10 there is not a criticism of the card’s design; it is a fact about where it exists. The card simply was not built for the world at large.
So who does it suit? A US resident, in an eligible state, who already holds a meaningful crypto balance, who is comfortable with a stablecoin or with paying a conversion spread when they spend an asset like Bitcoin or Ethereum, and who wants an Apple Pay or Google Pay wallet backed by that balance. If you additionally want the card to pay you XRP while you spend, Elite is the version that does that at a meaningful rate, and the upgrade from Essential to Elite carries a $0 fee.
And who does it not suit? If you are outside the US, or in Louisiana or New York, this is not your card. If you want predictable costs on every purchase and you do not mind holding dollars, a conversion spread of 2.05% to 2.2% on BTC and ETH is a real, recurring cost that a plain bank card does not charge you. If you need to travel and spend large amounts abroad, the 1.50% foreign transaction fee on Essential adds up, and Elite exists largely to remove it. And if what you want is a card where your crypto is genuinely yours and outside anyone’s reach, this is not that either — the balance sits with Uphold, and I will come back to that in the risks section, because it is the part I would think hardest about.
Who will they give you the card to
The card is for US residents living in US states and Washington D.C. It is not available in Louisiana, New York, or US territories. That is a residence-based test, not a citizenship test: the card’s own page frames eligibility around where you live, and it does not describe any separate citizenship requirement or rule about nationality.
I want to be precise about what that means for you, because “US resident” is doing a lot of work in that sentence. If you moved to Texas or Washington State with an address, you fall inside the frame. If you are a US citizen living in Lisbon, you fall outside it. The distinction matters because eligibility, the shipping address and the bank that holds your balance are all tied to the same geography.
Everything else about who gets the card follows from ordinary account-opening rules rather than from anything unusual. The card terms require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and a date of birth, and the card is for personal use only. There is no credit check. But the card’s public pages do not state which documents you will be asked for, whether proof of address is required, what age applies beyond the usual adult threshold, whether there are KYC tiers, or how long verification takes. I would not read that silence as reassurance. It means the detail is somewhere in the onboarding flow or the support centre rather than on the page.
One more thing to know before you start: you need an Uphold wallet, and the card spends from it. The card is not a standalone account you can open on its own.
How to get it
The path is short on paper: open an Uphold wallet, which the company says takes under five minutes, then add a card to it. There is no credit check. You get a Visa, and you choose between the virtual card and the physical one.
The physical card is where the two tiers diverge in a way you can feel. The Essential physical card is plastic. The Elite physical card is metal. The virtual card exists on both tiers.
Delivery needs a US mailing address. The card’s public pages do not state a delivery time or a shipping cost, so I cannot tell you how long you will wait for the plastic or the metal, and you should not assume either figure from experience with other cards. One practical detail is worth knowing in advance: expedited replacement is not available. If you lose the card, a replacement is ordered and you wait the same as anyone else. Replacement costs $4.99 on Essential and $29.99 on Elite, with one free replacement per year on Elite.
I would take the virtual card first if you can. It is free on both tiers, and it gives you Apple Pay or Google Pay access in the meantime — which, given a physical delivery time nobody publishes, is worth a lot in the first month.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline numbers are friendly. The costs are in the conversion spread and the foreign transaction fee, and those are where your money quietly leaves.

Both tiers are USD cards. Spending abroad is converted to USD by Visa at the rate in effect on the day the transaction is processed, and the foreign transaction fee is then added on top. The bank does not reimburse exchange-rate losses or foreign fees, so if the rate moves against you between the day you buy and the day the charge settles, that difference is yours. The card does not offer a multi-currency balance.
