What the Exa card really is, who can get one, and what it costs to spend crypto through a virtual Visa
Exa is not a bank, and it does not pretend to be one. It is a virtual Visa Signature card that draws on a credit line built against crypto you keep in your own wallet, plus a mobile app, a help centre and a protocol behind it. There is no physical card. There is one card, not a ladder of tiers. The people it genuinely suits are the ones who already hold crypto, already know how a self-custody wallet behaves, and want to spend that position like ordinary money without selling it into a market every time they buy groceries. The people it does not suit are anyone shopping for a cheap everyday debit card, anyone who wants cash, and anyone who needs a piece of plastic in the post.

I scored it 6.2 out of 10. That is not a rounding error either way. It is a capable product with an unusually wide country list and a genuinely low-cost core, sitting next to weaknesses you cannot design around: no named issuer, no physical card, no stated support response times, and a spend model that is still young enough to have produced a headline exploit.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026. Facts checked on 2026-10-20.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Cards issued in 45 countries and 31 US states; 18 countries are excluded outright |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially a 1.5% fee on non-USD payments with the loan opening fee folded into the rate; issuance and the annual fee are said by third parties to be $0 |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Funding in USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP, but the networks are not named and no crypto deposit fee is stated |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Exa Labs SAS is the operator, the issuer is not named, delivery runs through the US via Rain; no Trustpilot page, Google Play 2.7 from 58 ratings; an unofficial report of a $7.3M exploit on the Exactly protocol in August 2023 |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay and Google Wallet supported; unofficial figures put ATM withdrawal at $1 plus 0.65% |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | A wide, low-cost product for people who already live in self-custody, with real gaps in the physical and support layers |
Who the card goes to
The rule is by residence, not citizenship, and that distinction matters if you are reading this from somewhere unusual. The card is issued in 45 countries — Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE are among the named ones, with Nigeria conditional rather than fully open — and in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The site’s own line is that Russian residents cannot be issued a card, and separately that the card cannot be used for spending in Russia.
Spending is blocked in a second, different set of places: Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. So a card can be issued to you and still refuse to work in your own country, or a card can be issued to you and be useless at the merchant you actually care about. Read both lists before you apply, not one.
There is also the fact that the card is issued in the United States, with a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico provided by Rain, while the issuing bank is not named anywhere on the public pages. That structure is normal for this category — the crypto brand manages the programme, a licensed partner holds the card licence — but it means the entity standing behind your claim in a dispute is not the app on your phone.
How to get it
The advertised path is short. Download the app, add funds, and the KYC check is described as taking 3 minutes; the card request itself is described as a single validation step of “no more than 3 minutes”. Both of those numbers are marketing copy rather than a published service level, and third-party reviewers have reported KYC failures, particularly for users in African markets.
What documents you will actually be asked for is not stated on the public pages. Neither the age floor, the proof-of-address requirement, nor the list of rejection reasons is published. What is stated is the escalation: above $10,000 in purchases in a week, an automated source-of-funds check starts and you supply a form plus supporting documents, and raising your limits requires proof of address and proof of funds. So the shape is clear even where the paperwork is not — expect to be asked for more once you are spending seriously.
The card itself is a virtual Visa Signature, accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries. The help centre has an article titled “Is there a physical card?” — I have not read the answer, so I cannot tell you what it says — but the site states plainly, in answer to that question, that there are no physical cards available at the moment. Delivery and replacement simply do not apply. The card lives in Apple Pay or Google Wallet.
One thing the pages imply rather than say: the card currency is USD. A help article on non-USD conversion rates exists, which only makes sense against a single-currency card. Treat the currency as USD and check the article yourself if currency handling is the deciding factor for you.
Fees: what it really costs
The page markets the card as free and shows no amounts. The help centre has an article called “Exa Card associated fees and costs” whose content I have not read, so the fee picture below is assembled from what is stated elsewhere on the card’s own pages and, where marked, from third parties — which the card has not confirmed.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated on official pages; $0 per CryptoCardHub (August 2026), unofficial |
| Annual fee | Not stated on official pages; $0 per CryptoCardHub (August 2026), unofficial |
| Monthly fee | None — there is a single card and no paid plans or tiers |
| FX fee | 1.5% on every purchase in a currency other than USD, included in the rate |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| Loan origination fee | May be charged and is included in the installment interest |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated officially; $1 plus 0.65% per withdrawal, $250 per withdrawal, four per day, unofficial |
| ATM operator surcharge | The ATM operator may add its own fee, unofficial |
| Weekly purchase limit | $10,000 |
| Daily, monthly and ATM limits | Not stated |
Three everyday payments, walked through, so you can see which line hits which.
