What the Solayer card actually does with your money, and what it leaves unsaid
The Solayer card is a Visa payment card you load with stablecoins and spend like an ordinary card, aimed squarely at people who hold crypto on Solana and want to pay for things with it without touching an exchange. That is a real gap in the market, and on everyday use the card does deliver: virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and an ATM allowance on the physical card. The problems are elsewhere. The card’s own pages contradict each other on whether the physical card exists, on how the ATM works, and on what a top-up costs; the legal entity behind it and its licences are not published; and the marketing calls the product non-custodial while the documentation describes provider-operated custody. I scored it 6.2 out of 10.

Who this suits: you already sit in stablecoins, you are comfortable moving funds on Solana, you live in a country the card actually permits, and you want a clean Visa number rather than a sprawling exchange account. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a bank with a regulator’s name on the door, anyone who wants published spending limits and a single unambiguous fee, and anyone whose country may be on the wrong side of a list that keeps changing.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Residents and citizens of listed countries are excluded, not just residents. The list covers Russia and Belarus alongside most of the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Turkey, the UAE, India and China. CryptoCardHub counts 120 countries open and 94 restricted. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Membership is $20 a year and a physical card costs $24.99 or $59.99 in delivery. Non-USD spending is $0.10 + 1.5%, cross-border fees reach 3%, and the top-up fee is given three different ways on three official pages. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Stablecoins only, and the specific coins are never named. Solana is supported; other networks appear at the issuer’s discretion, which is not the same as a promise. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | The issuer named in the terms is Third National. The Solayer legal entity and its licences are not disclosed. No complaints surfaced — but the documents disagree, with provider-operated custody sitting next to non-custodial marketing. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and up to $250 per ATM withdrawal on the physical card. The pages conflict over whether the physical card and cash withdrawals exist at all. |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | Strong at spending, weak at disclosure. |
Everyday use carries the most weight in that total, because a payment card lives or dies on whether it works at the till. Costs carry the least, not because fees are low — $0.10 plus 1.5% on a foreign purchase is real money — but because you cannot price a fee that appears three ways.

Who They Will Give You the Card
The rule is stricter than most people expect, and this is where I would start if you are considering applying at all. Eligibility covers both residence and citizenship. The card’s wording is that residents or citizens of listed countries are “not eligible to sign up for the Solayer Card, regardless of their current place of residence” — so moving abroad does not rescue a citizenship that is on the list.
The official eligibility list excludes, among many others: Russia, Belarus, Georgia, Turkey, Serbia, the United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Moldova, Montenegro, most EU member states, the UK and Switzerland. A handful of countries that people ask about are not on that exclusion list — Armenia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan — which means they are not ruled out, not that they are confirmed eligible. The documentation states plainly that it does not publish a list of eligible countries.
That leaves you with an exclusion list and no inclusion list. Practically, you work out your position yourself and then find out at application whether you were right.
A few more pieces:
- Restricted US states are listed individually: AZ, DE, GA, ID, LA, MD, MT, NV, NM, ND, OH, OR, RI, SD, VT, WA and WI.
- On the United States the two official documents disagree with each other. The card terms separately ask you to attest that you are not a US citizen, describing the card as “intended for those outside of the United States”, while the eligibility documentation treats US states as a location question. If you are anywhere near this contradiction, ask support in writing before you upload documents.
- CryptoCardHub, a third-party site, counts 120 countries available and 94 restricted. That is not confirmed by the card.
The honest summary: this is a card for residents of a fairly narrow set of places, and the map is not published as a map.
How to Get It
You must be 18 or older and pass KYC. The documents required are a passport, a driver’s licence or an Aadhaar card — both sides, in JPG, PNG, HEIC, WEBP or PDF, up to 50MB — plus a live face check. The verification flow (run through Sumsub) asks for your country of residence, address, occupation, annual salary and an emailed code.