Here is the full cost picture, both tiers side by side.
| Fee or limit | Essential | Elite |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 | $99.99 |
| Virtual card issuance | $0 | $0 |
| Physical card issuance | $4.99 (plastic) | $0 (metal) |
| Card replacement | $4.99 | $29.99 (one free per year) |
| Close card | $0 | $0 |
| Customer service | $0 | $0 |
| POS purchase | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign transaction fee (purchases) | 1.50% | 0% |
| Foreign ATM transaction fee | $1.50 | $0 |
| ATM withdrawal fee (in- or out-of-network) | $2.95 | $0 |
| ATM balance inquiry | Not available | Not available |
| Crypto conversion fee on the card page | Not stated | Not stated |
| BTC/ETH conversion spread (typical, US/UK/Europe) | 2.05% to 2.2% | 2.05% to 2.2% |
| Maximum card balance | $25,000 | $25,000 |
| Purchases and total withdrawals | $2,500/day, $10,000/month | $25,000/day, $100,000/month |
| ATM | $500/day, $2,000/month, 3 per day, 10 per month | $2,000/day, $10,000/month, 3 per day, 30 per month |
Now let me walk you through three ordinary payments and show you which lines on that table actually apply.
Buying coffee for $4 in your own city, paid from USD or a stablecoin sitting in your wallet. No card fee: a POS purchase is $0. The conversion line does not bite you either, because USD and USD stablecoins convert 1:1. You pay $4. This is the case the card is good at, and on Essential it is genuinely free.
Buying a $30 subscription while travelling in another country, paid from a stablecoin. Visa converts $30 to USD at the rate on the processing day, then Essential adds 1.50% — about 45 cents. On Elite that fee is $0 and you pay only the rate. Over a year of regular foreign spending this is the single clearest reason to pay $99.99, and if you spend heavily abroad it is the only reason you would.
Buying a $200 item with Bitcoin in your wallet. Here the card’s real cost lives. BTC and ETH conversion spreads run 2.05% to 2.2%, so roughly $4 to $4.40 on a $200 purchase, and no card fee at all is charged on top. Other stablecoins sit under 0.25%, major FX conversions at 0.3%, altcoins at 2.85% to 3.8%, and precious metals at 2.35% to 3.40%. The “Preview Trade” tool shows the all-in price before you commit, and I would use it every time on a large purchase.
That spread table is worth internalising as a rule: the card’s cost depends not on how much you spend but on what you spend it from. Holding USD or a USD stablecoin, you are paying normal merchant prices. Holding Bitcoin, you are paying a conversion toll on top. Nobody at the till tells you this, and it is the thing I would tell a friend first.
Two limits on the ATM side are easy to miss. Essential allows 3 ATM withdrawals a day and 10 a month, and Elite also allows 3 a day but 30 a month; if you are at a machine more than three times a day, neither tier will serve you. Bank-teller cash withdrawals follow the same amounts as ATM.
How to Top up the wallet behind the card
The card has no separate balance of its own. It spends your Uphold wallet balances directly: 300+ digital assets and USD, with stablecoins highlighted as the straightforward option. That is a genuinely large pool of assets to spend, and it is the reason this card scores well on top-up options.

Funding routes are bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal, or a crypto deposit. Networks are not listed on the pages I read, which is the practical gap here. When you deposit crypto, you need to know which network your asset is on and that Uphold accepts it — blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Stablecoins exist on many networks, and the two largest dollar-pegged ones are not supported on all of them; Circle, for example, stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. Check the deposit screen for your specific asset before you send.
Per-method deposit fees and minimums are not stated. What is stated is the conversion spread that applies when crypto becomes spendable USD: USD and USD stablecoins convert at 0% on a 1:1 basis, capped at $20,000 a month per customer; other stablecoins under 0.25%; major FX pairs 0.3%; BTC and ETH 2.05% to 2.2%; altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%; precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%.
Getting money off the card is straightforward and slightly unusual. Funds in the card account do not expire. You close the card through customer service at a $0 fee. The bank may cancel the card at any time. And only the USD fiat account is FDIC-insured — crypto and metals are not — which is the single most important line in this paragraph for anyone holding more than a coffee budget. Withdrawal fees to a bank are not stated.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card earns its high marks. You have a virtual and a physical Visa, and you can add either to Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”. Apple Pay stores a device-specific number in the phone’s secure element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time code, so using your phone rather than the plastic is the safer of the two habits.