A €30 restaurant bill. You are spending against a credit line, so the relevant figure is the 1.5% FX fee on a non-USD purchase, folded into the rate rather than billed as a separate line — that is 1.5% of €30 in cost, and the loan interest depends on the installment terms you choose, which the public pages do not spell out.
A $45 US grocery run. Paid in the card’s own currency, so no FX fee applies. What remains is whatever the loan costs you for the period the balance sits, plus the origination fee if one is charged. Here the thing to watch is the hold: the purchase is placed on hold at authorisation and usually settles one to three days later, and the final amount can differ — tips, hotel holds and exchange-rate moves all change what you end up billed.
A yen-denominated online subscription. Same shape as the euro case: 1.5% on top of the conversion, wrapped into the rate. Multi-currency balances are not stated as a feature, so you cannot hold a yen balance to avoid the fee.
The honest summary of costs: the card is free to hold, the headline fee is small and transparent, but the number that actually determines what you pay is the credit cost, and that is the part the public pages leave you to find in a help article.
Top up
The model is not “deposit fiat, spend fiat.” Funds or collateral sit in the self-custody Exa app, and the card spends either through Pay Now, drawing directly against your balance, or in installments against that collateral as a credit line. You need funds in the account before the card will work at all.

The documentation lists the assets supported: USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP, held as collateral in Exactly Protocol markets. The networks are not named, and neither are a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, or any fiat on-ramp options and their costs. The help article on associated fees lists only the FX fee and the loan origination fee, which implies — but does not state — that topping up in crypto carries no provider charge. On-chain network fees for your transfer are charged by the blockchain, not by the card.
This is the part of the card I would think hardest about before trusting it with money. Network choice is not a detail here: a transfer sent on a chain the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. If the networks are not named on the pages you are reading, ask support which ones to use for your asset and write the answer down before you transfer anything.
Withdrawal exists. The site says funds can be sent to a bank account or a digital wallet, and withdrawn from ATMs. Fees, limits and timelines for that are not given, and what happens to a remaining balance at closure is not stated either.
Paying with it every day
Add the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet — both are supported, with help centre articles for each. Restricted merchant categories are not stated, and given the category’s habit of blocking gambling and similar merchant codes by policy rather than law, assume some categories may be refused and check at the till rather than assuming the cashier will tell you.
There is a mobile app reached by QR-code link from the site, and a web version at web.exactly.app; the documentation covers iOS and Android. Official pages give no store ratings. Third parties do: Apple App Store 5.0 out of 5 from four ratings, and Google Play 2.7 out of 5 from 58. Four ratings is not a signal in either direction. Fifty-eight ratings with a 2.7 is one, and it belongs to the Android experience specifically. It is also unofficial and comes from the same third party that supplied the ATM and cashback figures below.
On rewards, the official position is that there is no cashback. The “earn while you spend” language on the site refers to yield on the assets you hold, not to rebates on purchases. What is listed are Visa Signature benefits, 20% off Airlo eSIMs, and a US activation reward: spend $100, receive $20 in XRP via Uphold. Unofficial sources report no current cashback confirmed, and describe an earlier 1.5% USDC cashback as unverified or historical. If a cashback rate is the reason you are comparing cards, treat that as history, not product.
Disputes, refunds and chargebacks are not addressed on the public pages at all. If you are the kind of person who needs a defined dispute process before spending, that absence is itself an answer. The hold mechanics from the cost section apply to every purchase: authorised now, settling in one to three days, final amount occasionally different.
What can go wrong
Start with the one that worries me most: the issuer is not named. The card is issued in the United States, the address is provided by Rain, and Exa Labs SAS states in its own footer that it does not issue payment instruments — cards are issued by licensed third parties. Your own protection therefore depends on an institution you cannot inspect from the pages in front of you, and this is a card with a credit line, not just a spend balance. On whether a US credit card, a prepaid instrument or something in between, your legal position will differ, and you should ask support directly rather than infer it from the branding.