Review and approval take 3–5 business days after KYC is complete. Whether a separate proof-of-address document is needed, what the verification levels are, and what gets you rejected are not stated on the public pages.
On the card itself: it is a Visa, “issued by the Issuer under license from Visa”, and non-USD spending is converted to USD. Both virtual and physical cards are referenced. New users pay a one-time $20 account activation fee, which covers the virtual card for the first year; after that the $20/year membership covers card access and maintenance for 12 months.
Shipping is the only charge for the card itself:
| Card | Delivery | Cost | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physical, US Express | US Express, tracked | $24.99 | 2–5 business days |
| Physical, International Express | International Express, tracked, includes production | $59.99 | 5–11 business days |
Two practical warnings. Your delivery address cannot be changed after you order. And no country list for delivery is published beyond the eligibility restrictions above.
If the card is lost or stolen, you freeze it in the app and order a replacement. The replacement fee is not stated.
One contradiction to hold in mind through the rest of this review: the documentation describes the cards as digital only with a physical card “coming soon”, while the Physical Card page describes an ordering flow with prices and delivery times. Both exist on official pages.
What It Really Costs: Fees and Limits
Here is the honest state of the fee schedule. Several rows are empty because the card does not publish them, and I have left them empty rather than filling the gap with a guess.

| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | Not stated; the product page lists no card fees |
| Annual membership | $20/year, covering card access and maintenance for 12 months |
| New-user activation | One-time $20, covering the virtual card for the first year |
| Physical card | Free apart from shipping: $24.99 (US Express) or $59.99 (International Express) |
| USD transaction | $0.15 |
| Non-USD transaction | $0.10 + 1.5% on the fee page; $0.10 + 1.75% in the FAQ |
| Cross-border fee | Up to 3% (terms) |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM | Max $250 per withdrawal including surcharges, max three attempts per rolling 24 hours, physical card only; standard ATM/network fees may apply |
| Late payment | Up to $40 |
| Returned payment | Up to $29 |
| APR | 0% currently, may be introduced later |
| Spending limits | “Dynamic and may be modified at any time” — figures not stated |
Applied to three ordinary payments, the picture sharpens.
A $30 coffee in your own country. You are spending USD, so the $0.15 USD transaction fee is the number that touches you, plus whatever the café adds. No conversion, no cross-border charge. This is the clean case, and it is the case the card is good at.
A €45 dinner abroad. Here the official pages disagree with themselves before they reach your bill. The fee page says $0.10 + 1.5%; the FAQ says $0.10 + 1.75%; the terms add a cross-border fee of up to 3% on top. On a $50 equivalent, 1.5% is $0.75 and 1.75% is roughly $0.88 — small change in isolation. The 3% cross-border figure is the one that would actually register, and whether it stacks with the conversion fee or replaces it is exactly the kind of detail the terms should settle and do not.
A $200 online purchase from a merchant in a different country. Same arithmetic, larger number: at 1.5% the fee is $3.00, and if the 3% cross-border fee also applies you are looking at $6. Add a $0.10 conversion charge on top. This is where the fee schedule stops being a curiosity.
On ATM withdrawals the contradiction is sharper. The terms say cash advances are not available, while the physical-card material describes ATM use up to $250 per withdrawal, limited to three attempts per rolling 24 hours, wherever Visa ATMs are available. A news site also claims ATM withdrawals work — not official, and I would not rely on it. Treat cash access as announced and undocumented at the same time.
There are no tiers. It is a single product with one membership fee. Points accrue from spending and referrals and unlock ecosystem benefits, but there is no tier structure and no published cashback rate.
One more figure that is not from the card but is circulating: a Chinese-language listing on cryptocards.so, undated and possibly predating the current structure, quotes $10,000 daily and $30,000 monthly spending and a $500 ATM limit. Undated, unofficial, and possibly wrong — check it in the app rather than against this page.