The rewards are the part that will decide Elite versus Essential for you, and they have changed. The rewards currency is currently XRP. On Elite you get 4% in XRP on crypto- and metals-funded spend, or 3% in XRP on fiat and stablecoin spend, with a cap up to $300. On Essential it is 2% in XRP, capped at $120. The programme applies to cards activated on or after 1 January 2026, and the rewards are available for 3 months after activation. Read that last part carefully: this is a three-month benefit tied to activation, not a permanent rebate on your spending. On Essential the maths is simple — the $120 cap at 2% is reached at $6,000 of eligible spend in three months.
If you hold a lot of Bitcoin and spend it, Elite at 4% is a large number that deserves a moment of scepticism: the rate is paid in XRP, so what you receive depends on where XRP is trading that day, and the reward only makes sense if you already want to hold XRP rather than to sell it. I would treat it as a nudge, not as income, and not as a reason to spend money you were not going to spend anyway.
Support tooling is good. The iOS app holds 4.7 out of 5 across 91K ratings as I read it, version 6.111.0. The Google Play rating I did not read. If disputes come up — they do — you start them inside the Uphold platform. Report errors within 60 days; phone reports need written confirmation within 10 business days. The bank decides within 10 business days, and a full resolution can take up to 45 days with provisional credit within 10 business days, or up to 90 days for new cards, point-of-sale or foreign-initiated transactions. Unauthorized Visa transactions are investigated in 5 business days plus 5 more. For a lost or stolen card your liability is capped at $50 if you report within 2 business days, and up to $500 if you report later. Worth knowing: the terms do not use the word “chargeback” anywhere.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated on the card pages, so I cannot tell you whether gambling or similar categories are declined. In this category generally, gambling carries a four-digit merchant category code of 7995, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law — but that varies by issuer, and Uphold’s policy is not published where I looked.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would read twice, and it is the reason the score is not higher.
The most common serious complaint is an account freeze or restriction lasting weeks and, in some cases, up to three months. It often comes at a specific moment: after your first deposit, after linking the card, after a withdrawal attempt, or after a location mismatch. People describe it as happening without explanation. Support is often slow and bot-driven, and identity verification problems are reported — expired verification links, lockouts after a phone number change. Unexpected charges appear in the complaint themes too.
Against that, the ratings are strong. Trustpilot showed 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews when I read them, about 6,386 of those in the last 12 months, with 67% five-star and 17% one-star — and 0% of negative reviews had a reply. Those two facts sit together awkwardly: plenty of happy customers, and silence in the exact place where the unhappiest ones would need a response. I would weigh the themes over the average.
Away from Trustpilot the picture is worse. ComplaintsBoard showed 1.9 out of 5 across 13 reviews. A UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5127266, concerned a closed wallet and card, with the card issued by Optimus Cards UK. I have deliberately not repeated the conflicting Trustpilot scores that appear on third-party sites — you will find figures of 2.4 and 4.5 quoted elsewhere, and they contradict both the current Trustpilot page and each other. Treat those as unofficial and unconfirmed.
There is also an official incident on the record: Uphold’s status page reported an issue freezing some UK cards, related to Mastercard, resolved on 19 May 2026. That one was fixed. The account freezes above are not the same thing and are not resolved by it.
The structural risk underneath all of this is custody. Your balance sits with Uphold. USD balances are held at Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC institution, and Uphold states plainly that it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. The card issuer for the US card is Cross River Bank on the Visa network, and the programme manager is Uphold HQ Inc. Crypto and metals are not insured. That is the trade you make when you want your crypto spendable in seconds: you give up the ability to move it without asking anyone. Transfers are irreversible, a stolen key has no recovery path, and custodial platforms have a history — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network among them — of losing large sums. Nothing about Uphold suggests it is in that category, but the category exists.
