The card is shutting down: what Gnosis Pay holders need to do before 20 December 2026
Gnosis Pay was, for a while, one of the most pleasant crypto cards to actually spend from. No mark-up on currency conversion, no fee on each purchase, money sitting in a self-custody Safe that the provider could not touch, Apple Pay and Google Pay on day one. And then, on 21 September 2026, the company put up a formal notice: the consumer card and the web app are closing. The card stops authorising payments and the web app shuts at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. The consumer card is being replaced by partner cards, with a migration reported to a third-party source but not described in full by the card’s own pages.

That gives the card a strange score for a review, and mine is 4.5 out of 10. Not because the fees were bad — they were excellent — but because a card you cannot use is worth very little to someone choosing where to spend from. If you already hold one, this page tells you exactly what to do with the money and by when. If you were thinking of applying, this page tells you which cards are open instead.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
What happened to the Gnosis Pay card programme
The short version: Gnosis Pay moved from running its own consumer card to being a technical services provider and programme manager for other companies’ card programmes, and the consumer card you knew is being wound up on a fixed schedule.
Before the closure, eligibility was based on residence, not citizenship: legal residents of selected European and Latin American countries, with Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia and Cyprus among those named, and more of the EEA besides. New countries went through a waitlist. The site now lists supported corridors as USD, EUR, GBP, BRL and ARS plus the partner apps.
The card itself was a Visa, issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence. Gnosis Pay is not the issuer — it is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company, No. 14919639 — while the issuer is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution, FRN 901097. UK and non-EEA cardholders sit with Monavate Ltd; EEA cardholders sit with UAB Monavate, a Bank of Lithuania entity. Both a virtual card, issued instantly, and a physical card were offered, with settlement at T+1. Verification ran through Sumsub in a single KYC flow; what documents were required, what proof of address counted and what the age threshold was are not stated on the card’s public pages.
On the timeline: on 7 September 2026 the site began pitching B2B card issuing, with Startup and Enterprise tiers on two- and three-year agreements, Enterprise getting a dedicated BIN and both priced individually, and neither aimed at cardholders. On 21 September 2026 came the formal closure notice. Then a news report, not from the company, dated 24 September 2026, said MiniPay would handle migration and issue replacement cards on Gnosis Pay’s enterprise rails, that GNO cashback eligibility ends on 30 September with a final distribution on 7 October, and that the card and web app stop on 20 December 2026 at 23:59 UTC. An earlier help-centre page, possibly out of date, still lists a card purchase fee of EUR 30.23; the current page says ordering the card and shipping the physical card are free. That stale figure is worth knowing about only so you don’t go looking for a charge that isn’t there any more.
If you already hold the card: what to do with your money
The good news is structural, and it is the strongest thing about this card. Your balance sits in a Safe — a self-custodial smart contract account on Gnosis Chain. The assets are yours: neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers from them. You can also reach the same account through third-party Safe interfaces using your existing signer key, which matters if the web app goes away.
The programme’s own guidance is to withdraw before 20 December 2026, and the web app’s withdrawal page at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw is stated to stay open after that date, with no deadline given; blockchain network fees may apply. A third-party report agrees the web app stays in limited capacity for withdrawals only and that funds in Safe accounts have no withdrawal deadline, though the official help-centre page is looser, saying only that the app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”. So: don’t plan to be retrieving funds from a dying web interface under time pressure. Move them, or prove to yourself that you can move them, before the cutoff.
Moving to a partner app is a different matter. That means a new card programme, new terms, a new Safe — and possibly fresh identity or compliance checks. Treat it as onboarding somewhere new, not as a settings change.
| What | Gnosis Pay as it was |
|---|---|
| Card | Visa, virtual (instant) and physical, issued by Monavate Limited |
| Balance | Self-custody Safe on Gnosis Chain, EURe / GBPe / USDCe, plus USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon, Gnosis Chain |
| Spending | No transaction fee and no added FX fee from Gnosis Pay; Visa’s exchange rate applies, local currency advised at terminals |
| Card purchase | Free on the current page; an older page lists EUR 30.23 |
| Replacement card | 4.99 EURe / GBPe / USDCe including replacement shipping |
| ATM | Free up to 5 times a month or 200 EURe / GBPe / USDCe, then 2% with a 1 EUR / GBP minimum; 250 EUR per transaction, 500 EUR per day |
| Purchase limits | 5,000 EUR per regular transaction, up to 8,000 EUR per day |
| Top-up fees and minimum | Not stated |
| Gas | None for card payments; on-chain transfers between wallets cost gas |
| Support | Help centre and [email protected]; [email protected], forwarded to Monavate |
| Consumer tiers | One tier only; no cashback tiers, no metal card |
A few practical notes. There was no native iOS or Android app named by the official site; the card was managed through the web app at app.gnosispay.com, and there is no App Store or Google Play rating to look up because no listing was found. The site does describe a B2B platform with virtual cards within minutes and physical within days, but that is about partner programmes, not your card. Unofficial sources report physical cards arriving in about 2 weeks, up to 4 weeks maximum, and virtual cards within minutes of KYC; delivery time is not stated officially. Unofficial sources also report an 18+ age floor, a passport or government ID and proof of address issued within three months, with approval not guaranteed. And Russia appears on the unofficial restricted list, with card use prohibited and no eligibility to apply — worth knowing, though the card’s own pages do not name countries.