How to Top It Up
Top-up runs on stablecoins. Which stablecoins is the first thing nobody can tell you: the pages say stablecoins and never name a coin. Supported chains are Solana, plus other networks added at the issuer’s discretion — meaning support can expand without notice and is not something you can plan around.
The fee for topping up is given three ways by official pages:
- 1% per top-up, on the fee page
- 0.5%, in the FAQ
- $0.10 per top-up transaction, in the top-up tutorial
Those are not variations on a theme. On a $500 top-up the difference between 1% and $0.10 is $4.90. Assume the worst of the three until you have seen a real receipt from your own account.
The mechanics are simple: in the app, open the Card tab, choose Deposit, and approve the transaction in your wallet. No minimum top-up is stated, and no fiat on-ramp is described — this is a card you fund from a wallet you already have.
Two rules with real consequences. The card deactivates after six months of inactivity, and getting back in requires a new card issuance. So if you travel for half a year, expect to order again.
How to get money back out is the gap I noticed most. Neither the top-up page nor the terms explain how to withdraw a card balance back to a wallet. The terms do say a balance can be repaid at any time without penalty, and that chargebacks won are credited to the Solayer Account, but the mechanics of moving funds back to your own wallet are not covered. Before you commit real money, find out how money leaves.
Paying With It Every Day
The daily experience is the strongest part of this card.
Wallets. Apple Pay and Google Pay both work for contactless payments, with the virtual card. If you carry one phone, that is the whole daily-use story.
In stores and online. A Visa card number, physical or virtual. The physical card is documented in detail on one page and described as “coming soon” on another; I would plan around the virtual card and treat the physical one as a bonus that may or may not be orderable on the day you try.
Restrictions. Gambling-related transactions are blocked, and so are cash-like transactions: travellers cheques, foreign currency, money orders, wire transfers and cryptocurrency. That list is worth reading once, because “cryptocurrency” in it means you cannot use this card to buy crypto — this is a card that spends, not a card that buys.
Rewards. No cashback rate is stated. Points come from spending and referrals, with ecosystem perks and yield on eligible balances. A widely quoted 1% cashback and 10% first-purchase offer was a 2025 campaign (CryptoCardHub, unofficial), not a standing rate you can count on now.
The app. Solayer Pay is on the Apple App Store and Google Play. Rating signals are thin and contradictory: the product page shows 5.0 from 2 ratings on the App Store, CryptoCardHub reported 500+ Google Play downloads on 11 August 2026 (not read from the stores directly), and a third-party report dated 2026-03-03 showed 0.0. A young app with almost no public footprint.
Disputes. Try the merchant first. If that fails or the charge was unauthorised, you start a chargeback through the Solayer Account. You have no more than 60 days after the charge posts on the periodic statement. Two things to know up front: the card network may demand extra documents, and the disputed amount may still be due while the dispute runs. If you win, the money is credited to the Solayer Account — not, apparently, to your wallet.
What Can Go Wrong
The paperwork contradicts itself. This is the headline risk and it is not a matter of interpretation. Physical card: documented and “coming soon”. ATM: up to $250 and not available. Top-up fee: three figures. Non-USD fee: 1.5% and 1.75%. On the US: a citizenship attestation against a state-by-state list. When a card’s pages disagree with each other, you cannot resolve it from the card, and support answers one question at a time.
You cannot see the company behind it. The terms name Third National as the issuer. The Solayer legal entity and its licences are not stated. That matters more here than it would for an ordinary fintech, because a card that touches your crypto sits across two regulatory regimes — payment services on one side, crypto custody on the other — and you cannot check either set of papers.
Custody. The documentation describes provider-operated hybrid custody: hot wallets holding a small operational balance, cold wallets holding most assets offline with multi-signature, and “circuit breakers that freeze suspicious activity”. The marketing calls the card non-custodial and fully on-chain. Those are different products with different risk profiles, and you have to decide which one you are holding. Two-factor authentication, spending controls beyond the dynamic limits, and any insurance are not stated.