Two smaller risks worth carrying. First, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, so keep a buffer rather than spending your balance to the last cent. Second, your card may look foreign to some merchants: the first six or eight digits of a card number identify the issuing institution and country, and a shop can apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. That produces declines and occasional awkward conversations at a till, and nothing you did wrong.
On taxes I will say only this: digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. A crypto-funded card payment can therefore be its own disposal. That is a matter for a qualified professional in your own jurisdiction, not for a card review.
What to take instead
If any of the above rules the card out, the category has other options, and the honest comparison is not always flattering to Uphold. Scores here are the same scale as the 5.8 above.
| Option | Score | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|
| Uphold Essential / Elite | 5.8 / 10 | US residents in eligible states spending 300+ assets |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | US residents in any state except Hawaii |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026 |
Coinbase scores slightly higher and is the nearest thing to a like-for-like alternative for a US resident. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, available in all US states except Hawaii, opening under the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules. There are zero spending fees and no annual fees, and you can fund it by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase with zero fees, or spend a crypto balance directly, which is converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. There are no Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades, and rewards are optional, variable, US-only and shown in the app. If you are in New York or Louisiana, where Uphold does not go, this is the one to look at.
Bybit is the geographic opposite of Uphold: Uphold is one country, Bybit is everywhere except the US and Europe. Its help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, and the application asks your country of residence, registering interest if unsupported. Its cards page states the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited — that is worth internalising if you are in Europe. Costs vary sharply by region: virtual card issuance is free everywhere “until further notice” with no annual fee, physical issuance ranges from none in Brazil and Mexico to 29.99 USD in Australia, the FX fee is 2% in the Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico group, 2% “International Fee” in Kazakhstan, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. Crypto conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina. Argentina adds VAT of 21% and a 30% tax on foreign transactions. Rewards are points or cashback only on crypto-funded transactions from 2026-10-05, with tiers from Base at 2% to Infinite at 10% and monthly caps from 5 to 600 USD, plus a 10% welcome cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days.
OKX is the European answer. It covers the EU plus Norway from 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded, and the rule follows which legal entity you use — an EEA user is assigned to OKX Europe Ltd., a MiCAR-licensed entity. It is a Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay; a physical card is not mentioned, and it is issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider. No card fee, no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is reported as 0.1% by a May 2026 explainer against 0.4% in the launch press release, which is a conflict I cannot resolve, so treat the figure as uncertain. You hold USDC or USDG in OKX Pay, other coins must be converted first, there is no auto top-up and a payment is declined if the balance is short. Cashback applies only to USDG purchases — USDC earns none — with monthly caps from 2% capped at 10 EUR on Regular to 10% capped at 1,000 EUR at VIP4 and above, and the tier table is internally inconsistent.
Two features separate all three alternatives from Uphold. Bybit and Coinbase convert to a fiat balance and spend that; OKX holds one stablecoin. Uphold lets you spend the asset itself from 300+ choices, and that flexibility is genuinely unusual. If you want to pay with the token you actually hold, none of the three matches it.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to a US resident in an eligible state who already holds crypto, who spends a stablecoin or dollars most of the time, who values having Apple Pay and Google Pay work immediately, and who treats the crypto balance as spending money rather than as savings. Add the Elite tier if you travel and spend in other currencies, or if the 4% XRP rate on crypto-funded spend is genuinely useful to you and you already believe in holding XRP.
I would not recommend it if your money needs to be reachable without asking anyone, if you are anywhere but the eligible US, if the 2.05% to 2.2% conversion spread on Bitcoin bothers you — and it should, on any meaningful spending — or if you cannot tolerate an account freeze that lasts weeks with slow support at the other end.
And I would think twice, hard, about holding a large balance here. The fiat side sits with an FDIC member bank. The crypto and metals side does not. That is the deal, and it is not necessarily a bad one, but you should make it with your eyes open.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Uphold card?