Self-custody cuts one way and the other. The account is secured with passkeys, borrowing and spending run on non-custodial smart contracts, and an optional second account owner is possible. Audits and insurance are not mentioned on the page. What that means practically: the risk of a custodian running off with your balance is not on your shoulders, but key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address are entirely on yours. And blockchain transfers are irreversible — the network cannot freeze or return what it has sent. Help-centre self-custody articles were not read, so freeze-in-app controls and spending limits are not confirmed here; they are exactly the two features to look for first if you use this card.
Support is the second real gap. There is a Help Centre at intercom.help/exa-app and help.exactly.app, and an X account at @Exa_App. There is no documented response-time commitment, according to a third-party aggregator that also reports KYC failures for users in African markets, especially Nigeria, and the exclusion of 24 US states. No Trustpilot page exists for exactly.app, which is not evidence of anything either way — but it does mean you will be relying on the company’s own channels when something goes wrong, and that is worth pricing in.
The fourth is protocol risk. A third party reports a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023. That is historical and unofficial, and I am not claiming it still holds. But the smart contracts that give you the credit line are third-party infrastructure, and reading about the incident is more informative than ignoring it. If a protocol loss is the kind of event that would make you close an account, weigh it before you size a position.
Also worth internalising, because it is a category rule rather than an Exa rule: a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Merchants look up the issuer country in the card number and may scrutinise a payment where that country differs from your billing address, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. Address verification is mostly a US, Canada and UK mechanism and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which produces declines at online checkout. If you travel, expect occasional friction that has nothing to do with you.
What to take instead
I have put four comparable cards next to Exa, with their own scores, so you can see the shape of the market rather than a single verdict.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | The trade-off against Exa |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | Self-custody users spending against crypto collateral | The baseline here: virtual only, unnamed issuer, USD card currency |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | People who want tiers and a physical card on the way | Annual fees from $99 to $999 depending on tier; Basic is free; 0% FX on Platinum; supports physical cards, with Gold and Platinum still coming and Silver live |
| ether.fi | 6.7 / 10 | Wider jurisdiction list, including EU countries, with a named ledger of eligible states | Charges $10 for a first virtual card in some regional-pricing countries; FX of 0.5% on the core tier, none at the top |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | European and UK residents who want a card and cashback | No physical card below Gold and above $5,000 in digital assets; weekday FX of 0.2% in the EEA, UK and Switzerland, 0.7% at weekends |
Xplace is the one I would look at first if Exa’s virtual-only, single-card shape is what stops you. Its country list is not published, which cuts the other way, but it supports physical cards — Silver is live, Gold and Platinum are stated as coming, with delivery in 7-14 business days — and it deposits a named list of assets including cbBTC, wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks on the Solana network. Its credit-mode cashback runs 0.5% to 2% by tier, paid in USDC to the wallet at settlement. Borrowing carries no origination fee, which is the line Exa leaves open.
ether.fi is the answer if your country is on Exa’s excluded list but on ether.fi’s. Its jurisdiction list is explicit — Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK, plus 31 US states, with Belgium and Ireland eligible without physical delivery — and the warning is blunt: if your jurisdiction is not listed, you cannot apply. It has virtual and physical cards, FX of 0.5% on Core and none on Pinnacle or VIP, and cashback paid in ETHFI on a monthly ladder: 3% up to $2,000, then 1% to $3,000, then 0.5%, with ATM, cash advances, peer-to-peer and gambling categories excluded.
Nexo suits European and UK residents: residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the United Kingdom, with no country list on the page. It has virtual and physical cards issued by DiPocket UAB, no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, but the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate and the physical one needs a balance above $5,000 and at least the Gold tier. Its weekday FX of 0.2% in the EEA, UK and Switzerland is far below Exa’s 1.5%, rising to 0.7% at weekends. Cashback applies only in Credit Mode, needs more than $5,000 in digital assets, and is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin by tier — Platinum 2%/0.5%, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1%. One piece of news to weigh rather than ignore: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations, with no official Nexo statement on Russians found.
And if the problem is not the card but the bank: some of the countries where an ordinary bank card is hard to get are precisely where a regulated e-money institution can lawfully issue one. In the EU, an EMI can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and may serve the whole EEA from a licence granted in one member state. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a product like this often rests on two licences. If your reason for looking at Exa is a frozen or refused account rather than a desire to spend crypto, a regulated EMI may be the more direct answer — and a credit line is the one feature here that your local rules may not let any of these providers offer.