The card can be frozen. Circuit breakers are a feature for the provider and a risk for you. Spending limits are “dynamic and may be modified at any time”. Both of these are unilateral powers.
Six months idle and you are out. No activity for six months deactivates the card, and reactivation means a new issuance.
Getting money back out is undocumented. Covered above, and it is the one that would hurt most at the worst moment.
Blockchain reality. A transfer to a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible. Stablecoins can also depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.
Merchant-side friction. Some shops decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the card lookup reveals the issuer’s country and card type and the shop may apply extra scrutiny. That is a category-wide problem, not a Solayer defect, but it will happen to you at some point.
No complaint history — which cuts both ways. There is no Trustpilot page for the Solayer card and no Reddit or forum complaints were found. With a young product and almost no public footprint, silence is not evidence of a good track record. Official incidents are not stated either way.
Support, when you need it: Discord via the FAQ, or [email protected] and +1 (734) 510 1402 from the terms.
What to Take Instead
None of these is a Solayer feature list. Each is a different answer to a different version of the same problem, and the right comparison depends on which version you have.
| Solayer | MetaMask | KAST | Zeal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.2 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Network | Visa | Mastercard | Visa | Visa |
| Membership | $20/year | Virtual free; Metal $199/year | Standard $0; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange | $0.10 + 1.5% or 1.75%; cross-border up to 3% | No foreign transaction fee | 0.5%–1.75% by country | No additional FX fee; Visa wholesale rate |
| Cashback | Not stated | 1% virtual; up to 3% metal in the first $10,000 | 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier, capped monthly | Up to 4% in GNO |
| Where it fits | Solana-native stablecoin spend | Broadest country list, wallet-native spend | Transparent tiered fees and cashback | Simple multi-currency spend |
MetaMask scores highest at 7.1 and is the broadest option: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, other regions join a waitlist, proof of residency is required, and ineligible regions limit sign-ups but not spending. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee and is issued instantly; the Metal card is $199/year. Fees are described as a “minimal fee for each transaction” with the amount not stated on the pages read and no additional MetaMask fees, no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate. It spends directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ.
KAST is the one with the most transparent numbers, and the widest gap between its cheapest and most expensive tier: Standard at $0, Premium at $1,000/year, Private at $10,000/year, billed annually with no monthly option. Stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%. The catch is FX at 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme, plus $0.10 on non-USD transactions under $25 and $0.50 for a declined transaction. Cashback is 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier with monthly caps. Note the requirement: it is residence-based, and holding only an ID from a restricted region may still fail KYC even if you live in a supported country — VPN does not bypass it.
Zeal keeps fees simple: no additional FX fee, conversion at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply. Spend works in 150+ countries and accounts are held in EUR, USD and GBP on Gnosis Chain and Celo. Cashback is up to 4% in GNO, but you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify and rates can change. No fee schedule is published on its site or App Store, which is its weakness.
My honest read: if your problem is fees you cannot predict, KAST publishes the clearest schedule. If your problem is country access, MetaMask has the widest list. If your problem is simplicity, Zeal is short on disclosure but easy to grasp. If your problem is Solana stablecoins specifically, that is Solayer’s actual turf.
Who I Would Recommend It To
I would recommend the Solayer card to someone in this position: you hold stablecoins on Solana already, you are in a country the eligibility rules clearly permit, you have read the fee pages and worked out which top-up figure is the pessimistic one, and you accept that your money sits with a provider whose legal entity and licences are not published and whose marketing and documentation disagree about custody. In that position it is a competent payment card with a genuine niche.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs a bank they can name to a regulator, whose finances depend on predictable spending limits, or who intends to move significant balances in and out regularly while the exit path is undocumented. If you are asking whether it is safe, the answer is not that it is unsafe — it is that the disclosures are too thin for me to tell you it is safe, and that is a different and more important thing.