The Uphold card is a Visa that spends directly from your Uphold wallet balance rather than from a bank account. It comes as Essential and Elite, each with a virtual card and a physical one — plastic for Essential, metal for Elite. The balance can hold 300+ digital assets plus USD, with stablecoins highlighted as the simplest option. It is a Visa on the network, issued for the US card by Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC institution, with Uphold HQ Inc. running the programme.
How does the Uphold card work?
You load your Uphold wallet by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or a crypto deposit, and the card spends whatever is in that wallet. If you hold USD or a USD stablecoin you are charged merchant prices with no conversion cost. If you hold Bitcoin or Ethereum, the conversion spread applies — 2.05% to 2.2% typical — and a Preview Trade tool shows the all-in price before you commit. There is no per-purchase card fee on either tier; the cost is in the conversion, not in the swipe.
Is Uphold a bank?
No. Uphold states that it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. USD balances are held at Cross River Bank, which is a Member FDIC institution and the issuer of the US card, but crypto and metals held in the wallet are not FDIC-insured. So the dollar side is treated differently from everything else, and it is worth knowing which side of that line your money is on before you load a large amount.
Who can apply for the Uphold card?
US residents living in US states and Washington D.C. The card is not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories, and the test is residence rather than citizenship. You need an Uphold wallet first — setup takes under five minutes — and there is no credit check. A valid US mailing address is required for card delivery. The public pages do not state which documents you will be asked for or how long verification takes, so allow for more than five minutes in practice.
Is the Uphold card free?
The Essential tier is free to keep: $0 annual fee, $0 virtual card, $4.99 for the plastic card, and $4.99 for a replacement. Elite costs $99.99 a year and includes the metal card at no charge, a free replacement once a year, 0% foreign transaction fees and $0 ATM withdrawals. Upgrading from Essential to Elite carries a $0 fee. The costs that apply to both tiers are the conversion spreads, not the card itself.
Does the Uphold card work abroad, and what does it cost?
It is a Visa, so it works wherever Visa is accepted, and the balance is converted to USD by Visa at the rate on the processing day. The foreign transaction fee is 1.50% on Essential and 0% on Elite, plus a foreign ATM fee of $1.50 on Essential and $0 on Elite. The bank does not reimburse exchange-rate losses or foreign fees. If you travel regularly, that 1.50% is the clearest reason to consider Elite.
What are the Uphold card limits?
The maximum card balance is $25,000 on both tiers. Essential allows purchases and total withdrawals of $2,500 a day and $10,000 a month, with ATM withdrawals of $500 a day and $2,000 a month, no more than 3 a day and 10 a month. Elite allows $25,000 a day and $100,000 a month, with ATM withdrawals of $2,000 a day and $10,000 a month, 3 a day and 30 a month. Bank-teller cash follows the same amounts as ATM.
What are the XRP rewards and are they worth it?
Rewards are currently paid in XRP. Elite pays 4% on crypto- and metals-funded spend or 3% on fiat and stablecoin spend, capped at $300; Essential pays 2%, capped at $120. The programme covers cards activated on or after 1 January 2026 and runs for 3 months after activation. Worth it only if you already hold XRP and would keep it — the rate is in XRP, so the real value moves with the coin.
Is the Uphold card safe?
Safety has two halves and they do not match. The issuer is Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC institution, and the app holds 4.7 out of 5 on the iOS App Store across 91K ratings; Uphold recommends two-factor authentication. Against that, the balance is custodial, only the USD side is insured, and the most common serious complaint is an account freeze lasting weeks and occasionally up to three months, often without explanation. Read the dispute terms too: report errors within 60 days, and lost-card liability is capped at $50 only if you report within 2 business days.
Is the Uphold card worth it?
For a US resident in an eligible state who already holds crypto and spends a stablecoin, yes — the everyday costs are zero and the virtual card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay straight away. For everyone else the case is weaker: outside the eligible US you cannot have it at all, and if you spend Bitcoin rather than dollars the 2.05% to 2.2% conversion spread quietly becomes your real cost. Judge it on how you hold your money, not on the card.
Exchange cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