Who I would recommend it to
Exa to people who already run a self-custody wallet, understand what a seed phrase is worth, and want to turn a crypto position into everyday spending without repeatedly selling. The self-custody model is the right shape for that, the country coverage is wide, and holding the card is free with a small, clearly stated FX fee.
I would not recommend it if any of these are true of you. You want a physical card in the post. You need cash regularly — unofficial figures put ATM withdrawal at $1 plus 0.65% with a $250 cap and four per day, and the mechanics depend on a contactless ATM and a PIN pulled from the app, which is not a cash branch. You are not prepared to verify which network to send funds on. You are in Nigeria or another market where third parties report KYC failures. You want a documented dispute process, a named issuer, or a support response time. Or you are simply shopping for the cheapest way to buy groceries, in which case this is the wrong category of object and it will cost you more attention than it saves.
My own condition for using it: keep the balance that backs the card smaller than the rest of the position, work out the network and fee questions in writing with support before the first transfer, and confirm from them directly whether your instrument falls under US credit-card rules or prepaid rules. That last question determines what happens if something goes wrong, and it is the one I could not answer from the public pages.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Exa card?
It is a virtual Visa Signature card issued through a partner in the United States and drawn against crypto you hold in a self-custody account. It has no physical version — the card exists in Apple Pay or Google Wallet — and it can spend either your balance directly or a credit line built against that crypto as collateral.
How does Exa card work?
You fund the self-custody Exa app with crypto such as USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC or OP, held as collateral in Exactly Protocol markets. The card then either spends your balance through Pay Now or borrows against that collateral in installments, with the loan origination fee included in the installment interest.
Is Exa a bank?
No. The app is run by Exa Labs SAS, and its own footer states it does not issue payment instruments — cards are issued by licensed third parties. The card is issued in the United States with a San Juan, Puerto Rico address provided by Rain, and the issuing bank is not named on the public pages.
Who can apply for the Exa card?
Anyone resident in one of 45 countries — Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE among them, Nigeria conditionally — or in 31 US states. The test is residence, not citizenship, and 18 countries are excluded, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia.
Can I use the Exa card in my own country?
Usually, but check two lists rather than one. Issuance and spending are restricted differently: spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela, and Russian residents cannot be issued a card at all. So a card you were eligible for can still be refused at a merchant.
Is Exa card free?
It is marketed as free with no amounts published. Third-party sources give issuance and the annual fee as $0, unofficial and not confirmed by the card. There is no monthly fee, no tiers, and one card — Visa Signature Exa Credit Card.
What does the Exa card charge in fees?
A 1.5% fee on every purchase in a currency other than USD, folded into the conversion rate rather than billed separately, since the card currency is USD. Loan origination may also be charged inside the installment interest. Crypto conversion fees, daily and monthly limits, and official ATM charges are not stated.
Is Exa card safe to use?
The account is self-custodial and secured with passkeys, with borrowing and spending on non-custodial smart contracts, so no custodian holds your keys — and no recovery exists if you lose them. Against that, the issuer is unnamed, audits and insurance are not mentioned on the page, no documented support response time is published, and a third party reports a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023.
How do I add the Exa card to Apple Wallet?
The card is virtual, so there is nothing to post — it is issued into the app and stored in Apple Pay or Google Wallet, both of which have help centre articles. The site says plainly that no physical cards are available at the moment, so if you were expecting plastic in the post, this is not that product.
Does Exa card work in my country?
It depends where you are, and the answer has two halves. Issuance covers 45 countries and 31 US states with 18 countries excluded; spending is separately blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Card payments are also generally accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries.
Is the Exa card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold crypto in self-custody and want to spend it without selling, since holding the card is free and the only stated fee is 1.5% on non-USD purchases. Not worth it if you need a physical card, regular cash, a named issuer or a documented dispute process — those are genuine gaps rather than fine print.
How do I withdraw money from Exa?
The site says funds can be sent to a bank account or a digital wallet, and withdrawn from ATMs. Unofficial figures put ATM withdrawals at $1 plus 0.65% per withdrawal, capped at $250 with four per day, requiring a contactless ATM and a PIN from the app, and the ATM operator may add its own fee. Official fees, limits and timelines are not stated.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardpedia.com
Content created by the «cryptocardpedia.com» team