Before you decide, check three things yourself: whether your citizenship as well as your residence appears anywhere on the restriction lists, since the rule covers both; which of the three top-up fee figures your own account is actually charged; and what the card says about ATM and the physical card on the day you need it, because the pages that discuss those features disagree with each other. And ask support, in writing, how a balance gets back to your wallet — the public pages do not say.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Solayer card?
The Solayer card is a Visa payment card funded with stablecoins rather than a bank account. You load your balance from a crypto wallet, mainly on Solana, and then spend it like an ordinary Visa card, in stores, online, and through Apple Pay or Google Pay. It is a spend tool, not a bank, and it behaves more like a prepaid card than a debit card tied to a current account.
Is Solayer a bank?
No — the card does not present itself as one. The terms name Third National as the issuer, which is the institution actually behind the Visa programme. The Solayer legal entity itself and its licences are not stated on the public pages. If you need a named, regulated bank you can look up in a register, this card does not give you one on the evidence published.
Who owns Solayer?
Solayer launched in April 2025 as the Emerald Card and was later renamed Solayer Pay, with the physical card introduced by a press release dated 14 May 2026 from Palo Alto. The issuer named in the card terms is Third National. Beyond that, the Solayer legal entity is not disclosed on the pages available, so the ownership structure is not something you can verify from the card’s own material.
Does Solayer card require KYC?
Yes. You must be 18 or older and pass identity verification. The documents accepted are a passport, a driver’s licence or an Aadhaar card, both sides, in JPG, PNG, HEIC, WEBP or PDF up to 50MB, plus a live face check. The flow also asks for your address, occupation, annual salary and an emailed code. Approval takes 3 to 5 business days after KYC completes.
Is Solayer card free?
Not quite. New users pay a one-time $20 account activation fee, which covers the virtual card for the first year. After that there is a $20/year membership covering card access and maintenance for twelve months. A physical card has no card fee, but delivery costs $24.99 for US Express or $59.99 for International Express. No monthly fee is listed on the product page.
How much does a Solayer card cost to spend?
A USD transaction costs $0.15. Non-USD spending is listed as $0.10 plus 1.5% on the fee page and $0.10 plus 1.75% in the FAQ, with the terms adding a cross-border fee of up to 3%. The crypto conversion fee is not stated. Top-up fees are given three different ways on official pages: 1%, 0.5% and $0.10 per transaction — so the number to plan with is the largest of those.
Can I use a Solayer card in my country?
Only if your country is not on the exclusion list, and the rule covers citizenship as well as residence. Excluded countries include Russia, Belarus, Georgia, Turkey, Serbia, the UAE, Ukraine, Moldova, Montenegro, most EU states, the UK and Switzerland. Armenia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan are not on the exclusion list, which means not ruled out rather than confirmed eligible. The documentation states that it does not publish a list of eligible countries.
How do I top up a Solayer card?
Open the app, go to the Card tab, choose Deposit, and approve the transaction in your wallet. The card accepts stablecoins on Solana, with other networks added at the issuer’s discretion. The specific coins are not named anywhere on the public pages. No minimum top-up is stated, and no direct fiat option is described — you fund it from a wallet you already hold.
Is Solayer card safe?
I cannot answer that cleanly, and that is the finding rather than a dodge. The documentation describes provider-operated hybrid custody with hot and cold wallets, multi-signature and circuit breakers, while the marketing calls the card non-custodial and fully on-chain. Those describe different risk models. The legal entity and licences are not disclosed, and no insurance or two-factor authentication details are stated.
Why did my Solayer card stop working?
The most common documented reason is inactivity: the card deactivates after six months without use, and reactivating it requires a new card issuance with its own delivery wait. Other candidates are a dynamic spending limit that was changed, a blocked merchant category such as gambling or cash-like transactions, a declined authorisation that left a temporary hold, or an issuer-side freeze of suspicious activity.
Wallet cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