One thing that outlives the shutdown: your rights. The card’s closure does not affect rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions, nor card-scheme chargeback rights. Refund, dispute and chargeback support runs until 23:59 on 12 June 2028, and general cardholder support until 23:59 on 18 June 2027; your statutory rights against Monavate are not capped by that date. Scheme time limits still apply, so raise anything promptly. Before the card dies, export your transaction history and note the last four digits and expiry date — evidence you will want long after support closes.
What can go wrong
Three things. The first is obvious and dated: on 20 December 2026 the card simply stops working. Recurring payments fail after the cutoff and cannot be moved to another card, so move your subscriptions first. Transactions already authorised but not settled will still complete. And refunds that arrive after deactivation cannot be used on the card.
The second is the shape of your money before you move it. Because the balance is a Safe, a withdrawal from an exchange or another wallet is an on-chain transfer: get the network wrong, or send to an address on a different chain, and the funds can be lost, with manual support recovery and no guarantee. From another network than the card supports, you may need a swap or a bridge, which brings its own network and DEX costs. These points come from third-party sources rather than the card.
The third is service quality. Trustpilot reads 2.3 out of 5 across 38 reviews, 21 of them in the last year, with 58% one-star and 21% five-star — “Poor”, as of 20 October 2026. The themes in user reports are consistent: support going unanswered for weeks over chat, tickets and email between March and July 2026; funds missing or blocked, balances dropping after a failed payment or top-up, withdrawals failing, transactions pending for two weeks or more in May to July 2026; KYC rejections with no reason given and “country not supported” for countries that were on the list, including Italy and Mexico, from April to August 2025 and May 2026; plus account deactivation and login problems in June and July 2026. A June 2026 exploit hit the Gnosis Pay delay module, with co-founder Koppelmann saying Gnosis would cover user losses — unofficial reporting, early withdrawal advice said to be conflicting, and the status of compensation I did not check.
What this adds up to for you: with support ending 18 June 2027 and disputes 12 June 2028, the window for asking anyone a question is closing. Take screenshots now.
What to take instead
The closure pushes you toward partner cards or a fresh card entirely. Here is where the open alternatives stand, and where each one hurts.
| MetaMask | KAST | Zeal | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card network | Mastercard | Visa | Visa |
| Virtual / physical | Virtual instant, metal pre-order | Virtual and physical, up to 10 | Virtual; physical not stated |
| Card cost | Virtual free; metal $199/year | Standard $0, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year | Not stated |
| Spending fees | “Minimal fee” per transaction, amount not stated | 0% card spend in USD; 0.10 USD under $25 non-USD; 0.50 USD declined | No extra FX fee, Visa wholesale rate |
| Funding | Connected wallet, Linea/Base/Monad/Solana | USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD | Safe balances, EUR/USD/GBP, Gnosis Chain and Celo |
| Cashback | 1% virtual, metal headline 3% capped at $10,000 | 1.5% / 2% / 3% monthly tiers | Up to 4% in GNO |
MetaMask is the closest fit for someone who liked spending straight from a wallet. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with a waitlist elsewhere and proof of residency required; US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. Its catch is the metal card at $199 a year, the undefined “minimal fee” per transaction, and a cashback footnote that caps the headline 3% at the first $10,000 spent.
KAST is the transparent-fee option: 0% top-up, 0% spend in USD, 0% Apple and Google Pay, with non-USD FX at 0.5–1.75% depending on where you live and where you spend. It is also the most demanding — published tiers at $1,000 and $10,000 a year, a $1/month inactivity fee after 12 months, and a KYC flow where holding an ID from a restricted region can disqualify you even if you live in a supported country.
Zeal keeps the Safe model and pays up to 4% in GNO on Gnosis Chain, but you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify and rates can change. Its eligibility is judged region by region, and no physical card is described.
Who I would recommend it to
Honestly, to almost no one as a card to get. A 4.5 belongs to a card whose cost and everyday use were among the best in this category and whose reliability is a 1 — because the company that ran it is shutting the consumer side down, not because anything is necessarily wrong with the product, but because the product has an end date.
If you already have one, treat the next two months as admin, not as a financial decision: withdraw or verify independent access to your Safe before 20 December 2026, export your transaction history, move any recurring payments off the card, and keep your receipts. If you were about to apply, pick a card that is still issuing — MetaMask if you want to spend from a wallet, KAST if you want the fees spelled out, Zeal if the Safe and GNO rewards matter more to you than the fine print. Either way, the lesson from this closure is the one every crypto card closure teaches: the Safe keeps your assets yours, but the card on top of it belongs to someone else’s licence, and that licence can end.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gnosis Pay card?
It was a Visa payment card, virtual and physical, issued by Monavate Limited, that spent from a self-custody Safe you controlled instead of a custodial balance. Gnosis Pay was the programme manager and technical services provider, not the issuer. The consumer card and web app are now closing, with the card stopping on 20 December 2026.
How did the Gnosis Pay card work?
You held crypto in a Safe smart contract account on Gnosis Chain as EURe, GBPe or USDCe, and the card spent that balance 1:1 — a EUR 10 purchase used 10 EURe. Card payments cost nothing at the network level; only on-chain transfers between wallets cost gas. Nothing overdraws, because the card can only spend what is loaded.
Is Gnosis Pay a bank?
No. Gnosis Pay Co Ltd is a UK-registered company, No. 14919639, and the card was issued by an FCA-authorised electronic money institution, Monavate Limited, with EEA cardholders under UAB Monavate of the Bank of Lithuania. An e-money institution cannot lend, and safeguarded funds are not the same as bank deposits.
Who owns Gnosis Pay, and who issued the card?
Ownership is Gnosis Pay Co Ltd; issuing was Monavate’s job under a Visa Europe licence. The distinction matters now: the issuer’s support runs to 18 June 2027 and disputes to 12 June 2028, while the programme manager’s product stops earlier. You may now be dealing with a partner such as MiniPay for a replacement.
Can I still get a Gnosis Pay card?
No. New issuance is closed, and the card and web app stop at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026, so the question is no longer live. If you want a card in the same family, watch for partner apps: a third-party report names MiniPay handling migration and issuing replacements on Gnosis Pay’s enterprise rails.
When does Gnosis Pay shut down, exactly?
Three dates, all UTC. The card stops authorising and the web app closes except withdrawals at 23:59 on 20 December 2026. General cardholder support ends at 23:59 on 18 June 2027. Refund, dispute and chargeback support ends at 23:59 on 12 June 2028, though your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date.
What happens to the money in my Gnosis Pay account?
Nothing is taken from you. Your balance sits in a self-custodial Safe on Gnosis Chain, so the assets remain yours and neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. Withdrawals stay open on the web app after 20 December 2026 with no stated deadline, and Gnosis Pay’s own advice is simply to withdraw before then.
Is the Gnosis Pay card safe to use?
Safety is two questions here. Your crypto was in self-custody, which is the strong part. The weak part is service: Trustpilot showed 2.3 out of 5 with reports of unanswered support, blocked funds and unexplained KYC refusals, and a June 2026 exploit was reported at the Gnosis Pay delay module with compensation promised but unverified by me.
Does Gnosis Pay still charge for using the card?
It no longer does any of this — but note what it did charge, since it sets the benchmark. No transaction fees and no added FX fee from Gnosis Pay, card ordering and shipping free, replacement of a lost or stolen card 4.99 EURe/GBPe/USDCe including shipping, ATM free up to five times a month or 200 in card currency then 2%.
What should I do before 20 December 2026?
Four things: withdraw from the Safe or confirm you can reach it through a third-party Safe interface with your signer key; export your transaction history and note the last four digits and expiry; move recurring payments off the card, since they will fail and cannot be transferred; and keep receipts for any refund, dispute or chargeback you intend to raise before support closes.
Is the Gnosis Pay card worth it?
For spending, it was worth it while it existed — no fees, no FX mark-up, real self-custody. As a choice today it is not worth anything, because there is nothing left to choose. That is why it scores 4.5 out of 10 here: 8s for cost and everyday use, a 7 for top-up options, and a 1 for reliability and complaints on a programme that is ending.
Wallet cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
